KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Fashion Project

Is this your company?

Fashion Project

Add a Review

Fashion Project Reviews

Updated Feb 3, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 10 reviews

2.1
18%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Fashion Project CEO  Anna Palmer (no image)
Anna Palmer
5 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Charity Relations

    Jan 25, 2016 - Charity Relations Vice President in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fashion Project has a great atmosphere with a brilliant technical team.

    Cons

    Moving of the company to a difficult location for transportation.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good in Theory

    Aug 6, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great product, cool co-workers, manicures on Fridays...

    Cons

    My time at Fashion Project was a serious challenge, and not just because I was lifting some seriously heavy stuff. Making $10 an hour is unethical, especially coming from a company that is allegedly a "force for good". Even with great employee discounts, it was nearly impossible to survive off the wages. I took this job due to the fact that the fashion industry is far from striving in Boston, I wanted to make my mark. I don't regret working here, I learned a lot, but once the catered lunches were taken away it felt like there were no benefits left. There is no "work life balance" when you cant afford to have a life.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Retoucher | Occasional Makeup Artist

    Aug 15, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I loved my job very much. With that being said I did not mind working super hard & watch the company do great. You get to be around fashion, handle multiple tasks at the same time - have a lot to add to your resume for our next job, great location, catered food every once in a while, hardworking co-workers with big dreams, & because it's a startup the company is always trying new things.

    Cons

    Long hours, no structure, no job security, small start up so a lot of deadlines in a small period of time, high turnover rate.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    production staff

    Feb 25, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love my co- workers. The warehouse is full of fun girls, but the corporate office rarely communicates with production staff.

    Cons

    I am not thrilled with the heavy labor the warehouse staff is demanded to preform. Moving hundreds of 60 pound bags, was not in my job description. Also, some days there is a lot of work to do and other days there is absolutely nothing. If your looking for constancy, this is not the job for you. Working 40 hour weeks with no sick days is not an environment for high moral. It is definitely hard making a living with the wages given. Retail employees make more than most warehouse employees and we do the heavy labor!

    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great idea, poor execution

    Jun 17, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Part of the business model (at least until now) is to give back to charity. They don't donate a HUGE amount of it's great that at least part of the money goes to good causes.

    Cons

    Many of the department managers are young and don't have managing experience. Most projects are poorly organized. Creativity isn't valued. New ideas rely on a lazy IT department to implement.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Selfish and Unfriendly

    Jul 23, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company is located near the seaport and the view of the water is pretty but the working conditions are dirty.

    Cons

    The company does not care about its employees. They will lie and sneak around without any kind of communication. They use people and when they are down with them, they throw them away without batting an eye. They owners only care about making money for themselves, this is made clear by the fact that they compete with their own partners and most of the charities they claim to raise money for receive checks below twenty dollars.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Great company - not a lot of opportunities for growth

    Feb 3, 2017 - Intern in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company, everyone is passionate about the mission

    Cons

    Not a lot of growth opportunities

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Will probably go under in the next year

    Aug 10, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Their location that they can't afford is nice and on the water. They give some money back to charity, however they lie to customers about how much they are really giving back.

    Cons

    VERY poor management, CEO's are super rude and don't care about their employees, and poor work environment. Management is the cast of Mean Girls they think they are so much better than everyone under them when they are all only 27 yrs old with barely any experience. It's just a sad, sad environment.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Very Young/Immature company

    May 15, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    So much work needs to be done that no gym membership is ever required.

    Cons

    $10/hr for every position. Most employees have a very poor work-life balance. 10+ hour days. Understaffed. Unprofessional/unappreciative management. 2 bathrooms for 50+ employees. Do not expect any role/salary improvements. Even if you work 18+ hours a day [go above & beyond].

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Fashion Project Response

    VP of Human Resources and Culture

    As a startup, we're always working to grow and change for the better. Business hours are 9-5:30 and the pay range starts at $10 and goes up significantly from there based upon experience and performance at FP. All employees working over 32 hours a week are also eligible for health insurance from the day they start working here. Roles are more specialized now and employees have the opportunity to take on more responsibility when they can. We strive to create a "work hard, play hard" culture and reward everyone with weekly catered lunches, a kitchen full of snacks, staff appreciation gifts, and BBQs on our roofdeck overlooking the Boston skyline. There's definitely some box lifting involved, but it's worth it when you're having a beer and watching the sunset on the deck when the day is done! We appreciate the feedback and are always trying to make ourselves better.

  10. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Unethical

    Jan 30, 2015 - Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some large fashion brands here, but any clothing company has that for a pro.

    Cons

    I like how fashion project portrays to be very ethical, donating half of whatever you buy to charity, but they don't. For instance, many people interested in buying an item for $15.00 won't be able to; employees change the prices to $45.00 before it is bought. I donated here myself, and some of the employees possibly take the products for themselves instead of listing it.

    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Fashion Project Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Fashion Project? Share Your Experiences

Fashion Project logo
or