FTI Consulting Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

FTI Consulting Consultant Reviews

Updated Mar 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
59%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
FTI Consulting President & CEO Steven H. Gunby
Steven H. Gunby
65 Ratings
  1. "FTI Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in New York, NY

    I have been working at FTI Consulting full-time

    Pros

    Strong life work balance for my level

    Cons

    The size of the company can lead to slow adoption of changes

    FTI Consulting2020-03-05
  2. Helpful (2)

    "The firm does not value its employees, very low bonuses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FTI Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Access to online training. Good life/work balance in the summer months. Snacks in the office.

    Cons

    The firm paid me a $4k annual bonus at a mid-senior level, which is ridiculous in this industry. The company also doesn't value its employees - I was laid off due to reduction in headcount right in the middle of the coronavirus outbreak, which left me without insurance and income in such difficult time. I never received any coaching, I had a formal coach, however, he never discussed my performance with me. The company isn't really interested in your development, I was invited to teach financial modeling at an educational center, however, my SMD told me that I should not do that "at my level". No real collaboration between groups and segments, no teamwork. Lack of projects

    FTI Consulting2020-03-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FTI Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues, good opportunity to learn all kinds of things, room for growth when it is earned.

    Cons

    Work life balance, but that's given the nature of the industry. Management does a decent job trying to help.

    FTI Consulting2020-02-05
  4. "Average Work Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FTI Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fully stocked snacks and drinks, friendly peers

    Cons

    Moving up depends on who you know not what you know. Work can be boring at times.

    Continue reading
    FTI Consulting2020-02-17
  5. "Don’t work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FTI Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None available trust me don’t do it

    Cons

    Too many cons to list. Seriously look somewhere else.

    FTI Consulting2020-02-22
  6. "No comments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at FTI Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No comments. Office is good.

    Cons

    No comments. Location is not convenient.

    FTI Consulting2019-10-09
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Politics, inadequate pay, poor work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FTI Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Diverse range of work and ability to move around teams if desired - Social events are very nice

    Cons

    - Pay is way below industry average, especially given the lack of work/life balance - PTO is not respected and is almost irrelevant - Promotions are very tough to get and very political. You are completely at the mercy of your manager. If they don't like you, you might as well leave the firm. - There is no training to grow staff. Even when it is available, you aren't allowed to participate unless it's a very special situation - Unethical place to work. I've seen countless examples of dishonest work, not to mention the multiple times the firm has been in the news for unethical behavior - No brand name. Nobody knows about FTI unless they are in the restructuring space. Completely irrelevant as a strategy firm.

    Continue reading
    FTI Consulting2019-10-16
  8. "Reasonably Good Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FTI Consulting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fti provides good benifits and fair compensation. You will likely be give a broad exposure across industries and case types.

    Cons

    The occasional engagement will result in long hours.

    FTI Consulting2019-10-03
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Not Worth it Till Senior Director+ Level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FTI Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    FTI is a growing consulting firm and pays much better than the Big 4 firms on both base and bonus. You also have the ability to to get staffed on projects outside of your assigned service line when on the bench if you request it. Additionally, while the senior leadership is unprofessional, most of the staff and directors are very engaging and enjoyable people to be around.

    Cons

    FTI has a lot of work to do in terms of streamlining it's processes. Tools for time/expense entry are lacking and make admin tasks needlessly time consuming. Furthermore, promotions at FTI are very political and training is non-existent. Moving up often involves being a yes man and getting on the right projects with the right managers. This isn't like a Big 4 firm where simply delivering quality work on time consistently is enough for a promotion. FTI has vague criteria for what constitutes "exceptional" work and making director or beyond is moreso based on the clout of the people you do or don't have in your corner and what they say about you during promotion time.

    Continue reading
    FTI Consulting2019-10-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FTI Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exposed to a lot of experiences quickly. Management is very understanding when it comes to making mistakes, they know you're still learning. You figure out what you like very quickly.

    Cons

    Heavy heavy heavy travel. 95% of your time is travel.

    FTI Consulting2019-08-27
Found 184 reviews