Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan Reviews | Glassdoor

Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Wayne H. Wood
20 Ratings
  1. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for. New CEO will be excellent for the organization.

    Cons

    Employment can vary from one area to the next.

    Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan2018-05-23
  2. "Insurance Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great initial compensation package that really helps you launch a successful agency. Company offers lots of sales support but you need basic business administration knowledge to do well. Meet the goals and it's hard not to succeed. The rates in many areas are very competitive which makes it easier to grow quickly.

    Cons

    Insurance sales is generally tough to start from scratch. Initially, you'll work long hours to build your business fast. If you fall behind on your initial contract goals it's extremely difficult to catch back up. Don't fall behind.

    Advice to Management

    Although it's getting better there is still a lot of room to improve the resources and technology in place to help the sales force.

    Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan2018-05-14
  3. "Best place I’ve ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    It’s a big family with down to earth people working together. Great work/life balance. Plenty of opportunities to grow. Michigan based company.

    Cons

    Technology is very dated but is moving in the right direction. Change doesn’t happen overnight but is happening. Bright future!

    Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan2018-04-20
  4. "Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent 

    I have been working at Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great Support Staff and company to work for

    Cons

    Hard work will pay off

    Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan2018-03-16
  5. "Home office temp pool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan full-time

    Pros

    -nice people -laid back work environment

    Cons

    - they aren't exactly up to date with technology -sometimes people are slow

    Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan2018-02-06
  6. "Not the worst not best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lansing, MI
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Decent Pay Good Management in my department Potential Bonus

    Cons

    Some co-workers New in house application which is affecting all areas of the business Help Desk not a part of IT

    Advice to Management

    Like I said not a horrible place to work and I worked with a lot of good people, but personally half my team was dead weight and the work load would fall on the rest of us. These I speak of were rude and disrespectful when ever approached them for a favor I would just be shut down. The same people who preached the "Team Environment" were the most selfish lazy individuals. They would continually ask for help after the...

    Show More
    Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan2018-02-13
  7. "Property and Casualty Solicitor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan

    Pros

    Boss was awesome and flexible, gave me an hourly salary and commission on top of that for whatever I sold.

    Cons

    I worked off a lead generation program so sometimes I ran out of things to do.

    Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan2018-01-10
  8. "positive work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities. Can work your way up in the organization.

    Cons

    Can be old school in thinking Can take on too many projects without recognizing impacts on others

    Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan2017-12-27
  9. "Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Home office employees are amazing. really good products and coverages

    Cons

    They only care about life insurance. All bonuses and commission rates are tied to life insurance policies sold. You can 0 p&c policies and be employed forever if you hit the life numbers. Life Insurance sales quotas are disproportionately high. Not all agents are captive. Agents treated very different. Technology is ancient

    Advice to Management

    Actually support the agents you recruit, not just those that you pick as stand-outs. Understand your market, your customers, and don't play favorites/break rules for favorites.

    Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan2018-01-16
  10. "Claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan full-time

      Pros

      Great group of people work at MFB.

      Cons

      The culture has political leanings.

      Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan2017-11-13
    Found 44 reviews