Fairfax County Park Authority Reviews | Glassdoor

Fairfax County Park Authority Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Yeet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Fairfax County Park Authority part-time

    Pros

    best summer job to get

    Cons

    there isn't really a con for a summer job like this.

    Fairfax County Park Authority2019-02-12
  2. "Overall Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lifeguard 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Fairfax County Park Authority part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and decent management

    Cons

    lots of chores as a lifeguard

    Fairfax County Park Authority2019-04-05
  3. "Overall good job experience - no room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Fairfax County Park Authority full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Nice to work outside and interact with patrons

    Cons

    No room for growth Minimal pay raise

    Fairfax County Park Authority2019-04-09
  4. "Great company that places great value on its employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Specialist 

    I have been working at Fairfax County Park Authority part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment with great people that work hard. There's always work to be done. Work is exciting each day you go in.

    Cons

    No present cons thus far

    Fairfax County Park Authority2019-02-05
  5. "Good Opportunities for Promotion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Aquatics Manager in Reston, VA

    I worked at Fairfax County Park Authority full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Having worked here for the past five summers, and being promoted 3 times, I can say that there are great opportunities to advance into management roles and gain experience in management.

    Cons

    Even in management it is not a 9 to 5 job so the hours can be a little hard but that is to be expected due to the nature of the job.

    Fairfax County Park Authority2019-01-16
  6. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internship in Great Falls, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Fairfax County Park Authority for more than a year

    Pros

    Job was rewarding and fun. Depending on who the on staff manager was at the park you had contact supervision and help when you needed it.

    Cons

    Long hours and the pay was not great.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Fairfax County Park Authority2018-12-14
  7. "Manager on Duty (MOD)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Fairfax County Park Authority part-time

    Pros

    I really enjoyed the people I worked with.

    Cons

    Had to back up front desk a lot since they were short staffed

    Fairfax County Park Authority2018-11-15
  8. "Lifeguard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Fairfax County Park Authority part-time

    Pros

    Great hours, pay was okay, and nice environment.

    Cons

    No breaks if working long shifts...

    Fairfax County Park Authority2018-10-03
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fairfax County Park Authority part-time

    Pros

    Great team members for the most part. Very flexible in scheduling, although usually short staffed

    Cons

    Quite a bit of favoritism among the management, makes some people feel worthless.

    Fairfax County Park Authority2018-09-27
  10. "Good pay but somewhat stressful environment at times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Fairfax County Park Authority full-time

      Pros

      Good pay, good training, serious work enviroment

      Cons

      Very stressful work environment at times

      Advice to Management

      Teach new employees better especially during their first few shifts

      Fairfax County Park Authority2018-09-02
    Found 43 reviews