Fairway Independent Mortgage Reviews | Glassdoor

Fairway Independent Mortgage Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 170 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Steve Jacobson
38 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fairway Independent Mortgage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None at all for this company

    Cons

    Leadership claims to be "humble" but they are the only ones that call themselves humble. Which begs the question..... are they really humble? ???? Unless you are one of the "chosen" ones you will be constantly overlooked, under appreciated and taken for granted at all times. The expectations for you vs. someone in the same role as you that is a "chosen one" are different expectations so beware of that. The President...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually be humble if you are going to call yourselves humble. In case you need to know the meaning....... humble- having or showing a modest or low estimate of one's own importance.

    Fairway Independent Mortgage2018-09-13
  2. "Best Company I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fairway Independent Mortgage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quick response times. There is help from everyone from the top to the bottom. They have helped me grow to be a better leader.

    Cons

    I would not change anything

    Fairway Independent Mortgage2018-08-10

    Fairway Independent Mortgage Response

    August 13, 2018Recruitment Sourcing Specialist

    Thanks for your valued feedback! So glad you are part of our Fairway Family :)

  3. "Great management. Open and honest environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Officer Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fairway Independent Mortgage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management is willing to listen

    Cons

    No time for training new hires. Need additional staff

    Fairway Independent Mortgage2018-08-10

    Fairway Independent Mortgage Response

    August 13, 2018Recruitment Sourcing Specialist

    Thank you for your valued feedback!

  4. Helpful (10)

    "The real and only core-value, the company is built on, is favoritism."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Interactive Designer and Strategist in Carrollton, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fairway Independent Mortgage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pros dissolve rather quickly - you won't get far being progressive.

    Cons

    Leadership is horrible and people are more afraid to speak their mind about issues. The MO of eating your own in order to make examples is from the top-down. If you cater to the in crowd, you'll get more advancement than any other place you've ever worked. In the time I was there, there were 12 promotions. Two people got SIX of those promotions; both with three promotions in a year. I'm sure I'll be labeled as a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually care about people and stop equating everything as a game or sports.

    Fairway Independent Mortgage2018-09-07

    Fairway Independent Mortgage Response

    September 21, 2018National Recruiting Manager

    We are sorry to hear about your experience and appreciate your feedback. We strive to create an amazing experience for all. This will be shared with the appropriate group for continuous improvement and necessary coaching.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Got a question?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fairway Independent Mortgage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Direct coworkers are great and lots of extras at corporate

    Cons

    Training was horrible. If you have questions on your job they wont get answered. There are many times I googled articles to piece together more information and then apply it to my situation. I was told regular reviews and the benefits were cooperative to my old job which was a bold faced lie. I have been there over a year without a raise or a review. I asked questions and got shuffled around until I got to someone who...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We are to be one team regardless of title. How about you listen to staff. Address their concerns. Maybe be transparent, honest and educational and staff wont have questions to begin with.

    Fairway Independent Mortgage2018-08-15

    Fairway Independent Mortgage Response

    September 21, 2018National Recruiting Manager

    We are very sorry to hear about your experience. We are always striving to create an amazing experience and are committed to serving our employees. Your feedback is valuable. This will be shared with the appropriate group for coaching and make necessary improvements.

  6. Helpful (4)

    "Fire at will company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fairway Independent Mortgage full-time

    Pros

    There are no pros for this company

    Cons

    Very disrespectful of your time and no career path. Super micromanagement

    Advice to Management

    stop micromanaging and trust employees

    Fairway Independent Mortgage2018-08-28

    Fairway Independent Mortgage Response

    September 21, 2018National Recruiting Manager

    We are very sorry to hear about your experience. One of our Core Values is to “Foster Growth and Knowledge.” Your feedback will be shared with the appropriate group for continuous understanding and growth.

  7. "Fairway Independent Mortgage Corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fairway Independent Mortgage full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work environment, nice people

    Cons

    Little vacation time, health insurance isn't great

    Fairway Independent Mortgage2018-08-09

    Fairway Independent Mortgage Response

    August 13, 2018Recruitment Sourcing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! Glad you are part of our Fairway Family :)

  8. "Fairway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Operations in South Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fairway Independent Mortgage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    In spite of fast growth, maintains employee and client centered culture. Fast pace, fun environment, many perks focused on retaining a stress free, productive place. Executives and leaders are supportive, and help to make Fairway a place where one wants to be - every day. A true team atmosphere.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lose the positive culture.

    Fairway Independent Mortgage2018-07-23

    Fairway Independent Mortgage Response

    August 2, 2018Recruitment Sourcing Specialist

    Thank you for the feedback! Glad you are part of our team :)

  9. "Fast underwriting turn-times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Loan Processor in Plano, TX

      I have been working at Fairway Independent Mortgage full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Can get loans closed in 12-21 days

      Cons

      Expensive Health Insurance - Don’t like the new training website as much as the old one.

      Fairway Independent Mortgage2018-07-20

      Fairway Independent Mortgage Response

      August 2, 2018Recruitment Sourcing Specialist

      Thank you for the feedback! Our Benefits department has been made aware of this for process improvement.

    • "The Best Mortgage Company I've Worked For!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - National Recruitment Manager in Carrollton, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Fairway Independent Mortgage full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I've been a mortgage professional since 1999 and worked for banks, brokers, large and small lenders... Fairway surpasses them all. Definitely not perfect but they welcome criticism and make changes to be better! The culture is positive, family oriented and encouraging! Steve, CEO, genuinely cares about every person who works at Fairway. He is passionate about seeing folks grow professionally and personally.

      Cons

      Hard to say... keep training your LO's and providing coaching opportunities. Love that Fairway is a SALES environment.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up doing what you are doing! Remember to stay humble. Teach, train and develop those who are loyal, driven, smart and eager... they fuel the organization.

      Fairway Independent Mortgage2018-07-16

      Fairway Independent Mortgage Response

      August 2, 2018Recruitment Sourcing Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback! I shared this with our Organizational Development Team :)

    Found 170 reviews