Fairway Independent Mortgage Reviews | Glassdoor

Fairway Independent Mortgage Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 166 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Steve Jacobson
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company - Lunches provided at end of month- Management is super -(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great culture and get loans closed quickly(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Most people at the branch level are either too busy to help mentor/guide/coach, or are not willing to be 'hands-on(in 5 reviews)

  • "There are no cons working for this company(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Lender in Fredericksburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fairway Independent Mortgage full-time

    Pros

    Great management and tools to help you succeed

    Cons

    Did not have any negative experiences

    Fairway Independent Mortgage2019-04-11

    Fairway Independent Mortgage Response

    April 15, 2019HR - Employee Engagement/Onboarding/Social Media

    Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate ALL your contributions to Fairway. Have a great day :)

  2. "Zero Chance for Growth & Buddy System"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fairway Independent Mortgage full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The people start out really nice. Until they don't need you anymore. Great work/life balance because OT is not allowed. Taking off or working from home is encouraged. A good chunk of employees work three or four day work weeks.

    Cons

    There is absolutely no sense of urgency at this company from the top down. Everyone is here to do the bare minimum. Loan Officers are 100% untrained and must learn on the fly which leads to EXTREME turnover. Horrendous management across the board. Managers have zero back bone and prefer to avoid conflict. Favoritism runs rampant here. You cannot, and will not ever move up if you aren't a "certain" type of person. Take...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None. It's clear that Fairway prefers the culture to look and feel a certain way so any advice given will be thrown in the garbage. Good luck cracking the top 10 in anything.

    Fairway Independent Mortgage2019-05-06

    Fairway Independent Mortgage Response

    May 7, 2019HR - Employee Engagement/Onboarding/Social Media

    Hi there - We are sorry to hear about your experience and appreciate your feedback. We strive to create an amazing experience for all. This will be shared with the appropriate group for continuous improvement and necessary coaching. We appreciate all your contributions to Fairway ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Overall Giood"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carrollton, TX
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Fairway Independent Mortgage full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Care for employees overall was good

      Cons

      Better when smaller. Preferential treatment

      Advice to Management

      Be fair across the board

      Fairway Independent Mortgage2019-04-13

      Fairway Independent Mortgage Response

      April 15, 2019HR - Employee Engagement/Onboarding/Social Media

      Thank you for your valued feedback! We appreciate ALL your contributions to Fairway, grateful for you. Hope you have a nice day.

    • "Good Place To Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Corporate Auditor 
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Fairway Independent Mortgage full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      This company has a good tenure within the mortgage industry. I enjoyed my time working there for the most part. My co-workerds are what made it a enjoyable time coming to work.

      Cons

      There definitely should be some management changes in certain departments. There was favoritism shown to certain employees and employees were lied too.

      Advice to Management

      Take the company-wide surveys seriously. Management needs to be looked at especially when different employees have reported the same manager to HR on several different occasions. When the employees feel like nothing is being done or their concerns are not being addressed, that is what creates the revolving door.

      Fairway Independent Mortgage2019-03-31

      Fairway Independent Mortgage Response

      April 2, 2019HR - Employee Engagement/Onboarding/Social Media

      Thank you for your valued feedback! We appreciate all your contributions and hard work you put into Fairway :) This will be shared with the appropriate groups for continuous coaching and process improvement. Have a nice day.

    • "Rewarding"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Human Resources 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Fairway Independent Mortgage full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Ability to create, implement, do - with trust of leadership. Team environment allows you to collaborate vs. working in silos. Growing company with growing HR department and opportunities.

      Cons

      Pace is very fast combined with expectations to respond after hours.

      Fairway Independent Mortgage2019-03-11

      Fairway Independent Mortgage Response

      March 12, 2019HR - Employee Engagement/Onboarding/Social Media

      Thank you for your valued feedback! So glad you are part of our HR Team. Appreciate your continued contributions :)

    • "Great Employer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Underwriter/Remote in Dallas, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Fairway Independent Mortgage full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Team atmosphere, family orientated, goal driven, very positve attitude with everyone at this company. I was very sad when I got laid off, I wanted this to be my forever employer that I would retire with. Management is great to work with! I had a voyage that was amazing!

      Cons

      I don't have any cons. I think it works.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up with the support and advice that you give, don't ever stop giving positive feedback!

      Fairway Independent Mortgage2019-03-09

      Fairway Independent Mortgage Response

      March 12, 2019HR - Employee Engagement/Onboarding/Social Media

      Thank you for your valued feedback! We appreciate all your contributions while you worked here. Please keep checking our careers site to see if any new openings in your location preference for you to join our Fairway Family again. Glad to hear you had a great experience. Have ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (6)

      "Not recommended"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carrollton, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Fairway Independent Mortgage full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Pay check and lunches, and rarely any overtime

      Cons

      Favoritism and clicks, and those favored got the overtime and ability to work from home when sick?? think before accepting a job

      Fairway Independent Mortgage2019-02-18
    • "Beware"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Fairway Independent Mortgage

      Pros

      Friendly family atmosphere. Able to work from home at times.

      Cons

      Unless you are friends with management you won't last long here. Also you will never get any bonus' that you are promised.

      Advice to Management

      Keep people who know what they are doing and not friends.

      Fairway Independent Mortgage2019-03-17

      Fairway Independent Mortgage Response

      March 18, 2019HR - Employee Engagement/Onboarding/Social Media

      Hi there - we are very sorry to hear about your experience. One of our Core Values is to "Foster Growth and Knowledge". Your feedback will be shared with the appropriate group for continuous coaching and improvement. Thank you for your contributions and we wish you the best of luck.

    • "Looks Great From A Distance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Mortgage Advisor in Seattle, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Fairway Independent Mortgage full-time

      Pros

      Wide range of products offered

      Cons

      Several aspects of the submission and underwriting process are slow and redundant which puts unnecessary pressure on processors and support staff. Overlays became more and more frequent, Requires the use of Citrix which is an outdated and extremely slow way of doing business. Culture revolves around the CEO's childish behavior and "Look what I can do and how much money I have" attitude which comes at the cost of significantly...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Remove the CEO, he will be the downfall of the company.

      Fairway Independent Mortgage2019-03-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "Not As Advertised"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Producing Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Fairway Independent Mortgage full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great marketing and branding, Good Technology, Good Name Recognition

      Cons

      Corporate Staff is dishonest, Uses Point Bank to Disproportionately Help Specific Demographics of borrower. They will give you good rates when you onboard and slowly increase the rates. They pick winners and losers. If you are chosen, they will recruit for you, if you aren't they recruit against you. The leadership team is focused on growth over sustainability and quality. They want to win at all costs.

      Fairway Independent Mortgage2019-03-12
    Found 166 reviews