Facebook Product Designer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Product Designer

Facebook Product Designer Reviews

Updated 21 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (25)

    "It’s hard to overstate how great everyone is here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Design Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked at lots of other companies and the range of talent, skill, and professionalism usually varied widely. So far my experience at Facebook has been working with amazingly smart, talented, and just super kind, fun people. Forget all the other many perks. This is the best part for me.

    Cons

    Sometimes there are just too many things going on. It’s challenging to put things in perspective and make sure you live a balanced life. It I think you could say this at any job that you truly enjoy.

    Continue reading
    Facebook2019-08-25

    Facebook Response

    October 9, 2019Global Brand Partnerships Manager

    Thank you for this feedback. We're very happy to have you here. Our incredible colleagues make this a very special place to work!

    Continue reading
  2. "Love It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Product Designer in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture, Salary, Perks, Food, People

    Cons

    Commute to work can be a pain...

    Continue reading
    Facebook2019-10-22
  3. Helpful (3)

    "The best-run and most rewarding company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Design Manager in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Largely outstanding company culture that really values every product discipline (research, design, data science, engineering, PM, etc.) as equitable partners. Continued opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    Specific culture can vary from team to team slightly: i.e. some teams are not used to design as a discipline, and opportunities for impact can be different depending on team circumstance. This can create frustrating experiences that can limit growth without high awareness of why (either to the individual or in the calibration process).

    Continue reading
    Facebook2019-07-24
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Absentee Manager, High School Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Product Designer in Menlo Park, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Facebook for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food (you'll probably gain a lot of weight though!)

    Cons

    As a contractor, my skills were underutilized because there was a need to "fill the gap", but that was just an excuse when I asked, "can I do more?" My expertise was frequently dismissed and credit was often taken for my work. Welcome to the biggest popularity contest of your life. In some ways it breeds a culture of gratitude, and in other ways, it pits people against each other when you have a differing opinion than the outspoken few. This was truly surprising given that the handful of people who created the toxic culture are either married, have kids, and have been with the company for more than 2 years. I frequently discussed their behavior with other teams to get a better sense of whether this was true for all teams, and it seemed to be unique to this team as far as they could tell, but smaller incidents like mine were pretty common. The manager, who was in charge of over 15 designers was never around, and made calls based on the gossip of 1 outspoken individual. 3 people have left this team and then myself, unexpectedly. I can only imagine it was my manager's form of retaliation, but when no feedback is given, it's hard to prove something either way. After working nights and weekends, and having no negative feedback to provide a reasoning for this, my bit of hope for this team has disappeared. I expect many, many more flies to drop. I asked for feedback from peers every day, and was given only positive feedback. I often asked how to improve my communication and process (that is what I've been doing for a decade). When I asked my manager, he didn't give any concrete areas to improve. In a final feedback session with my manager who had been MIA for several months, he pointed his finger at me for "not communicating enough" despite my daily updates and 1:1s with every key POC. There was no explanation given for 2 team members' extremely childish behavior like not responding to emails/chats, frequent and frivolous changing of projects and responsibilities based on what other designers wanted to do, and on top of that the rude condescending comments that many teammates had complained about in performance reviews of certain individuals. I reported the final unlawful incident to HR, but knowing how the goal is to protect FTE, I'm sure little will be done to hold them accountable. All I hope is that more people pay attention to how certain teams treat contractors and newer members of the team, as it is the most discrimination and harassment I have ever witnessed in my 15 years at tech companies. Although my performance was never faulted, the unspoken expectation was to kiss up to those who had been there longer, no matter their faults and no matter how they were oblivious to feedback and constant mistakes that were degrading the brand. I'm speaking to this now, because upon listen to Julie Zhuo's talk about management at FB and reading her book "The Making of a Manager", I've found that certain teams are completely off base from what she mentions. In my experience there, feedback was not offered when asked politely, and lack of direct communication and clique-ish behavior has shown the ugliest side of social media - a sad high school charade. I truly hope that leadership takes note and starts to role-model what good management means instead allowing a pure bottoms-up approach aka "self-management". This "Lord of the Flies" scenario where the few, more aggressive folks on the XFN team have overtaken all individual's roles and tasks despite who their real reporting relationships are has led to massive churn, which I didn't notice until it was too late. It was constantly dismissed as being "oh yea, we move fast (so we throw away talent and people who don't fall in line)". Management is not taking accountability. That is just bad business.

    Continue reading
    Facebook2019-09-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, smart coworkers, and very interesting work.

    Cons

    Work life balance can get a little lopsided sometimes

    Facebook2019-06-18
  6. "Product Design"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Design in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great design community. Solid internal tools that make your job easier.

    Cons

    Big company can be challenging getting lots of teams to align on an idea.

    Continue reading
    Facebook2019-05-04
  7. Helpful (25)

    "A great place to learn and grow, if you're lucky and find the right team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Designer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - If you find the right team, and you have the autonomy to self-improve and grow, Facebook is a great place for you to flex your wings, experiment, and improve. - By default, almost everything you ship is used by a lot of people - Benefits are really good

    Cons

    - You work all the time. It's impossible to truly step away from work. I had dreams about FB projects until about 3 months after I left. - If you don't end up on a good team, or with a good manager, you're out of luck in terms of "upwards" movement and "impact". It's really a dice roll unless you're privileged enough to select a specific team. - Facebook itself is a well greased machine. It self-enforces a lot of its own problems we're seeing the outcomes of today due to how it works. It's unlikely to change that anytime soon, so if you don't like how FB is unable to predict externalities in its work at its scale, you'll be upset working there - Working at FB is a bit like having blinders on. You're so dang busy and shipping things all the time, it is not conducive for you to think about the big picture and (related to above) the potential butterfly effects/externalities of your work. Many well-intentioned projects end up having disasterous consequences, but I'm confident that 99% of people out there, if they worked on the project, would've also been unable to predict the fallout. The prime example here is Instant Articles, which was a design-lead initiative to give select news partners the ability to make their articles load fast and render "natively" in the mobile apps (spun out of Paper after that got shut down). I can assure you that all the team wanted to make was a beautiful interface — it was lead by a product designer — and none of them would've wished to kill ad revenue/contribute to ruining journalism. You can argue that Instant Articles was one in many many steps FB took that ultimately shifted the ability to make money off of news ads from newspapers to FB itself, and lead to today's massive journalism layoffs and click-bait culture (if ya can't get clicks, ya can't get ad views, and ya can't make money). If you ever met the Instant Articles design lead, you'd know all they care about is a good design and polished interactions. But it turns out, just caring about that means you aren't thinking about the potential damage your product can do 4 years down the line.

    Continue reading
    Facebook2019-02-12
  8. "A lot of work and perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Product Designer in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and perks, food, transportation, and more

    Cons

    With the commute hours are long, and work often happens outside of business hours and on weekends.

    Facebook2019-02-04
  9. "Product Design"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Designer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is no hierarchy. It does not feel like you're working for corporate America. Your team feels like your family.

    Cons

    Non have crossed my mind.

    Continue reading
    Facebook2018-09-12
  10. "Amazing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Designer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time

    Pros

    Lots of perks, fulfilling projects that only a few companies in the world are working on

    Cons

    Your experience largely depends on the team. After three years thats the biggest decider of experience

    Continue reading
    Facebook2018-08-03
Found 33 reviews