FTI Consulting Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Director

FTI Consulting Director Reviews

Updated Apr 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
80%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
FTI Consulting President & CEO Steven H. Gunby
Steven H. Gunby
37 Ratings
  1. "Senior Managing Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Managing Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FTI Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to deal with complex accounting, auditing, and financial reporting situations for Fortune 500 Companies.

    Cons

    There is no pension plan for employees. It would be great to have more retirement vehicles.

    Continue reading
    FTI Consulting2018-04-17
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FTI Consulting full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Complex assignments - always learning something new

    Cons

    Very long hours and need more staff

    Continue reading
    FTI Consulting2020-04-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Well run company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FTI Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work opportunities and an environment that encourages collaboration. Many opportunities for skills training.

    Cons

    Getting integrated into client can be challenging.

    FTI Consulting2020-03-29
  4. "Great Opportunities for Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY

    I have been working at FTI Consulting full-time

    Pros

    Great place to develop skills and get the opportunity to travel and explore a wide array of indutries

    Cons

    Travel and hours can be brutal and somewhat out of your control

    FTI Consulting2020-03-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "good company with good growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FTI Consulting full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    lots of hotel points when you travel for work

    Cons

    unprofessional colleagues and hostile work environment

    Continue reading
    FTI Consulting2020-01-15
  6. "No Guidance, Complete Chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at FTI Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No Guidance, Complete Chaos, terrible work life balance.

    Cons

    No Guidance, Complete Chaos. Very lonely place to work.

    Continue reading
    FTI Consulting2020-01-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Overall, really good place of work depending on what type of consulting you are interested in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FTI Consulting full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Overall - people are friendly, ethical, kind and smart. If you are interested in turnaround and restructuring consulting, probably one of the best firms to work for. Work/life balance is pretty good. FTI is good about providing continuing education and developing talent. One caveat to all of the above that will apply to any large consulting organization, individual experiences might vary depending on what projects you are working on and who is on your project teams.

    Cons

    Bonus structure for lower/mid-tier employees is a black box - in theory it depends on how high your billings are, but no way of proving this. No stock options or stock purchase programs for employees.

    Continue reading
    FTI Consulting2019-11-15
  8. "Solid company, but it's hard to stand out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FTI Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, stable environment, smart people

    Cons

    It's a big company and your boss impacts your whole future. It's hard to stand out and the work can be menial even at higher titles.

    FTI Consulting2019-07-03
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great Firm and People to Work with, but Below Average Compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FTI Consulting full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    In my opinion, FTI has the best experts in the industry. There is a healthy culture and my colleagues are a pleasure to work with. Our resources and professionals make us the best at what we do in my opinion.

    Cons

    Every segment/practice/group seems to handle their own compensation structure in different ways. While some groups pay well, for my group the compensation is below average and not very competitive for the industry - or even competitive within the different groups at FTI.

    Continue reading
    FTI Consulting2019-06-21
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Director 

    I worked at FTI Consulting full-time

    Pros

    --Professional management structure; fair compensation

    Cons

    --Various pieces of the company don't collaborate well internally, feels like difference businesses entirely

    FTI Consulting2019-06-24
Found 122 reviews