Cover image for Fantastic Sams
Logo

Fantastic Sams

Is this your company?

Fantastic Sams

Add a Review

Fantastic Sams Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 372 of over 381 reviews
2.9
39% Recommend to a Friend
29% Approve of CEO

Found 373 of over 381 reviews

2.9
39%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Fantastic Sams President and CEO John Costanza (no image)
John Costanza
36 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "low pay and fierd if you do not meet sales goals(in 26 reviews)
  • "No benefits and work weekends(in 19 reviews)
  • "Bad management super low deceiving pay scale there is no room to move up and have seen many people just barely start to quit after working there for 20+ years(in 17 reviews)
  • "Owners are terrible at communicating with employees and when told what is wrong with the salon, they blame the staff even though we have been understaffed for months and no manager for 3 weeks doing the best we can.(in 9 reviews)
  • "working on commission only was hard, especially when business was slow.(in 9 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Fantastic Sams and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    They want to help you succeed

    Aug 20, 2022 - Director of Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They are there for you and help anyone that needs it. There are multiple locations. Every salon has a different vibe so we can fit your personality. FS is a full service hair salon where you can make great money with the clientele there for you on day one.

    Cons

    Fantastic Sams doesn’t always have the best reputation in the eyes of experienced stylists. We have been working at changing that. There are to many people leaving our industry because they might not have been successful at their first salon. They don’t even think about checking us out. It’s a great place to be we just need to reach more hair professionals and get the work out about our changes.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    I do not recommend

    Dec 5, 2022 - Hairstylist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Steady paycheck It was a job

    Cons

    Bullies employees into covering shifts Does not schedule based on availability Favoritism Raises are nonexistent Owners recommend their friends to certain stylists while telling them to avoid others

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Fantastic Sams team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Nope

    Nov 16, 2022 - Stylist in Arvada, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to fold towels all day when it’s slow and not get paid for it

    Cons

    Took away base pay without warning, very confusing way for new stylists to get started in this industry and also very rude staff.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Controller

    Nov 3, 2022 - Controller 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic benefits, health and dental and life insurance. Flexible with great work, life balance.

    Cons

    None, the job and company were great

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great company to get your feet wet.

    Nov 2, 2022 - Stylist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hourly pay, incentive pay, high customer traffic.

    Cons

    Lower price point, higher volume of work.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Okay for starting out

    Oct 11, 2022 - Hair Stylist in Chesterfield, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Busy, training, bonuses, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Non-guaranteed hours, fluctuating pay scale,

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good for learning, Not for long term

    May 31, 2022 - Hair Stylist in Pensacola, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good experience, good tips if u bust out 10+ people per day

    Cons

    Long hours, rude impatient clients, you sign a non compete agreement meaning they can legally sue u if u tell clients where u are going when u leave because the clients belong to fantastic sams (my owner threatened me after I put in my notice), rarely make more than 42.5% commission, only same day appt, no benefits, no insurance...worked many salons in my many years and this was the most poorly ran chain I've ever worked for...this kind of salon is VERY hard on your body. I came home crying many nights from pain in my body and the grouchy clients wanting their $2 off discount off a $16 haircut...not worth it..owner was rude and not very encouraging. It was common for her to have a friend come in to get their hair done just so she could spy on us. Always had to walk on eggshells..girls in management have zero knowledge of doing hair. No room for advancement except"team leader.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    I felt like a work horse

    Sep 12, 2022 - Hair Stylist in Sandy, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Loved the girls I worked with.

    Cons

    Felt like a work horse. They expect quick work. Even with thick long hair clients.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Good

    Sep 16, 2022 - Hairstylist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Let's you do hair how you do hair

    Cons

    Quick to leave me alone in salon

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Not professional

    Nov 8, 2022 - Front Desk Receptionist in Detroit, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to meet new people

    Cons

    Chains treat you with very low respect

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 373 Reviews
</>Embed

Fantastic Sams Reviews FAQs

Fantastic Sams has an overall rating of 2.9 out of 5, based on over 381 reviews left anonymously by employees. 39% of employees would recommend working at Fantastic Sams to a friend and 19% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Fantastic Sams employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Fantastic Sams. This rating has improved by 7% over the last 12 months.

39% of Fantastic Sams employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Fantastic Sams 2.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.7 for culture and values and 2.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Fantastic Sams to be work life balance, career development, coworkers and the cons to be culture, management, benefits.

Popular Careers with Fantastic Sams Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Fantastic Sams? Share Your Experiences

Fantastic Sams logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Fantastic Sams Photos

+ Add Photo
Fantastic Sams photo of: Stonebridge outside
Fantastic Sams photo of: Come Join our Team

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Dessange

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Fantastic Sams Job Seekers Also Viewed

Great Clips Logo
Great Clips

3.9

3,195 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 381 Fantastic Sams reviews submitted anonymously by Fantastic Sams employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Fantastic Sams is right for you.