Far East Organization Reviews | Glassdoor

Far East Organization Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 145 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Far East Organization CEO Philip Ng Chee Tat
Philip Ng Chee Tat
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance is a huge issues here in FEO, where work is often flowed into your personal life be it week day after work & weekends(in 12 reviews)

  • "Not recommended for those who have family because of the long working hours and caused no work life balance(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    MBA Candidate in Saint Louis, MO

    I worked at Far East Organization for less than a year

    Pros

    Good collaborative environment and team work

    Cons

    Slow promotion. High value of seniority

    Far East Organization2016-11-14
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Company with a heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Far East Organization full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company truly values its employees which is shown by the wonderful benefits which it gives to the team members. Spouses and Parents are also entitled to the medical benefits.

    Cons

    Well we can also wish for more pay

    Continue reading
    Far East Organization2019-09-10
  3. "Best organization with grace, unity, integrity, diligence and the most important Love!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Restaurant Manager in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Far East Organization full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been working in Far East for about 7 years now and i never think to find another place to work. It's a great privilege to work in Far East Organization. From Top Executive to Operation Staff are all approachable and helpful. One thing i really happy is their Work and Life Balance and Sports program.

    Cons

    It's hard to think what are the downside of the organization as i am really happy working the group of people work as a team.

    Continue reading
    Far East Organization2019-09-05

    Far East Organization Response

    September 6, 2019Deputy Director

    Dear Colleague, We want you to know how much your words of encouragement mean to us. Thank you for sharing how being a part of Far East Organization has made a difference to you and your family. Our colleagues at the front line play an important role in bringing the brand of Far East Organization to life, and we thank you for your efforts and contributions in serving our customers. Please stop to say 'hi' if we should have the opportunity to meet at our restaurants or company events. Or drop me a line anytime if you would like to chat about any ideas you have on what we can do together to make Far East Organization an even better place for everyone. Thank you and regards, Tay Lay Kheng, Group Human Resources

    Continue reading
  4. "An organisation with a heart of gold"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Far East Organization full-time

    Pros

    An organisation with a long term perspective and a heart for its people. A place where relationships endure, and people cared for. Far East does not shout when doing good. A rare gem in a world that pays attention to corporate PR and branding.

    Cons

    As the organisation grows, it risks becoming more political. Environment can be impersonal.

    Continue reading
    Far East Organization2019-09-01

    Far East Organization Response

    September 6, 2019Deputy Director

    Dear Colleague, Thank you for taking time to share how our organisational values have connected with you. Your affirmation gives us encouragement to stay the course. All of us make a difference to the kind of workplace and environment we want to build. Let us work together to create a joyful, close-knit and inclusive community where grace and love is experienced by all. It will be great if we can connect to share our ideas. Do feel free to call or email me anytime . Thank you and regards, Tay Lay Kheng, Group Human Resources

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Work too hard no recognition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Executive in Orchard, Central
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Far East Organization full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Meet alot of guests and experience many things with them. Good medical benefits provided

    Cons

    No bonus for 6years and yet make us overbooked with such a low hotel rates just to help other sister's hotel occupancy

    Continue reading
    Far East Organization2019-08-27

    Far East Organization Response

    August 31, 2019Deputy Director

    Dear Colleague, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. Thank you too for your efforts in serving our guests and customers. We are encouraged that you find this a positive experience in your work. Our work is very much a part of our lives. We will work with our people managers to show more care and concern for the well-being of team members especially during times of high work demands. We encourage you to reach out to your HR Business Partner if you need support or assistance in any way. Please feel free to call or email me directly if you want to chat further. Thank you and regards, Tay Lay Kheng, Group Human Resources

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Manipulation of employee engagement survey in Group Internal Audit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auditor in Orchard, Central
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Far East Organization full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overtime is not required here in Group Internal Audit

    Cons

    In the process of achieving the best employer award, the HR department of FEO has no qualms going against the spirit of this competition. The Aon employee engagement survey is meant to be an anonymous and non-retaliating mechanism for employee feedback. Such surveys should allow employees to be able to comfortably provide their genuine and truthful feedback, in good faith, for the company's improvement. However, HR supports employees doing the surveys under managerial watchful eye in GIA dept. Individuals who provided any negative feedback, even though done in good faith, will face retaliation. E.g. In GIA, staff are demanded by the management in the department to disclose their survey results and even requested a print screen of the result as proof. The engagement survey results are good only because employees are fearful of management retaliation, but problems are still brewing underneath the surface. The constant high turnover in GIA is a testament of this and a toxic culture has already been deeply embedded within the department with no cure in sight.

    Continue reading
    Far East Organization2019-07-22

    Far East Organization Response

    July 26, 2019Deputy Director

    Far East Organization conducts an annual Colleague Engagement Survey to gather feedback and assess the progress of our efforts to create a conducive workplace for employees to grow and realise their potential. This survey is conducted on a confidential basis by an independent professional services firm. Individual responses can only be accessed by authorised personnel from this firm. No individual responses are shared with Far East Organization. All analysis and results are shared only at an aggregate level. The Aon Best Employer award is based on responses from all employees of the Organization. It is a recognition of the Organization’s efforts to understand and act on what engages our people. We thank you for your feedback and would like to assure you that we are fully committed to the integrity of the process. Regards. Tay Lay Kheng, Group Human Resources

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Full time employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Far East Organization full-time

    Pros

    good benefits/ privileges - travel benefits, long service award, special rates for accommodations, birthday OFF, sport or recreational activities etc

    Cons

    At times - lack of recognition from the management. Working hours can be quite long and possibly relook into their processes to improve productivity

    Far East Organization2019-07-05

    Far East Organization Response

    July 9, 2019Manager

    Dear Colleague, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We are glad to hear that our benefits programme works well for you. At Far East Organization, we take a holistic approach to the development and well-being of our people as we believe that our work is a part of our lives. We work to provide physical, social and spiritual support to our people and their families. We acknowledge that in our organisational journey, there will be areas where we can continue to make improvements. We invite you to join us in this endeavour. If you have any suggestions, please feel free to connect with your HR Business Partner, or drop us a line at cindyow@fareast.com.sg. Kind regards, Cindy Ow, Group Human Resources

    Continue reading
  8. "Promotion on hearsay and not merits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Far East Organization full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nothing quite much to say, beside good staff benefit. Local company trying to match MNC

    Cons

    Trying to get best employer by having HR pinning people in the background just to satisfy the CEO, as the CEO is drifting too far from the company. Bias when it comes to promotion, even putting lousy Senior managers on succession plan even if they are so bad at their work. Just because they are young and can talk? That’s really a bad thing for the future of the company. Either this place is so ignorant or they simply just want to have the managers that is easy to control gets promoted. Although there is a policy on office harassment, who cares about it? It’s only on paper, you can still hear shouting within the director’s room, they still think the own the staff, come on, staff are also parents and they deserve due respect right? Just because they need a job to bring back the food on the table, that does not reduce them to worthless. Worst when they compliant, not only the issue is not resolved, everyone just advice us to quit if you don’t like.... then why have such policy? For outside world to see??? Christian enterprise is a good thing however, it the people that brings shame to the organization, For those who agrees with me, please like this as much as you can and ask your friend to read and react to this. Let’s see if this case is being looked at carefully

    Continue reading
    Far East Organization2019-08-04

    Far East Organization Response

    August 7, 2019Deputy Director

    Dear Colleague, We read with concern your comments in this review. At Far East Organization, our staff members, regardless of organisational seniority, are held to a code of conduct that expresses responsible actions and behaviour in alignment with the Organization’s values, standards, and operating philosophy. We have established channels to support staff members in providing feedback in a truthful, open and constructive manner. All feedback is looked into. If we can be of assistance in addressing your concerns, do contact us at taylk@fareast.com.sg. Thank you. Tay Lay Kheng, Group Human Resources

    Continue reading
  9. "Best Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Far East Organization full-time

    Pros

    Great leaders and team mates

    Cons

    Pros override the cons.

    Far East Organization2019-06-25

    Far East Organization Response

    July 9, 2019Manager

    Dear Colleague, Thank you for taking time to leave a review. Your positive experience encourages us and eggs us on to do even more to build our community of love and workplace of grace at Far East Organization. A Best Employer is made up of Best Employees, and we thank you for your efforts and contributions in this journey. Kind regards, Cindy Ow, Group Human Resources

    Continue reading
  10. "HR Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Far East Organization full-time

    Pros

    Great career prospect and great team

    Cons

    Location is not good enough

    Far East Organization2019-06-22
Found 145 reviews