Fareportal "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor

Fareportal Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated May 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Fareportal CEO Sam Jain
Sam Jain
380 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "But off curse their is few small thing like no work from home etc(in 25 reviews)

  • "No cons, but yes no appreciation from higher management(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (19)

    "IT Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fareportal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work ethics Good benefits 3 Summer Fridays (half-day) Lot of growth opportunities Good compensation

    Cons

    No work from home policy

    Advice to Management

    So far all is good

    Fareportal2016-06-29
  2. Helpful (24)

    "Avoid if you're a software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fareportal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Decent benefits - Some great people - Good work/life balance

    Cons

    - 90% of software development is done in India. A select few are talented, but most are script kiddies at best - Attempts to follow Agile, to the point that it's essentially waterfall sprints - Extremely poor technology usage (doesn't follow TDD or use modern engineering practices/technology) - Lots of politics and top down "ideas" outside of their expertise - No work from home policy/very little PTO/almost no... holidays - Internet access is restricted to the point you feel like a child because even .edu sites are blocked

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Figure out how to cut through the bureaucracy and eliminate the petty politics! Figure out shared KPIs across teams that are actually achievable. Use your data properly and accurately. Listen to experts in their fields instead of just people outside of their talent area who happen to have been at the company a long time. Get talented engineers in your HQ in NY and allow them to collaborate and work together... rather than having them dictate projects to India. Upgrade your infrastructure and technology assets! You guys have potential, but it's a miserable environment for an engineer.

    Show More
    Fareportal2018-02-09
  3. Helpful (28)

    "Run away quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fareportal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, very casual dress code. Fruit and cereal in the kitchen. I wish I could add more pros but unfortunately there aren't any to add.

    Cons

    Where do I begin? Benefits package is very expensive and medical is in network only, life insurance is not comparable to other companies, no 401k match, minimal vacation time, office open on Presidents' Day, no work from home policy. They say they want change but don't accept new ideas. Management does whatever they want without regard to anyone. Office needs to be updated. Most websites are blocked so you can't... even do your job efficiently.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Update your systems, trust your employees to work from home. Create processes. Say what you mean and follow through. Other companies of this size offer more generous benefits and the vacation time should be more. How can we benefit from the travel perks if we don't have enough time off to enjoy them.

    Fareportal2017-02-25
  4. Helpful (21)

    "Fastest growing travel technology company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technology in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fareportal for more than 5 years

    Pros

    We are one of the fastest growing travel technology companies in the world; our portfolio of travel brands, including flagship product CheapOair, receives over 100 million visitors annually. Fareportal offers a plethora of travel products such as Booking Engines for flight, cars, hotels, vacations, events and activities and mobile apps. We use the latest, cutting edge technologies to produce one of the fastest... loading and high converting travel websites.

    Show More

    Cons

    Continue to work on departmental alignment. Improve work from home policy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to employees and build engagement to improve.

    Fareportal2016-06-28
  5. Helpful (21)

    "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fareportal full-time

    Pros

    I joined Fareportal a few months ago and have enjoyed my time here so far. Management acknowledges your hard work and is open to discuss growth opportunities with you. I already have more responsibilities and it's only been a few months. Also, the people here are very friendly.

    Cons

    No 401K match Office decor needs work No option to work from home Not everyone receives a laptop

    Fareportal2016-06-27
  6. Helpful (20)

    "Technological Jewel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fareportal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a lot of smart people in the company, and so much to learn from them. Any topic can be answered in any department. Great learning place. On top of this, projects can be really challenging and ask for innovation. A lot of room for the growth. Travel is really exciting business to be in, and technology is what's driving the company. Nice perks like meditation, fitness, and other similar free activities.... Free occasional lunches and treats, and stiff table tennis players to hang with.

    Show More

    Cons

    Keeping track of all projects in the company and having enough resources for them is a challenge. There is no 401K match, and no work from home, even in tech department.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the communication with employees, and listen their needs.

    Fareportal2016-07-01
  7. Helpful (11)

    "A once great company that is plummeting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fareportal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people you work with are some of the best people I've ever worked with. Very casual dress code and hours are pretty much what you want. Fair amount of paid days off

    Cons

    - No work from home policy - Summer Friday's are only 3 for the whole summer - The restrictions on the Internet are so tight it makes it difficult to even do your job. - They recently got rid of Microsoft office. Yes you read that correctly. - Upper management is completely incompetent. I once sent an email that was 97 words long and was asked to "Send again in a new email as there is too much to review here." -... Paranoia and fear of the CEO run this company now. - Very little direction of what the company is looking to accomplish. Absolutely no guidance from the immediate manager (singular) of the entire marketing division.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You've got a great talent acquisition team that despite all the negative reviews, below average pay, and sub optimal benefits STILL somehow manage to attract amazing talent. Stop hamstringing the talent being hired and making it impossible for them to do their jobs by putting up roadblocks at every turn. Hire more mid level managers and have them coordinate with each other to get marketing on the same page. It's... totally silo'ed out right now. Stop treating the team in India like second class citizens. They aren't outsourced from a data center. They are FP employees who are also intelligent and when you take away basic needs (I.e. Not letting them gchat with New York or have their cell phones on their person in the office) you are making our lives and theirs miserable. I doubt this advice will be listened to so the shorter answer is sell the company to Priceline Group or Expedia and let an experienced travel company take over and untangle the mess you created.

    Show More
    Fareportal2016-06-29
  8. Helpful (22)

    "Bureaucratic Circus....Don't even try"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Development Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fareportal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At its heyday, lots of cool technical problems to solve. Some of them are really talented people.

    Cons

    The HR is big lying factory. They can lie on their teeth. HR can beat any politician in the world. In technology they have created so many different teams and the salary structure is never seen in the history of any company. The senior leadership is puppet. They are just getting their pay and saying yes to every damn thing their CEO says. No transparency!!! Work from home is only for selected few who are parrots of... CEO.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Act on the feedback you are getting instead of making just false promises. Please take a good look in the mirror and see that you are horrible and unfair to your employees and they are to afraid to say anything.

    Fareportal2016-01-28
  9. Helpful (23)

    "Shady Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fareportal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers here have been great. Manageable work-life balance.

    Cons

    Pretty much everything else. The company will take advantage of you if you let them regarding pay and vacation. Sam, the CEO, does not believe in investing in employees. The result of that becomes crappy and expensive health benefits, low employee morale, no merit increases, some lies, and a recent bed bug issue. No work from home option. There is no real 401K, so HR should stop telling people we have a 401K... as a benefit. The reason I say this is because it does not match, at all. A 401K that has no match, is useless, stop selling it as a benefit. There is no true benefit to using the pre-tax benefit for my commute costs. Having the ability for Transitchek is by law because the company has more than 20 employees in NYC. If I wanted to obtain the same benefit, I would include it in my taxes during tax season. The company has a severe communication issue and this is because HR does not take control of the problem by communicating on management's behalf and rely on managers telling it for them. For those who work with Sam, good luck getting a word in that is not a response to a question he asks. He is a bit rude too as he has no care what you have to say, because it's obviously important to hear only what he says. He's also a bit of an idiot too as he'll contradict himself with his actions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Senior Management is really out of touch with the reality of their workplace. You won't give the merit increases to your current employees, but you'll keep hiring new employees with high salaries. There is a reason that a lot of people are leaving lately, and it will continue until the CEO finally decides to make a true investment in his employees. You need to upgrade your health benefits, provide a work from... home option, provide merit increases before hiring more people, give better compensation instead of low balling people because you can, and re-vamp the commute cost by possibly paying for it altogether. I left this company because my total compensation was terrible.

    Show More
    Fareportal2015-11-25
  10. Helpful (21)

    "Why is Fareportal a great place to work?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fareportal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    When I think about what qualities make a company a great place to work, the words- “Opportunity, Reward, Complexity, Autonomy, Community, and Flexibility” comes to mind. I work for Fareportal for several years and have found the experience to be rewarding, challenging, and extremely fulfilling. Over the past years, I have had the opportunity to contribute to the company’s growth and success. As employees, we... are given the opportunity to learn and grow as well as the autonomy to innovate and make a difference. Management recognizes and rewards hard work. Our leaders are passionate about travel as well as technology; and this passion is contagious for employees that are interested in learning and growing within their respective careers. We also have some exceptionally smart and talented employees. All of these attributes make Fareportal a great place to work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Fareportal scores 100% on each quality listed above with the exception of Flexibility. A work from home policy needs to be in place so that we can retain our talented employees.

    Fareportal2015-08-19
Found 25 reviews