Farmers Insurance Group Office Claims Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Office Claims Representative

Farmers Insurance Group Office Claims Representative Reviews

Updated May 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
12%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Farmers Insurance Group CEO Jeff Dailey
Jeff Dailey
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Claims Representative in Olathe, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great pay/work life balance/friendly management

    Cons

    stressful job, heavy workload, have to deal with a lot of negativity from customers

    Farmers Insurance Group2018-05-01
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Not great unless you are in a state with a hub"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Claims Representative in Sandy, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -30 days PTO once you’ve been there 10 or more years. -6% 401k match plus 4% just given to you for 401K. No one can beat that. I put 10% of my pay into 401k and the match plus the given makes that 20% -Decently flexible work schedule

    Cons

    -Zero growth path in claims outside of a few areas like Arizona, California, Grand Rapids MI, Kansas etc. If you aren’t in one of those people places plan to spend a whole career in the same job. -Mentality of be happy or else -Perks have steady disappeared over the last decade or so -High level management doesn’t seem to care about the employee and the trickle down of that isn’t good.

    Advice to Management

    -Learn to care about the employee. In order to become the great service organization you want to be it’s going to start with treating your employees right so they'll be motivated to treat the customer right. It’s hard to feel like Farmers doesn’t care only to then be a great face of the company to our customers, it feels like I’m misrepresenting the brand if I go above and beyond for a company that ceased doing that for me.

    Show More
    Farmers Insurance Group2019-05-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Claims Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farmers Insurance Group full-time

    Pros

    Very good training model and they hire great people. Great benefits also which is a plus

    Cons

    No cons at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Farmers Insurance Group2017-04-07
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Claim Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Claims Representative in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    PTO, 401k, Employees with degrees so intelligent interaction.

    Cons

    Workload is Excessive, Company is large and growth is slow to near stagnant so upward mobility is anemic. Pay increases are minimal. Diversity is not reflective of community.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees their fair share and listen to your employees.

    Farmers Insurance Group2016-08-27
  5. "Claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Office Claims Representative in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Experience and knowledge gained at position

    Cons

    Deparmentalized. Don't gain full insurance knowledge

    Farmers Insurance Group2016-04-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Claims Representative in Olathe, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    From day 1 you can opt into the 401k which has a 6% company match. You start with 19 PTO days and can rollover 40 hours each year. The flex schedules and core hours make it possible to handle anything that you cannot get done outside of regular business hours.

    Cons

    Career advancement is only offered between the claims departments. Even if your degree is in another field that you really want to transition to, if your experience is only in claims, the other departments won't take you unless you leave the company first to get experience.

    Advice to Management

    The high turnover in claims is inevitable, however quality employees can be retained if they are allowed to transition into their desired departments.

    Farmers Insurance Group2015-10-24
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Benefits...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Claims Representative in Olathe, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits package was awesome. The HelpPoint had a break room on every floor and a game room in every building. The flexible schedule also helped with work-life balance.

    Cons

    The claims department was soul-sucking. The job was so depressing everyone hated being their which drove down the office environment. The company promoted employee development, but only in claims. Once in claims you can never transfer into another department outside of claims even if its the field you majored in. The turnover is so high that less than half of every training class stays more than 6 months.

    Advice to Management

    Promote employee development through all departments, not just claims.

    Farmers Insurance Group2015-10-14
  8. "Works you like a slave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Office Claims Representative in Olathe, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty good pay, no weekends and benefits. Great training.

    Cons

    You have to deal with very upset customers who have insurance claims and do not understand the process.

    Advice to Management

    Help your teams stay positive and grow. If they need something help them out.

    Farmers Insurance Group2015-10-09
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good company to start your career with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Claims Representative in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxing dress code and environment. Flexible work hours after probation period.

    Cons

    Heavy work load and training doesn't necessary prepare you for all aspects of the job.

    Farmers Insurance Group2015-05-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "No rewards for good work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Claims Representative in Olathe, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Farmers Insurance Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working with peers that were at the same level as me. All low level employees were top notch.

    Cons

    I had amazing results and received not compensation for performing top in my department. They say they have raises and profit sharing, this was not the case.

    Advice to Management

    Reward your good employees, or they will find a better employer.

    Farmers Insurance Group2014-07-28
Found 26 reviews