Fannie Mae Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Fannie Mae CEO Hugh Frater
Hugh Frater
60 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Talk of work/life balance not always reflective of reality(in 34 reviews)

  • "Uncertainty over government conservatorship status (now over 10 years)(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company but pockets of bad leadership"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fannie Mae full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Balance, pay, benefits, people, culture

    Cons

    Uncertainty, Several poor leaders

    Continue reading
    Fannie Mae2020-03-30
  2. "Social Media"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Media Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fannie Mae part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team and community of people

    Cons

    Direction of company and the leadership

    Fannie Mae2020-05-20
  3. "Nice place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fannie Mae full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work atmosphere, employee friendly.

    Cons

    Less growth opportunities for managers and beyond.

    Fannie Mae2020-05-17
  4. "Experienced Employee Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LOAN OPERATIONS SPECIALIST IV in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Fannie Mae full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Diverse community, opportunities to interact with internal and external customers veritically and horizontally, benefit package options,totally green work environment

    Cons

    paid parking, open concept setup, no privacy

    Continue reading
    Fannie Mae2020-05-13
  5. "Great work place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities Manager in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Fannie Mae full-time

    Pros

    multicultural environment is present at all levels

    Cons

    work - home balance is difficult

    Fannie Mae2020-05-09
  6. "Associate/Quantitative Engineer Experiance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantitative Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fannie Mae full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Stable company - Good work life balance - Good structure - Great management - Heavily endorses personal learning

    Cons

    - Company's median age is quite high, can feel distant from the team if you are a fresh graduate - Technology is a bit outdated (however, they are restructuring/updating their software and language as of right now)

    Continue reading
    Fannie Mae2020-05-05
  7. "better than most"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fannie Mae full-time

    Pros

    easy quasi-government , work, decent pay

    Cons

    below average morale, waves of turnover

    Fannie Mae2020-05-05
  8. "Good company but misguided middle management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fannie Mae full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, decent pay and great 401K match

    Cons

    A VERY political culture that often stifles innovation and becomes toxic at times. Also, "flexible work options" are available depending on who you are and how your manager feels about it - so not very flexible

    Continue reading
    Fannie Mae2020-05-16
  9. "Agile, Talented, Supportive and People First"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fannie Mae full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fannie Mae is by far, one of the best stops in my career journey. The company is agile, adaptive and results focused but does not compromise in terms of taking care of their people. Every day, I see great results from talented teams who work to make a difference. And especially in these unprecedented times, I see teams coming together with humility and respect for one another.

    Cons

    Lots of policy / procedure

    Continue reading
    Fannie Mae2020-04-30
  10. "Review"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Research Analyst in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Fannie Mae full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    No pros to working for them. The company takes complete advantage of its employees to generate billions of dollars daily.

    Cons

    No work life balance. Salaries and yearly raises are rare. The expectation is you just be the top employee to receive any yearly bonus or salary increase. It’s preferred for an individual to take a lateral position in order to grow within the company which equates to $0.

    Continue reading
    Fannie Mae2020-06-04
Found 1210 reviews