Farmers Insurance Group Agent Reviews | Glassdoor

Farmers Insurance Group Agent Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
35%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Farmers Insurance Group CEO Jeff Dailey
Jeff Dailey
120 Ratings
  1. "Great business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent in Suwanee, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great staff, loyal agent (boss), takes care of his employees and clients, goes above and beyond to make you feel good.

    Cons

    9-6 hours, so traffic is the only downfall to working here

    Farmers Insurance Group2019-11-13
  2. "Friendly agents bad product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Richmond Hill, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High Commission base plus good friendly bosses

    Cons

    Product lacks home estimates too low a d requires 2 not 1 mile from water corporate messes with prices midterm

    Farmers Insurance Group2020-01-17
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Tough to stay consistent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Agent 

    I have been working at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When you find the right fit for a client the numbers are generally pretty competitive.

    Cons

    They desire an extremely clean book when it comes to clients which makes it hard to compete with clients who may have a driving infraction, less than perfect credit or a non-homeowner.

    Advice to Management

    The initial surge into the state was fast and furious and since then has slowed dramatically(understandably so). However, the changing in commission payouts gets frustrating, so my advice would be more transparency. Also renewal increases are immediate and never-ending, so a different model would be helpful for customer retention and easing the pressure on the agents.

    Farmers Insurance Group2020-01-08
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Agent 

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group full-time

    Pros

    It was a decent place to work

    Cons

    Not too many cons I can think of

    Farmers Insurance Group2020-01-06
  6. "Not a bad company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Agent 

    I have been working at Farmers Insurance Group full-time

    Pros

    Plenty of resources available to agents

    Cons

    Rates are all over the place at times

    Farmers Insurance Group2020-01-03
  7. "Good company lots of resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Insurance Sales Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group for more than a year

    Pros

    They offer leads and different incentive programs

    Cons

    They’re rates are constantly going up which make it hard to retain business

    Farmers Insurance Group2019-12-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Think really hard before joining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Agent in Central, CA

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Can be profitable, training is great

    Cons

    They state your are an independent contractor, but treat you like an employee

    Advice to Management

    You've lost that loving feeling.

    Farmers Insurance Group2019-11-08
  9. "Decent place to start your Insurance career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Agent in Evansville, IN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Training and support to get your Insurance Agency Career started.

    Cons

    Be careful of contract details. As with most captive insurance company contracts, it's all about selling Life Insurance to ensure you are in good standing. Auto and Home is an afterthought.

    Farmers Insurance Group2019-10-06
  10. "Great Company History"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Laguna Niguel, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice group of to work with

    Cons

    no marketing other than sell to family members

    Advice to Management

    Merge with a computer savvy firm

    Farmers Insurance Group2019-09-23
  11. "Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Farmers Insurance Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a Great Business Opportunity

    Cons

    Limited Target Market; Premium Insurance

    Advice to Management

    Inform potential hires of target market

    Farmers Insurance Group2019-09-27
Found 323 reviews