Fareportal "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Fareportal Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Fareportal CEO Sam Jain
Sam Jain
376 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "But off curse their is few small thing like no work from home etc(in 25 reviews)

  • "No cons, but yes no appreciation from higher management(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (14)

    "Interesting; never a dull day at FP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fareportal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Office is in the heart of the city. Variety of people at the office, that's fun. Everyone is awesome here, I am proud to work here! You can have all the coffee/tea you want while you're working, that's always great, saves you money.. Overall, everyone is a catalyst for change here, and the experience is what you make it. Ideas are always welcome and that's always needed in order to become greater! This is a great... company.

    Show More

    Cons

    No work place is perfect, nor roses and rainbows so I would say that here at FP, benefits can be better. Including work/life balance. Disorganization, work structure, lack of communication sometimes makes things difficult to get done.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your team how you would like to be treated, and this place will continue to grow and be greater. Innovation and initiative is key. Implement team work, and team building. What you bring to the table is what your team will bring also.

    Fareportal2016-02-15
  2. Helpful (24)

    "Avoid if you're a software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fareportal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Decent benefits - Some great people - Good work/life balance

    Cons

    - 90% of software development is done in India. A select few are talented, but most are script kiddies at best - Attempts to follow Agile, to the point that it's essentially waterfall sprints - Extremely poor technology usage (doesn't follow TDD or use modern engineering practices/technology) - Lots of politics and top down "ideas" outside of their expertise - No work from home policy/very little PTO/almost no... holidays - Internet access is restricted to the point you feel like a child because even .edu sites are blocked

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Figure out how to cut through the bureaucracy and eliminate the petty politics! Figure out shared KPIs across teams that are actually achievable. Use your data properly and accurately. Listen to experts in their fields instead of just people outside of their talent area who happen to have been at the company a long time. Get talented engineers in your HQ in NY and allow them to collaborate and work together... rather than having them dictate projects to India. Upgrade your infrastructure and technology assets! You guys have potential, but it's a miserable environment for an engineer.

    Show More
    Fareportal2018-02-09
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Marketing Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fareportal for more than a year

    Pros

    Location is a plus, also met some incredible co-workers who will stay connected for a life-time. Work-life balance at the time was pretty good; for a while, no one was even let go from the company, making Fareportal a very good decision for those looking for a bit more security.

    Cons

    The reason we connected was the company culture: low pay, lots of politics, low quality of benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Unless things have changed, there were a lot of justifiably unhappy people at this company. I think management should have a better plan on growing teams, performance reviews, and salary adjustments.

    Fareportal2016-07-06
  4. Helpful (23)

    "Shady Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fareportal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers here have been great. Manageable work-life balance.

    Cons

    Pretty much everything else. The company will take advantage of you if you let them regarding pay and vacation. Sam, the CEO, does not believe in investing in employees. The result of that becomes crappy and expensive health benefits, low employee morale, no merit increases, some lies, and a recent bed bug issue. No work from home option. There is no real 401K, so HR should stop telling people we have a 401K... as a benefit. The reason I say this is because it does not match, at all. A 401K that has no match, is useless, stop selling it as a benefit. There is no true benefit to using the pre-tax benefit for my commute costs. Having the ability for Transitchek is by law because the company has more than 20 employees in NYC. If I wanted to obtain the same benefit, I would include it in my taxes during tax season. The company has a severe communication issue and this is because HR does not take control of the problem by communicating on management's behalf and rely on managers telling it for them. For those who work with Sam, good luck getting a word in that is not a response to a question he asks. He is a bit rude too as he has no care what you have to say, because it's obviously important to hear only what he says. He's also a bit of an idiot too as he'll contradict himself with his actions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Senior Management is really out of touch with the reality of their workplace. You won't give the merit increases to your current employees, but you'll keep hiring new employees with high salaries. There is a reason that a lot of people are leaving lately, and it will continue until the CEO finally decides to make a true investment in his employees. You need to upgrade your health benefits, provide a work from... home option, provide merit increases before hiring more people, give better compensation instead of low balling people because you can, and re-vamp the commute cost by possibly paying for it altogether. I left this company because my total compensation was terrible.

    Show More
    Fareportal2015-11-25
  5. Helpful (22)

    "The company is a disaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fareportal full-time

    Pros

    Good location Good work life balance Free flight tickets at the annual Christmas party. However these are only given to a select few Quarterly bonus

    Cons

    No trust in employees No work from home No wifi Worst benefits package in the market They also want to take away our cell phones once we enter the office HR is completely dysfunctional. The only job they do right is to see if the employees clock in and clock out on time. (Exempt full time employees are also required to clock in and clock out) In 2014, they gave the employees 3 weeks vacation and 5 sick days. However..., they have still not updated the vacation days in the system. If the employee realizes that he/she is accruing at a lower rate and emails the HR. That is when he/she will be awarded the additional days. This is how the company functions. This is a lawsuit in the waiting. The company is full of dishonest and incompetent middle managers. Most of the good people have left the company. The employees remaining are the ones who need a visa to stay in the country. They have had way too many bad hires and with these kind of reviews on glassdoor, I doubt good people will be making a career at Fareportal. No raises were given to employees who were in the July review cycle

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Revamp the organization. Correct hiring mistakes.

    Fareportal2015-11-15
  6. "It was really good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Web Developer Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fareportal for less than a year

    Pros

    work-life balance, culture, people, company values.

    Cons

    compensation, time-off policies, can't find any other

    Fareportal2014-03-24
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good with Employee but pathetic in terms of Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Tech Lead in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fareportal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance Salary on time Cab but Paid Employee Centric Organisation Transparency

    Cons

    Old people with No knowledge of latest tech Fear to use latest Tech Technical person can loose their skills working on decade old Tech Devops decide which technology to use for technical team which is the first company to do that.Since they don't have ability to handle new tech provided by Technical Team. Database teams decide which NoSql to implement and impose their decision on Technical Team. Business oriented... company One thing comes again and again to implement with different colors.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Being a Techie every technical employee wants to grow and wants to be updated in market. Please do analysis with your competitor which tech stack they are using to impress the customers

    Fareportal2019-08-16
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fareportal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance with good salary package

    Cons

    timing issue in winter, no work from home

    Advice to Management

    Everything is good

    Fareportal2019-05-27
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pune
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fareportal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Place to work... Nice management

    Cons

    Nothing to say.. except there should be good work/Life balance

    Fareportal2019-05-10
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Employee Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fareportal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance and enjoy my time here

    Cons

    No cons, but yes no appreciation from higher management

    Fareportal2019-01-29
Found 25 reviews