Facebook Reviews | Glassdoor

Facebook Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1362 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Technical Sourcer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Sourcer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and work perks. Fantastic people and free breakfast, lunch and dinner isn’t bad either! Also, metrics are very reasonable, “offers extended are the expectation for sourcers not offers accepted which is great.

    Cons

    Sourcing here can be challenging, as we are regionalized in a sense and almost all great candidates in your regions are “claimed.” I recruit senior software engineers and they’re hard enough to come by as it is. I understand this long cycle of 6 months is for candidate experience but it makes it difficult for a new recruiter to ramp up and basically have to wait for “shared” candidates to come around or be extremely creative...

    Show More
    Facebook2019-06-10
  2. Helpful (330)

    "Fast paced company with high expectations, but incredibly fair. You won't a place that cares more about it's people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Incredible benefits - Excellent compensation that rewards strong performance - Lots of autonomy - Tons of room for growth - Very transparent from the top down - Strong leadership - Intelligent and caring colleagues - The most fair and well thought out review process you will find everywhere - Exciting work

    Cons

    - If you don't learn to make the work life balance work for you, it can be exhausting. But you'll also be given lots of support with this if you ask for it. - It doesn't matter how good you are at your job, chances are you're going to be surrounded by a ton of other people who are just as good if not better. Imposter syndrome is real, but if you got an offer, you probably belong here too.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, keep an eye on employee burnout, keep supporting your people and keep pushing them, and the rest of the world, forward.

    Facebook2017-02-17

    Facebook Response

    April 17, 2017Director, Global Recruiting Programs and Operations

    Thank you for the feedback. From the Life@ benefits and conveniences to the many employee affinity and advice groups, we are all here to support you. If you need additional help, please reach out to your HR Business Partner.

  3. Helpful (391)

    "Pleasantly Surprised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Selection Program Manager in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook

    Pros

    I'm a 55 year old working in a company where the average age is 28, and I've never been happier. I have always wanted to work in a company where I wasn't the proverbial square peg, and after nearly 30 years in the work force, I believe that I have found the company that complements my ideology for how a company should operate. Here are the "Pros" as I see them... - Leadership: Mark Zuckerberg, Sheryl Sandberg, Chris...

    Show More

    Cons

    Like any tech company, the work is big and complicated so work/life balance can suffer from time to time. The difference is that it's the passion within the individuals that drives them to work long hours and forego time off. Of course there can be times when schedule demands force the imbalance, but it's not such that 10-12 hours days become commonplace and expected regardless. We do what we do to get the job done; no...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing and fight hard to not be complacent. I believe that humility is the key so don't ever lose that thinking. Your motives will always be suspect, but if you're able to look in the mirror everyday and know that your motives are pure, that's all that matters. Walking the talk is the best evidence there is.

    Facebook2016-02-17

    Facebook Response

    March 31, 2016Your Friends at Facebook

    Thank you for sharing your experience here. We believe our mission-driven community is special, and bringing together people with different backgrounds to work on challenging problems makes us better.

  4. Helpful (6)

    "Still Awesome Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Worldclass benefits and perks; super smart colleagues; flexible work environment; challenging projects with immense benefits

    Cons

    Building consistent methodologies as the company grows

    Advice to Management

    Keep things smooth

    Facebook2019-06-05
  5. Helpful (2)

    "great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get appreciated for the work you put (through feedback, bonuses and promotions). Relatively low level of b.s.. Impact driven company

    Cons

    work life balance. 6 months evaluation cycle that pushes people to focus a lot on short term impact

    Facebook2019-05-29
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Great experience, very dependent on team/manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Analyst in San Francisco, CA

      I have been working at Facebook full-time

      Pros

      - Fast paced environment that instills ruthless prioritization into you veins - Interesting projects/challenges that you'll probably encounter across many teams - Perks + benefits are hard to beat -- they really do try their best at making you not worry about anything else

      Cons

      Nothing company wide but if you end up w/ a mediocre manager/lead, be prepared to fight your own battles(something you'll find in almost every job w/ a company of this size)

      Facebook2019-05-17
    • "Worth it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Associate Director in Menlo Park, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Facebook full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Work with really bright people You're given a lot of opportunities for growth

      Cons

      It's becoming more and more corporate Regulations has management on edge

      Facebook2019-06-14
    • Helpful (7)

      "Great company to give you experience and a big career boost, but not sustainable long-term"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - User Experience Researcher in Menlo Park, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Facebook full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - The benefits: free food, laundry, shuttle transportation, business class on international flights, full health, dental, vision, decent 401k plan w/match - The things that you will learn and trainings you can take, you can learn from the best in the business. -Depending on your team and manager, you can have a lot of autonomy on projects.

      Cons

      - Bad press affects the entire company and morale (morale is really low right now) - Researcher pay is a joke (especially when considering equity). - Recent culture shift as they are hiring more and more people who are not authentic and expect too much. - They care more about the business needs than they do about the employees.

      Facebook2019-05-22
    • Helpful (6)

      "bad time to be here."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Design Manager in Menlo Park, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      You can coast along and go with the flow. nice offices and food and benefits

      Cons

      - frantic, reactionary leadership - chaotic & random decision making - hard if you want to actually want to accomplish something and have not been there a while to understand the messy org - senior long time entrenched leaders are so political and not super competent. - lots of great people leaving now - most employees are quite junior in skill, generally just do what they are told and have to be guided.

      Facebook2019-05-29
    • "Great place to learn and grow. Fast paced but it can take its toll on you"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Software Engineer in Menlo Park, CA

        I have been working at Facebook

        Pros

        Fast paced learning Great coworkers Good career progression

        Cons

        High stress Bad work life balance Company has bad press

        Facebook2019-06-08
      Found 1362 reviews