Farfetch Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Farfetch CEO José Neves
José Neves
261 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Human, global, nimble"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farfetch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Values-led, innovative, fantastic industry. Small enough that everyone can still "know (almost) everyone,"but big enough for career development/variety

    Cons

    Speed valued over absolute perfection. Not a bad thing, but sometimes leads to re-work.

    Continue reading
  2. "Ops"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Support Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Farfetch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility with work, projects, culture

    Cons

    Scheduling due to global needs, pay could be more competitive

    Continue reading

    Farfetch Response

    July 29, 2020Global Employer Brand Executive

    We appreciate your feedback, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're pleased to read your comments about our flexible working environment and culture. We're committed to rewarding our people fairly and competitively for their brilliant work. Additionally, our recently launched GO FAR framework will provide more transparency and clarity to this process.


  3. "Operations @ Farfetch"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farfetch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Work Life Balance US-base Executive team is fantastic

    Cons

    Tech Dependency on Portuguese Tech Teams Limited Career Opportunities

    Farfetch Response

    July 28, 2020Global Employer Brand Executive

    Thank you for your review. We're proud to offer Farfetchers a flexible working environment so it's great to hear about your positive work-life balance. We're committed to providing our people with greater clarity about career development opportunities through our new GO FAR framework so we hope that this will continue to improve your experience with us.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "My favorite job in 25 years"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Workforce Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farfetch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    With how large and complex the operation is, there is always something new and exciting to work on, there are always challenges to figure out. The majority of decisions are made with the company values in mind which are a great guiding light that have helped the company maintain it's culture and pace of growth. Our CEO says "culture eats strategy for breakfast." The company and it's leaders actually listen to the feedback that is provided in the biannual employee surveys and regularly implement programs around that feedback. I've been here 4 years and I've seen so many improvements; compensation (both in wages and stock), time off (increase in base time off and addition of paid volunteer time off), development, a month long sabbatical available to employees who've been here 5 years, metro benefits, etc. Every year things gets better. I've seen people leave the company unhappy with the state of affairs only to regret the decision soon after when they realize how different Farfetch is from most companies. Several have returned for this reason. The average age of employees does skew younger so they may lack the perspective that comes with the experience of working for many different companies. Those who do tend to be delighted when they learn how different Farfetch actually is and that it's not just buzzword recruiting tactics. The hiring choices that are being made at managerial and executive levels and the acquisitions that have been made all speak to the long term plan our CEO has developed. The office is amazing - I love coming in to work every day. The views from my desk, the lunch tables, the meeting rooms are all amazing. Office Management is very responsive to needs. I've had the opportunity to work, on a regular basis, with people in offices in at least 6 different countries. Truly the most global company I've ever worked for.

    Cons

    1. The pace of growth is at times difficult to keep up with (but that's also part of the appeal). If you like working for a company where you can just come in and do your job and punch out, you might last but you certainly won't grow. Promotions and department transfers are competitive, as they should be - tenure alone will get you nowhere which some people have a hard time accepting. 2. Way too many emails. As with most companies, cross department communication is a challenge which some departments seem to have addressed with more and more emails. I could easily spend 30% of my day reading and responding to emails so one needs to develop a personal strategy for this. I'm not sure how to get around this, though. Slack certainly hasn't helped as that's just another channel one needs to manage, and that takes up more precious time. 3. Some of the technology we use that was developed in-house is buggy and the pace of development/improvement on that front is lacking. I understand that there is limited budget and tons of different priorities, but I don't think all the departments have the same customer in mind. Thankfully this seems to be improving, albeit rather slowly. Not really a con since in some cases it would be impossible, but worth mentioning; some development opportunities only exist in UK or Portugal. I've seen numerous people move from their home country to London or Portugal to take the next step, but that's not an option for some. Working here will certainly prepare you for the next step in your career, though.

    Continue reading

    Farfetch Response

    April 23, 2020Global Employer Brand Executive

    Wow, thank you so much for your positive and detailed review. This is really valuable feedback to help us continue to improve and build our world-class company. We love to know that this is your favourite job in 25 years! We truly believe that at Farfetch you can do what's never been done and make an impact, so it's great to read your comments around our exciting and challenging work and growth opportunities. We also really appreciate your comments around our response to our employee surveys and the improvements we've made as a result of listenting to our people's feedback. With regard to some of your constructive feedback, we totally agree that the fast-paced nature of our business isn't for everyone and we make sure to highlight this through our transparent hiring process. We also understand your concerns about communication, we're working hard to improve our global internal communication strategy to improve consistency and transparency so we'll take onboard your feedback. Thank you.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "All that glitters ain't gold"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Advisor in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Farfetch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy work. Stacked kitchen. Nice office space. Catered lunch

    Cons

    Management has no idea what they are doing. You are promoted based of likeability. Hostile work environment. Terrible catered lunches, never ate them. Constant threats of disciplinary action. Horrible customers. During peak management does not care about your sanity. They think 16/hr is a sustainable income for living in Los Angeles. Over worked. Time micro managed.

    Continue reading

    Farfetch Response

    January 9, 2020Global Employer Brand Executive

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review. We're very sorry to hear your negative feedback and we would like to address some of your comments. All of our Managers globally receive Management Training to make sure they are equipped to lead their teams to success. We have recently launched Go Far, our new career development framework, to provide greate clarity for Farfetchers around their career paths and compensation. And finally, we truly care about our people and their well-being and we're very sorry to hear that this wasn't your experience. We'll take on board your feedback and continue to improve for the future.

  6. Helpful (5)

    "Customer Service - Los Angeles"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Farfetch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family lunch every Wednesday. Work events Snacks Nice office Employee discount

    Cons

    Overworked & Underpaid. Draining back to back phone calls that never end. Unrealistic expectations Timed bathroom breaks. High school like environment. No culture. Scammed out of bonus.

    Continue reading

    Farfetch Response

    August 16, 2019Global Employer Brand Executive

    Thank you - it's really important for us to receive your honest feedback. We're happy to hear about some of the great benefits you experienced as part of our team but we're sorry to hear your negative feedback. We work hard to make sure that every Farfetcher feels valued and autonomous in their role and we're sorry that this wasn't your experience. We'll continue to work on this and improve for the future.

  7. "Amazing Company, Work / Life Balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farfetch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Have never had a strong work / life balance before coming to Farfetch. The company respects their employees. I was promoted in just over a year, and have strong relationships with every level of management and other teams in my office.

    Cons

    I am very happy at Farfetch, but it is a fast moving company and things are changing quickly, so teams must be nimble and forward thinking. This is what makes it exciting though!

    Farfetch Response

    May 7, 2019Global Employer Brand Executive

    Thanks for your review! Making sure that Farfetchers are happy both in and outside of work is really important to us, so we're grateful for your feedback. We totally agree with you that things can change quickly and that you need to be agile. We highlight and assess this throughout our hiring process to make sure that we're hiring people who will thrive in our fast-moving environment. Let's keep doing what's never been done!

  8. Helpful (16)

    "Run run run away from this place!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Farfetch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The only few pros is that you get health benefits and catered lunch once a week

    Cons

    - no room for career advancement - supervisors and HR practice nepotism - archaic tools and they do not improve them - micro-management right down to monitoring restroom breaks - no yearly bonus is granted if the company has ONE bad quarter during the year - VERY LOW PAY - back to back phone calls - high turn over rate - no transparency or communication from management

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Customer Service Advisor in Los Angeles"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Farfetch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Family Lunch on Wednesdays -Generous benefits such as birthday paid time off & paid time off for volunteer work -Stocked kitchen with fresh fruits and coffee -Beautiful & brand new office in Downtown Los Angeles

    Cons

    -Little to zero opportunity for growth/career advancement when starting at the bottom as a Customer Service Advisor. -This place of work is the perfect fit for someone who is only looking to pay their rent and have a little bit leftover. -This job will consume and drain you of any leftover energy to pursue other endeavors as this position requires you to rotate between three different schedules (8-5, 9-6, 11-8) and require you to also work weekends and sometimes overtime. -Simply put, there is just much more work than there are employees so this department will constantly be scrambling to fill the position just to get the work done. -Be aware that there is no such thing as seniority in this department at Farfetch. You can dedicate two years of your working life here and you will still be on the same level as the new hires who have been there for two weeks. -Turnover rate is extremely high. I have worked multiple customer service positions, from bank corporations to retail furniture to now luxury retail and can confirm this is the worst case I've seen. -There is no recognition and/or appreciation for those who choose to stay despite the hostile environment. -Morale is so low in this department yet management still finds it okay to micromanage and push their employees to meet quotas or else risk losing their job. -At the end of the day, you will still have a job so my advice is, do not kill yourself by pushing to meet their minimum requirements. Just relax and do what you can. -Ultimately, your paycheck will not change nor will you receive a bonus for exceeding your quota. -Lastly, do not take this job if you have not already accepted the fact that this is as far as you will get in terms of career growth with this company.

    Continue reading

    Farfetch Response

    June 26, 2019Global Employer Brand Executive

    Thanks for your review and your positive feedback about our generous benefits and office environment! We're sorry to receive your negative comments and we'll be sure to use your feedback to continue to make improvements for the future. With regard to career development, we're working hard to make sure that every Farfetcher has a rewarding and inspiring journey with us. We're also passionate about making sure that our people are happy at work. In our most recent engagement survey, we received an 84% happiness rating. This means that 84% of our global Farfetchers indicated that they felt overall passion, satisfaction and connection in the workplace. We're sorry this hasn't been your experience so far but we'll continue to work hard to make Farfetch a happy place to work to hopefully improve your experience with us.

  10. Helpful (4)

    "Customer Service Advisor"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Farfetch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great View from Office located in the heart of downtown la. Great employee discount for first purchase.

    Cons

    Again located in the heart of downtown la which means heavy traffic volume. High turnover, unstable schedules, leadership is not informed of policies and will be quick to shift the blame on associates. Focused more on numbers than quality. High stress with very low pay. But everybody wears designer so you would never know.

    Continue reading

    Farfetch Response

    June 26, 2019Global Employer Brand Executive

    Thank you for your feedback. We're proud of our amazing global offices and the great benefits and perks we offer our people! We're sorry to hear your negative comments; we work hard to provide our employees with a brilliant place to work through our inspiring mission, inclusive culture and competitive salary offer. We're committed to fostering a culture of conscious inclusion and equality through our policies and processes.

Found 366 reviews