Farmers Insurance Group Claims Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Claims Representative

Farmers Insurance Group Claims Representative Reviews

Updated Jan 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
35%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Farmers Insurance Group CEO Jeff Dailey
Jeff Dailey
73 Ratings
  1. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Claims Representative in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, culture, good pay, good people

    Cons

    Long hours, schedule can be unpredictable at times

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Farmers Insurance Group2020-01-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Diversity hire placed under microscope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Workers Compensation Claims Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company has a very progressive mission statement. They company offers great medical, dental and vision benefits. There are some lovely people working as Claims and Customer Service representatives. You get access to Farmers Federal Credit Union which offers amazing benefits.

    Cons

    The company is more focused on it's bottom line rather than paying out their claims. The salaries offered are not competitive. The companies emphasis on diversity is a great public relations ploy but is not practiced in their day to day operations. The company actively promotes work/life balance in theory but then assigns caseloads that make it impossible to work just 40 hrs a week and stay current. The company has departments that actively perpetrate discriminatory practices and takes disciplinary actions based upon stereo types and racial profiling. I personally experienced discrimination and witnessed ageism within the department in which I worked.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Provide better support to your employees. Provide adequate training and opportunities for licensing to employees. Promote diversity not just in press releases and PR photo opportunities but also in day to day operations.

    Farmers Insurance Group2019-12-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Its okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Representative in Olathe, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They let you work from home 2 days a week, vacation days increase as you are there

    Cons

    They don't seem to value technical expertise or people good at their job and seem to overvalue talkers & those trying to become managers or supervisors

    Farmers Insurance Group2019-10-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Coworkers - Typical Corporate Job Passed That"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tier II Claims Representative in Olathe, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You work with a lot of really wonderful people. Benefits are great. Pay is great. Flexible scheduling.

    Cons

    Volume is way too high. Unattainable expectations are set. We're literally set up for failure day in/day out. Managers constantly changing.

    Advice to Management

    Have consistency on the floor - one mgr says does one thing and another say does another. It's so frustrating with how much movement there is.

    Farmers Insurance Group2019-10-12
  5. "Good training hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Claims Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training programs, ability to flex hours, helpful supervisors and co workers

    Cons

    The workload will become unmanageable

    Advice to Management

    can’t think of any

    Farmers Insurance Group2019-10-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Ghosted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Representative in Overland Park, KS
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have insurance experience Pay appeared decent

    Cons

    The last time I worked for them I had to apply for 9 different positions before I was hired for a beginner role and that was after working with them for 5yrs and they paying for my college degree.

    Advice to Management

    It’s time to monitor your recruiters. It’s evident they don’t follow performance based hiring and now after trying to get back in with the company one of your recruiters has ghosted me. They left me a voice message and an email. I called back and left a voice message and followed up with an email and I received absolutely zero response. I guess it’s a sign Farmers hasn’t changed. You expect good customer service but management lacks it.

    Show More
    Farmers Insurance Group2019-11-02
  7. "Get ready to relocate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, competent middle management, good salary range.

    Cons

    Need to be able to relocate through company consolidation process without relocation benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Consider the impact to your loyal staff and reciprocate it.

    Farmers Insurance Group2019-09-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Liability Claims Representative 

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group full-time

    Pros

    Good pay Great workers Good benefits

    Cons

    Overload work Dealing with difficult people sometimes

    Farmers Insurance Group2019-09-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Representative in Brainerd, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and encouraging management.

    Cons

    initial training was lacking, did not explain job fully.

    Advice to Management

    Training needs to be longer and more in depth

    Farmers Insurance Group2019-08-16
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Not great unless you are in a state with a hub"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Claims Representative in Sandy, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -30 days PTO once you’ve been there 10 or more years. -6% 401k match plus 4% just given to you for 401K. No one can beat that. I put 10% of my pay into 401k and the match plus the given makes that 20% -Decently flexible work schedule

    Cons

    -Zero growth path in claims outside of a few areas like Arizona, California, Grand Rapids MI, Kansas etc. If you aren’t in one of those people places plan to spend a whole career in the same job. -Mentality of be happy or else -Perks have steady disappeared over the last decade or so -High level management doesn’t seem to care about the employee and the trickle down of that isn’t good.

    Advice to Management

    -Learn to care about the employee. In order to become the great service organization you want to be it’s going to start with treating your employees right so they'll be motivated to treat the customer right. It’s hard to feel like Farmers doesn’t care only to then be a great face of the company to our customers, it feels like I’m misrepresenting the brand if I go above and beyond for a company that ceased doing that for me.

    Show More
    Farmers Insurance Group2019-05-18
Found 209 reviews