Fanatics "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Fanatics Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Fanatics CEO Doug Mack
Doug Mack
210 Ratings
Pros
  • "Laid back dress code, discount on merchandise(in 30 reviews)

  • "Working in sports, casual dress code(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management doesn’t seem to realize or doesn’t care that most of their artists are burned out(in 21 reviews)

  • "Work life balance kind of sucks(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fanatics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I’ve worked here in IT for almost 2 years now and love the overall atmosphere, what we do and how we do it. The work life balance is the best that I’ve had in 15 yrs of working professionally. The new Jax tech office that we moved into in June 2019 is probably one of the best offices in Jax which has only improved working conditions.

    Cons

    There’s always room for improvement and the biggest con for me is team/leadership separation across multiple locations. This is causing some friction in setting and sticking to priorities.

    Continue reading
    Fanatics2019-07-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Training is the key to success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor 

    I have been working at Fanatics full-time

    Pros

    Service to our customers makes my day

    Cons

    work life balance is not what I expected and limited resources.

    Fanatics2019-10-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Growing too fast for its own good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fanatics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very laid back atmosphere, good people to work with, benefits are alright, discretionary time off policy is wonderful for work/life balance

    Cons

    Growing too fast. Management is constantly changing, and changes (like mass layoffs) are implemented rapidly and without warning. No room for upward mobility in the company. Bonuses are few and far between. It's a very unstable place to work, always wondering if your job is going to change or be eliminated.

    Continue reading
    Fanatics2019-09-30
  4. "Perfect for anyone looking to get a start in Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Fanatics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you love people and sports, you'll love working at Fanatics. Whether it is a short encounter or a loyal customer, you can quickly build relationships with customers because you both share a passion for sports. For Part-time sales associates, you only have to work when there are sporting events. This provides a nice work/life balance, especially for students.

    Cons

    Sales Associates can be stationed at outdoor sporting events, so it is a physically demanding job, especially during the summer. When there are events after the game, you typically have to work those hours, as well.

    Fanatics2019-08-02
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Disfunctional toxic workplace. Listen to the Angel on your shoulder, not the devil on the other shoulder....don’t do it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fanatics

    Pros

    Beer on tap in break room. If you accept this job, you will need it!

    Cons

    Very very disorganized. Management too busy putting out fires to focus on improving processes and work life balance for understaffed company. Upper management knows they are way understaffed, but the greedy money grab wins every time. No loyalty between co-workers, it is everyone for themselves here. Everyone is so stressed out and over-extended they often lash out at others. Everyone is miserable here. (PS: consider my review the angel on your shoulder)

    Continue reading
    Fanatics2019-08-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fanatics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is the best company that I have ever worked for in the last 12 years of my development background. Great benefits package Work from home ability Getting to work on new projects and new technologies Kind of sort of Agile methodology with Sprint work increments Work hard play hard culture Ability to move up the ladder (depending on what you are hired as.. title/pay)

    Cons

    Work life balance kind of sucks. We are expected to be connected even after hours via our personal phones using Slack. Open office floor plan makes it very difficult to focus and get any work done. The projects often change direction, or are completely nixed in the last home stretch. The business changes their mind every 30 seconds (typical) Projects will change direction will change abruptly in the home stretch, or be nixed all together. Tech management planning need work, but has been getting better.

    Continue reading
    Fanatics2019-06-21
  7. Helpful (4)

    "HRA at Fan Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HRA in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fanatics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The managers are so unaware of what's going on you'll probably never get in trouble if you're late.

    Cons

    Bad culture, so much turn around, just a very negative place to work. There was no work life balance.

    Continue reading
    Fanatics2019-07-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Love the work, hate the culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fanatics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The actual work is fun and rewarding, great coworkers. Great health plan.

    Cons

    Management tends to be all work and no play, expecting everyone to work longer days because they do. We have unlimited paid time off and remote work capabilities but are guilted into never using it. If you’re sick, you’re expected to work from home. There is no respect for employees time outside of work, thus we experience poor work life balance. Upper management doesn’t seem to realize or doesn’t care that most of their artists are burned out.

    Continue reading
    Fanatics2019-05-23
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Great place at first,but longtime organically grown poor managers and directors will bully and stifle new employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fanatics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount that’s about it

    Cons

    Long hours, zero work life balance, no appreciation, poor leadership from top level of accounting at Jax office. Divided line between old and new employees.

    Continue reading
    Fanatics2018-11-30
  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fanatics full-time

    Pros

    Good environment, good promotion opportunities

    Cons

    Varying hours, work life balance is slight concern

    Fanatics2018-10-14
Found 27 reviews