Faithlife Reviews | Glassdoor

Faithlife Reviews

Updated 1 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Faithlife CEO Bob Pritchett
Bob Pritchett
147 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "401K match is light relative to other tech employers(in 9 reviews)

  • "Cost of living in Bellingham is increasing faster than compensations(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I get excited to go to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Bellingham, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Faithlife part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I feel so blessed to be able to work for such a great company. The mission statement is clear and makes even my small role feel like it’s part of a bigger picture: equipping the church to grow in the light of the Bible. The customers are, for the most part, incredibly kind people to deal with and we are given the freedom and flexibility to do what’s best for them and not just follow set in stone rules. I... love my team and the people I get to work with. Management is flexible, kind, and laid back. If you are seeking growth, you will find it. Initiative is rewarded if you put in the work. I have seen many people move from customer service into other positions in the company. There are tons of fun perks: free soda and coffee, the outdoor center, access to a library of books and games, department lunches, Read for Cash where we get paid per page for reading business books, company picnic, free Logos bible software (!!), just to name a few.

    Show More

    Cons

    The customer service department can sometimes feel closed off from the rest of the company. Not really something that could be improved due to the nature of the department with people on the phone and lots of remote reps.

    Faithlife2019-07-28

    Faithlife Response

    October 8, 2019President/CEO

    Thanks for being part of our team! CS is the front-line of serving our customers, and you're the reason customers say we provide the best service they've ever received from any company. (One emailed me to say that!) And it's awesome to see you quote our mission statement; it's the heart of what we're doing -- and why!

    Show Less
  2. "Positive experience, I guess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Accounting Clerk 

    I have been working at Faithlife full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of activities and community building opportunities if you are not in the call center.

    Cons

    Some hard working people are overlooked.

    Faithlife2019-10-02

    Faithlife Response

    October 8, 2019President/CEO

    I'm sorry to hear that you feel some people are overlooked. I miss the days of knowing everyone well (before we hundreds of team members!), and I know that it's easy to give more attention to what's new or needing help, and to under-appreciate the departments that just keep running smoothly year after year. I will take this as a reminder to look for the overlooked.

    Show Less
  3. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Bellingham, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Faithlife full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Market leader in bible study software Great vision for future with expansion into church products and SaaS Visionary CEO who cares deeply for customers and employees

    Cons

    401K match is light relative to other tech employers

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, hold people accountable for results, continue to focus on the mission of the company

    Faithlife2019-06-07

    Faithlife Response

    October 8, 2019President/CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to review us, and for being part of our team! We'll continue to work on improving the 401(k), and to focus on the mission!

  4. "Great place to learn, work hard and be rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Bellingham, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Faithlife full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Learn some great skills, meet and work with amazing people and sell an impressive and important product!

    Cons

    sometimes we move desks. more than necessary.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on hiring great folks!

    Faithlife2019-06-07

    Faithlife Response

    October 8, 2019President/CEO

    Thanks for the review, and for being part of our sales team! I'm sorry about the desk moves!

  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellingham, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Faithlife full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Good values and company culture - Flexible schedule - Very approachable leadership - It's very satisfactory (at least for me) to work in a company that benefits the Church in great ways

    Cons

    - The 401k match is ridiculous - Raises capped since a couple of years ago (with some exceptions) - Cost of living in Bellingham is increasing faster than compensations

    Faithlife2019-06-07

    Faithlife Response

    October 8, 2019President/CEO

    Thanks for writing a review! We did increase the 401(k) contribution, but there's more to do, and it's something we'll continue to revisit. Raises aren't capped, though there's a default pattern we use, and managers have to fit into an overall budget, with some exceptions for exceptional growth. I'm glad to hear you consider Faithlife a "great place to work" -- thanks for being part of our team!

    Show Less
  6. "I love working at Faithlife"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Bellingham, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Faithlife full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing people, flexible hours, great benefits and perks, fun company events, passion about our products, vision for growing our company

    Cons

    Employees must be self-motivated, which is good, but some need more direction and training. Lack of or poor communication between teams- although improved from the past, it's still bad at times.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work- I know that much effort is going into making improvements, as I've seen this over my years here.

    Faithlife2019-06-07

    Faithlife Response

    October 8, 2019President/CEO

    Thanks for acknowledging the progress we've made. Communication between teams continues to be a challenge with nearly 400 people, but we've come a long way. We've made some progress on training, too, but have more to do in that area. You're right -- we're still a place well suited to self-motivated people.

    Show Less
  7. "Important Mission, Well-Run Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Faithlife full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Our mission to use technology to equip the church to grow in the light of the Bible is personally important to me, and I work in a department full of people for whom it is also important. This makes my work significant, and it makes teamwork enjoyable. The work is challenging, the opportunities are ever-growing, the leadership is visionary, and the little perks are quite nice. Free coffee, the nice summer picnic and... Christmas party—all have become rituals for me and/or my family. I have many friends and respected colleagues. I couldn't be happier.

    Show More

    Cons

    Occasionally I feel like we are too eager to launch new things rather than putting in the time to bring prior new things up to the quality level we could reach. But I also really like having a CEO that is so full of ideas.

    Advice to Management

    Never lose sight of the company's mission. I don't think you have, not in the least, and I'm grateful.

    Faithlife2019-06-07

    Faithlife Response

    October 8, 2019President/CEO

    Thanks for mentioning the mission! I love it, and how perfectly it encapsulates -- and motivates -- what we're doing at Faithlife. I agree that work with significance is more enjoyable, and appreciate your pointing that out. Your note about new things makes sense -- maybe it is too many -- but if you've been around long enough for the picnic to be a familiar thing, you've probably heard my defense of why we launch so many new things. :-) We'll keep working to get the balance right. Thanks for taking the time to write a review!

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good Team Culture, Lacking when it comes to Corporate Culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Faithlife full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Faithlife’s aspirational goals and values align with my own. Individual healthcare is incredible. I enjoy spending time with my coworkers. My time at Faithlife has been flying by and I have enjoyed the majority of my time here.

    Cons

    I often find myself at odds with the pace of the development culture, which is highly resistant to changing the status quo. Heavy reliance on Microsoft’s C# hinders development time. 401k match is terrible, I was told during my job offer that it was a specific percentage rate of my salary. Turned out to be a percentage of that percentage of my salary so that was frustrating. I have never worked for a company... that did not offer a 100% match up to at least 5% so it feels like Faithlife does not feel like it wants to keep me around for the long haul. Teams feel very siloed from one another. There always seem to be Employee wellness events but most employees feel they are unable to attend them.

    Show More
    Faithlife2019-06-07

    Faithlife Response

    October 8, 2019President/CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review; I'm sorry to hear you find yourself at odds with the pace of development culture. Yes, we use C# a lot -- but that's because we have a large investment in it, and a large existing code base. But if you look around, you'll see current Javascript frameworks, Python, Swift, and Kotlin, among others. I'm all for faster development, and I would be curious to hear your recommendation for what would speed us up vs. C# in development time. I don't know that we're choosing it for new 'from scratch' projects, unless they are tightly connected with existing code, and I'm not sure how any other language would be a silver bullet if it meant re-writing large amounts of code, or losing access to so much shared platform. But change my mind! I am always interested in faster development.

    Show Less
  9. "Faithlife was a great place to work. Great people, great products, great company culture overall."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Bellingham, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Faithlife full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Combines the best of working for a mature, established company and an exciting startup with big ideas at the same time. Great work/life balance and company culture. CEO has good company vision and also stays well connected with employees and employee satisfaction. Highly recommend!

    Cons

    Employees' experiences and satisfaction do vary by team. Not all teams are equally good to work on (but that is probably true at any company).

    Advice to Management

    Avoid having two managers of a given team. Make sure it's always clear who has responsibility for managing a team's operations.

    Faithlife2019-04-05

    Faithlife Response

    October 8, 2019President/CEO

    Thanks for the kind words and for posting a review! I'm glad you enjoyed your time at Faithlife and recommend us!

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Incredible Company with Incredible Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Faithlife full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Company Culture: It's fun and relaxed, yet we accomplish big results. -Competitive Pay: I am truly blown away by how generous Faithlife is with their compensation structure -Thoughtful Hiring: Faithlife is obsessed with hiring quality people, and the culture reflects this -Unlimited time off (this is a two-edged sword.. see Cons) -Amazing Management: I know with certainty that my managers care deeply for... their employees and truly look out for them.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Healthcare is amazing for individuals but nearly impossible to afford for families. The coverage is comprehensive, but the amazing coverage is definitely reflected in the price tag. This has, however, improved in the past year and I know the company is trying to improve this as -Unlimited time off: It's... confusing. While I can't speak to other departments, unlimited time off is somewhat confusing in inside as... it is often frowned upon to take advantage of this as the department has big goals to meet and taking time off can significantly hinder these goals. In some ways, it's harder to take time off under this structure because you're not actually sure how much is too much, where if there were set guidelines there would be no ambiguity. Also, taking time off as a sales rep does not mean that you would be getting paid as normal-- if you don't sell you don't make money, regardless of the time off policy. -In the sales department there is no clear career growth path. I don't want to say it's a "dead end", because you could certainly make a career out of sales. However, if you wish to grow and stretch yourself, the options are limited.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Keep being amazing. -Try to speak clearly about what time off means so that there is no ambiguity -Continue to strive for clear communication between the two sales locations

    Faithlife2019-02-22

    Faithlife Response

    October 8, 2019President/CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm sorry the unlimited time off is creating tension for you; I'm always reluctant to provide guidance, because people 'turn it into a rule', and we're trying to avoid that. But if you reach out to me directly, I'll give you explicit permission to take more time off than you have been. :-) It's one of our goals that people DO take time off, and a team goal / need shouldn't cause anyone from being discouraged from using the benefit. I'll make sure that message is re-communicated. We're big on Initiative -- it's one of our values! -- so if you want to find a career path beyond sales, just ask. We love to see people Grow inside the company (another value!), and I and many others could help you explore ideas and options. Promotion from within is a highly encouraged.

    Show Less
Found 185 reviews