Fanatics Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Fanatics Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Fanatics CEO Doug Mack
Doug Mack
10 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fanatics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is the best company that I have ever worked for in the last 12 years of my development background. Great benefits package Work from home ability Getting to work on new projects and new technologies Kind of sort of Agile methodology with Sprint work increments Work hard play hard culture Ability to move up the ladder (depending on what you are hired as.. title/pay)

    Cons

    Work life balance kind of sucks. We are expected to be connected even after hours via our personal phones using Slack. Open office floor plan makes it very difficult to focus and get any work done. The projects often change direction, or are completely nixed in the last home stretch. The business changes their mind every 30 seconds (typical) Projects will change direction will change abruptly in the home stretch,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stay transparent with your employees on the status of the company and hire some project managers.

    Fanatics2019-06-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "avg company that has growth issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fanatics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some good people. few rotten.

    Cons

    Management doesn't seem to have a sense of whats next. they do have objectives defined but seems like there is more of an effort to look good to sell the company. not sure how successful they would be if they go public.

    Advice to Management

    learn how to avoid getting into situations where you have to lay off people and please avoid rewarding people based on favoritism.

    Fanatics2019-07-26
  3. "Good learning with technology stack"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fanatics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good learning opportunity, every new grad can think of joining this company as this will create good career for next opportunities

    Cons

    Code base is very haphazard and disorganized as they are still growing. There might be some internal politics which we are not aware about. Very recently they have laid off more than 200 experienced and new employees. No one of them were given notice about this and got terminated in a day.

    Advice to Management

    Don't think as if you are Amazon.

    Fanatics2019-05-27
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fanatics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good tech stack, opportunity to develop yourself, cool office, nice people!

    Cons

    Long hours some time doing support.

    Advice to Management

    Give feedback more often

    Fanatics2018-04-29
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fanatics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    bagels on friday, location, cool people

    Cons

    my manager is a slave driver. The omt project was great before upper management put the wrong people in place. You are expected to finish something when the manager decides it should be done. You will get talked to if you dont finish it regardless of how unrealistic the deadline is. people are constantly leaving. Teams are lean and there arent many chances for career advancements.

    Advice to Management

    Clean up your entire IT management. Great company with great CEO but IT organisation is not the place to be with these people.

    Fanatics2018-04-12
  6. Helpful (6)

    "One of the best places I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fanatics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Whenever people ask me what I like about working at Fanatics during interviews and such, I have a ready answer: the company cares about its people. For a short period I was unhappy with my role and the team I was on. I voiced that, and they found me something that was a better fit, rather than saying "tough beans, do it or find something else." Also, we have lots of employees in Florida. During the recent hurricanes,...

    Show More

    Cons

    On the flip side of that positive note, it sometimes feels like a startup combined with a bureaucracy. There are lots of tools we have to use because a higher up says so but those teams are agile and the tools are not fully developed, etc.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. You've made a great place to work where employees feel empowered.

    Fanatics2017-10-04
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Ok place to work ...at best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fanatics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent work life balance, Easy going co-workers.

    Cons

    If you are expecting to grow your career here forget about it unless you are good at politics. People you know are more important than what you can do. There is a severe lack in transparency when it comes to employee evaluations. Most good engineers leave since they do not see any challenging opportunities. The scale of the problems isn't large enough to challenge your abilities. A lot of the projects are hacks...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees. Make sure people are hired to fit the role not the the other way around where roles are changed to match the people.

    Fanatics2017-08-29
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Quality Organization with a bright future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fanatics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Intelligent, friendly and contagiously exuberant team. These people care about the quality of work produced and are building teams to further the paradigm.

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind. My days are split between sports discussions and coding. Zero downside in that statement.

    Fanatics2017-01-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Tech Stack and People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fanatics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting projects and technology (Elasticsearch, Couchbase, PostgreSQL). Some very smart and talented developers and QA folks. Reasonably fun work environment.

    Cons

    Lack of accountability and "blamestorming". We used to call it "Fantics", because there's no "a" (for accountability) in Fanatics. Moving lots of tech to the west coast under new leadership. CEO and CTO seem like great people.

    Advice to Management

    Would have been cheaper and more cost effective to keep all of your development over on the east coast instead of San Fran!

    Fanatics2016-11-03
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Fremont, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fanatics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great startup work environment and fast response to queries.

    Cons

    Takes time for engineering staff to get access to various development related tools. At most three days.

    Fanatics2016-10-21
Found 13 reviews