Farmers Insurance Group Field Claims Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Farmers Insurance Group Field Claims Representative Reviews

Updated Feb 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.9
29%
Recommend to a Friend
10%
Approve of CEO
Farmers Insurance Group CEO Jeff Dailey
Jeff Dailey
16 Ratings
  1. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Claims Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, pto, ability to move around

    Cons

    Political, sometimes feels like communication is difficult between management and employees

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on employees and customer satisfaction will follow

    Farmers Insurance Group2015-03-05
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Claims Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Claims Representative in Elizabeth, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits? Every year you get reviewed for 'salary considerations' depending on your 'opportunities' Finally interested in technology just happens to be always a step behind the real deal.

    Cons

    Lack of diversity Micro Management Ever changing goals to make sure you can never meet Target. Volume Work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Invest in technology that actually makes sense versus some platform someone in California decided to push because a power point sold them. Invest in your employees, employee morale should be of higher focus than key data points some out of reality corporate person is pushing for themselves. If you can't gain that trust with your employees you will continuously have trouble getting them to do more than they have to. Work on transparency, integrity, excellence and trust for yourself before you use that to take money away from your employees.

    Show More
    Farmers Insurance Group2019-02-26
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Field Claims Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Claims Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Farmers Insurance Group for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company car every couple of years, extensive training (much required and even more available if desire? , great employees and management (in my office). Good benefits, good 401 company match.

    Cons

    High work load and many customers are mad and difficult, They do not understand their policy and its put all on you as the field person at their ignorance. Constant changes and management flopping back and forth trying to understand the changes that they are getting and its difficult to keep up. Can be long hours but in California (thankfully) we get lots of overtime, however, sometimes you feel the work can never get done. Much focus on the mistakes that are made very little discussion on the things you do well. Can lead to bad moral among employees. Sometimes unbalanced work load. Managment needs to get a handle on that. Seems to have little opportunity to promote unless you are on the favorite list by management. Many times raises and advancement seems that its given by favorites not work product.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the good as well as the training opportunities. All bad leads to a very frustrated staff. Changes every other week with little understanding or messages to what the changes are can lead to a lot of stress and unhappiness at work.

    Farmers Insurance Group2018-05-18
  4. "Claims Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Claims Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company; great opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    No cons that would be significant

    Farmers Insurance Group2017-10-18
  5. "Sr Special Field Claims Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Special Field Claims Representative in Tarpon Springs, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, a lot of great people

    Cons

    no support, company layed me off in such a way as to not pay have to pay me severance for 10+ years service, or bonus owed for 2016. Farmers is pulling out of Florida I have medical problems.

    Advice to Management

    grow some, and follow your own rules for ethics and morality

    Farmers Insurance Group2017-01-04
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Property Field Claims Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Claims Representative in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group for less than a year

    Pros

    401k matching, pto, company car, company cell phone, set your own appointments, minimal supervision

    Cons

    Having to pay for insurance and taxes on company car (about $60 a month), long training period

    Advice to Management

    If it's not broken, don't fix it, too many things are constantly changing that only adds more to the already heavy work load.

    Farmers Insurance Group2016-02-18
  7. "Farmers reviews FCR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Claims Representative in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extensive training and support for new adjusters. State of the art training facility and staff. Opportunists to earn more $ with catastrophe claims.

    Cons

    Adjusted where look upon as being easily expendable and just another replaceable cog in the insurance wheel. just my experience, could be and industry thing and not just Farmers.

    Farmers Insurance Group2016-01-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Claims Representative in Westlake Village, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family environment, fair pay, and management cares. CEO is very inspirational and very involved with acknowledging employees who go over and beyond. (not me, just saw some of my peers in claims get such appreciation from him) he seems to have great ideas for our future and policy holders mixed with appreciation of the old company with new ideas to stay relevant.

    Cons

    Claims system outdated. Reviews. Even though have received a good review for several years, the process of discussing our ratings with others, discussion, and labels. They tell you did well but then all this focus on behaviors make the focus on the negative not on the good and makes you feel insecure, less whole, and every little word, gesture is being watched. Now I know that is important but the nick picking does nothing to develop you as an employee

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Go to a different type of employee reviews. There is a way to manage out those who are not meeting expectations. Your good employee who delivers for you everyday feels less appreciated with these constant labels for different layers of the "good ones". Also, some of the lower standards they say are not a "career ruiner" which is not true. You can call it Building but it is seems to encourage good employees with a few minor issues that were taken care of little incentive to feel they are deemed a good employee. I have not been such rated but good peers who had a few minor issues that were resolved were and now wish to leave when we need them. Seems using this standard more liberally to make quotas. You discuss diversity and yet I do not see such in upper leadership or the ones in there in same roles and never given change or selected for upper positions in claims. Use to feel like an old boy network with now with a new CCO who is younger feels like a new boy network. Nice guy from my limited exposure to him at Town Hall, just believe he is not seeing all his leaders are men his age, no diversity. Some of the leaders in leaders below him seem ok, but nothing original. Just same old way of doing claims with no fresh ideas that diversity could bring to that group and Claims overall and improve an environment that was moving in the right direction and now feels stale and lots of corporate speakeasy and no actions.

    Show More
    Farmers Insurance Group2016-01-01
  9. "The Worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Claims Representative in Jersey City, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group

    Pros

    A job that's it. a pay check some nice people

    Cons

    A horrible place to work. Other than stiffing people for over time,(and get sued ) do not get injured even if they were directly responsible for the injury. Farmers HR will terminate you. HR dept will will not respond until the state labor board and a lawyer. actually start sending certified letters. If you are a seasoned professional, do not walk RUN!!!

    Advice to Management

    Close up shop

    Farmers Insurance Group2015-12-10
  10. "Lack direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Claims Representative in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are in the trenches with you. You're all going thru the same 'stuff', and have them to complain to.

    Cons

    Management is off the rails. Inconsistent direction once they took on garbage policies from AIG. Reorg after reorg, didn't replace those who jumped ship, then reorg again. Makes you think they don't know whether they are coming or going...

    Farmers Insurance Group2015-09-23
Found 36 reviews