Fast Enterprises Reviews

Updated May 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
76%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Fast Enterprises Managing Partner Martin Rankin
Martin Rankin
715 Ratings
Pros
  • "High wages, Great benefits, Coworker comradery(in 102 reviews)

  • "Paid overtime over 40 hours per week which is unheard of in this sector(in 66 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, but I absolutely still have work/life balance(in 76 reviews)

  • "Work/Life Balance can be difficult to maintain during active projects, but FAST does try to mitigate this through employee activities(in 49 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Fast Enterprises and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      Still Hard to Imagine a Better Company to Work For

      Aug 7, 2020 - Implementation Consultant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great pay with annual performance-based raises - Great benefits - Young, outgoing, intelligent coworkers - Best product on the market - Opportunities to relocate every few years (handled and paid for by the company, including a 6k relocation bonus to cover expenses) - Tons of job security. With the pandemic going on, I'm more grateful for this than ever. The company has tripled in size since I started with no major layoffs. Working with government on essential systems means the jobs are mostly recession proof. - Despite rapid growth, the company is more focused on quality and maintaining a good reputation than making quick money. This goes along with them being more focused on doing what is right for the client instead of what is most profitable. It ALSO goes along with them only hiring good people! It feels good to do work for a company with integrity. -( When there isn't a pandemic) There are monthly team-building activities paid for by the company. I know many sites have been continuing to try to make this work with virtual happy hours and game nights, but things have definitely tapered off. As is the case with all things :( - (When there isn't a pandemic) Annual General Meeting. This is an all inclusive 3 night stay at a resort for employees and their families. The location changes every year and they really go all out for these events. Not exaggerating when I say some of the nights have felt magical! It's always a highlight. Really missed it this year! - Company owners are still working hard alongside you. The company has 1500+ employees and the owners are still fully integrated in every level of the company. They know their products inside and out. They also visit sites regularly (twice a year is my guess for an average). When a partner visits, employees are typically given the opportunity to hold 1 on 1 meetings with them. Great visibility in a big company. - Company seems to genuinely value employee health and happiness. - You can learn a lot and are given responsibility quickly. There are tons of different skillsets you can focus on and a wide range of opportunities. Even more as the company continues to grow. - Increasingly open review process with regular feedback meetings scheduled throughout the year (If you're a FASTie reading this and your project manager isn't doing this, say something! They're supposed to be and HR/Directors/Partners will back you up.) Unsolicited advice to current/future employees: I got to a place early on working for FAST where I thought the world was against me. I was unhappy and started looking at other jobs. I spoke to HR about my situation and they were able to 100% turn things around. If this is you, try reaching out. If the job just isn't for you, it's not for you. But if you feel the work environment is toxic, or your direct managers aren't doing their job, this is something the company will want to address. In my experience, they really do care.

      Cons

      - Relocating can be tough - You don't always get to decide where you relocate (often you have input, but it largely depends on the current need) - A few bad eggs can make your experience on a site stressful (talk to HR!)

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place and Great People

      May 12, 2021 - Implementation Consultant in Louisville, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are fantastic and the pay is competitive, the work culture and balance are also great and can make it easier to adjust to new areas.

      Cons

      Moving every few years can start to wear as you have to make new friends and get acquainted with new areas and co-workers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company

      Feb 3, 2021 - Implementation Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good salary and health insurance Smart employees High standards

      Cons

      Low 401k match of 3%. Suggest this be raised to 6%. Bonus structure is weird (and low) Move around every other year.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Fast Enterprises Response

      HR

      Thank you for your feedback on how to continue to make FAST a great place to work for employees. We truly appreciate the work that FASTies have done, especially over this past year to continue to support our clients through this unprecedented time. As we help many of our jurisdictions with their unemployment benefits systems, it reminds us all how fortunate we are to have a secure job during this unsettling time in history. We understand your disappointment that our yearly all-company meeting and team lunches were cancelled. All FASTies, including the Partners, share in your disappointment. The Partners held out hope that we could resume social activities for 2021, but the global pandemic continues to pose life and death safety concerns—and we will always err on the side of keeping our employees and their families safe when given the choice. While in-person team lunches have not been possible, we’ve been so impressed with all the efforts our project teams have made to continue holding virtual team-building activities—including virtual team lunches and dinners. We also believe that FAST has continued to demonstrate our profound appreciation to our employees throughout the pandemic in several valuable ways: We changed our sick leave policy to enable employees to take unlimited sick leave to care for themselves or sick family members and to be able to use sick leave to care for children whose schools or day care facilities were closed. We also continued to provide merit-based pay increases and bonuses (which we feel fortunate to be able to do when so many other companies have had to cut salaries and freeze wages during this time). We are also proud to say that we have not laid off a single employee due to the pandemic—including those who are unable to perform their work remotely. While we are well aware of the costs of relocating employees and their families, we nevertheless choose this business model because we know that living in the same communities as our clients and working with them side-by-side creates a level of knowledge and trust that is hard to replicate otherwise. Building that trust is vital to our success and the success of our clients. Many FASTies accept the job—and continue their careers with FAST—because they are excited to move to new communities and experience new cultures. They believe these experiences further enrich their lives. Finally, we’re not sure the majority of FASTies would agree with your recommendation to reduce salaries in exchange for higher bonuses and an increased 401k match. If you feel you have excess salary, we would strongly encourage you to apply that excess to your personal 401k balance.

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Toxic 'Family' Culture

      May 17, 2021 - Training Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay Good benefits Some really good people that work there

      Cons

      FAST was more than just a job, it was a lifestyle. And they promoted that lifestyle left and right and the FAST family as being so important. But taking a step back now I realize how toxic it was. The family aspect was just there because we were not given a life outside of FAST. Even if you accrued enough PTO to see your family, you felt guilty using too much of it because you would be letting others down being gone for too long. As a family we were suppose to forgive FAST for their mistakes (not getting the project you wanted, having to do crappy tasks, traveling at a moments notice to fix someone else's mistake) but if you messed up once you are basically shunned like a pariah, and a lot of the company talks about your mistakes for years to come sometimes. It also took me stepping away to realize how much sexual harassment was blatant. By the partners themselves, by the client, by the coworkers, it is disgusting. And reaching out to other higher-up women in the company to talk to them about it (which I did on multiple occasions) just gets you told that 'that's how it is' and 'I went through the same thing'. This company was so much a part of my life and it really hurt to leave, but I am so happy I did. I wish everyone the best of luck there, but it isn't a culture that is healthy for most people, especially women.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Salary. Needs to look into Lead & Management reformation

      Apr 3, 2021 - Training Coordinator in Salem, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary, Entry Experience, Training Experience,

      Cons

      Management, Training, Leadership, Job Expectations

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Avoid like the plague if you're even remotely interested in a career in tech

      May 13, 2021 - Team Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Easy interviews and easy to get hired. - Government contracts and revenues from them are quite reliable and last multiple years. This makes the business stable and minimally affected by economic downturns, which in turn provides great job stability. - Work is easy and you can coast after the first year without having to put in much effort upskilling. - Okay benefits. Health, dental, vision insurance are on par with tech companies and fully paid for (including dependents). - A 4 week paid sabbatical every 4 years. - 10 days of sick leave per year. 6 weeks of paid maternity leave. Only a measly 1 week for paternity leave though. - 10 days of PTO per year for the first 5 years and 15 days thereafter. Additionally, first 40 hours (= 5 days) of overtime worked every year can be banked to use as PTO instead of cashing it out. - 401k matched 50% up to 6% of salary. Mega backdoor Roth available. - Pay is pretty great for the places 80% of employees end up in.

      Cons

      - 80% of employees end up in places that have no semblance of a tech industry. Good luck getting interview calls (during non-COVID times) from tech companies in other regions if you end up in one of these cities. - Pay is below average for the remaining 20% compared to what real tech companies pay their employees in the regions that actually have a tech industry. - Minimal say/control over which city/project one gets assigned to. Plus most people are moved to a new site every 2-4 years. Exceptions are rarely made, the most common one being you are allowed to stay on your current site/project with a pay cut. - The work is not intellectually challenging after the first year during which you pick up most of the skills and knowledge needed to do the job. Work gets mind numbingly boring after that and it's just lather, rinse, repeat the same things over and over with different clients, users, and subsystems. - There are no transferrable skills one picks up to help grow their career. The consulting skills gained are elementary at best and nothing to write home about. The same and more can be gained at any real tech company worth its salt. - Tons of implementation consultants (ICs) that have zero education/training in CS or anything technical. That's how menial the technical work is. In fact, 70% of it is actually just configuration of the product. - Any code that you do write is not complex or complicated by any measure and is mostly just simple if-else statements and while loops. A high school or college freshmen level education would suffice to be trained to do the technical work. - Most ICs can't write even fizz buzz code to save their lives. Most architects are incapable of clearing the bar to land an internship at FAANG or tier 2/3 tech companies. Some of them are probably reading this right now and wondering what that acronym is. - Tech stack is outdated and anything technical is proprietary (right down to the data structure most commonly used!) and does not translate to career opportunities at any other company. Even the version control is proprietary. Facepalm. The longer you stay the more your technical skills deteriorate. - Crazy hours on active implementation projects. Work from home is frowned upon and you're regularly expected to work long hours in the office. This was pre-COVID, but fully expect this to resume once things are back to normal. Hourly equivalent of regular pay for the overtime worked, but that's peanuts for having to give up your life for the company. - Frustrating to be surrounded by people that either don't know or just don't care that they're throwing away their careers. This is further exacerbated by the fact that many ICs have no technical background but think they're software engineers now.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      May 1, 2021 - Technical Team Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company with a lot of talented employees. Partners greatly value all employees contributions and often give recognition for great work. Good benefits and compensation. Amazing company culture.

      Cons

      Depending on the stage of the project you often have to work quite a bit of overtime.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Good money, bad for your career

      Mar 12, 2021 - Implementation Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay was really good, including the annual raises and overtime.

      Cons

      Work only with their proprietary tech, which is cumbersome, outdated, janky, and extremely non-transferable. Also expect to work a ton (60 to 80 is common, some people worked 16 hr days to meet deadlines). Culture is very cult-y, toxic and tense. If you stay longer than 5 years you are probably stuck for life. Once you figure out how to program in their system, it gets super boring super quick. There is absolutely no room for innovation (that is handled by HQ devs) and don't expect to use any new tech at all. They can move you anywhere in the US with as short as a 2 week notice, which means you'll be working with new people every 1 - 3 years and won't be planting roots anywhere. They hire mostly fresh college grads who overlook all the red flags.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Experience varies by Project

      Apr 24, 2021 - Implementation Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is great as is AGM when it happens.

      Cons

      Work-Life Balance is not good. Management is for the most part promoted ICs, many of which have no idea how to manage. The company will tell you moves are after 2-3 years but usually are much shorter. Finland is the only site left off the NA Continent even though they'll discuss options for international work during recruitment as if it's a possible location when in reality most employees want to go to those projects and never do. Most sites are in terrible locations that no one wants to live. Their tech stack is archaic.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Fast Consistently Refuses to Modernize or Listen to Employees

      Apr 14, 2021 - Implementation Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      --Benefits package is pretty good --Moving really is as easy as they say (which is good since you move a lot) --Salary can be pretty lucrative if you agree to move to a LCOL area

      Cons

      Where to start? I'd like to preface this with saying that I was with fast for about 2.5 years and my experience doesn't reflect all Fasties but for the most part these are pretty common complaints. --Management consists of anyone who's been around for 5+ years. This results in engineers that have no interest (or skill) in managing a team. They try to frame this as "no micro-managing" but getting actual guidance feels like pulling teeth. --Overall company structure is very very flat this means several things: 1. Absolutely no room for growth.An IC that has not been pushed into a team role can have the same title for years, without any concrete title change to prove that they are increasingly valuable to the company. 2. The culture in general is VERY hierarchical, meaning that you are only as good as how long you've been with the company. I had a sr member of management tell me that I "wasn't a person" until I'd been with the company for a year. This also ties into the fact that the job takes so long to learn because nobody is really willing to help newbies (and if they are, they're probably already massively overworked). If your experience is anything like mine you will be constantly reminded of how busy your supervisors are and simultaneously how much better they could do the work that you're doing. --Getting actual concrete feedback is also next to impossible. My last review lasted 5 minutes. We fill out basic scorecards for everyone on our team but can't see what was compiled about ourselves. Zero transparency --The software is proprietary and not in a field that the general public knows much about, making the finding your next job really difficult. --The software is also really poorly maintained and documented even less, what's even more odd is that people will regard figuring out a dense subsystem as a badge of honor but won't take the 2 hours to actually comment out their code. It's honestly bizarre. --Speaking of the software, you will essentially be "developing" data hooks on a UI that was built in the mid aughts. This is not the right job for you if you're interested in front end or back end or UX/UI or even database management. --I also would not suggest this job if you're interested in consulting, you will get zero experience in project management, managing expectations, even leading a meeting. Just doesn't happen. -- Clients are an absolute mixed bag, I have had some lovely, capable clients with fast and some that were rude, unmotivated and sexist. If you are lucky to have one of the latter, you have to advocate for yourself because management does not care (notice a pattern here?) --Management absolutely refuses to modernize and will hide behind the reasoning that they want to stick to the standards set by the state (and varies between sites) BUT this probably means that: 1. You will be most likely using expired equipment that can't really handle what you need to be running to do the job. 2. Communication is carried out in email only, absolutely no collaboration anywhere else. 3. Management will not even entertain a discussion about working from home post-covid. Not only that but they plan on continuing to move employees to different sites with very little notice. This is absolutely the opposite direction that the industry is moving in. 4. The company refuses to take any "political" stance, so there was absolutely no communication regarding racial justice, no internal diversity initiatives. --Moving is terrible. I knew that I would be moved when I signed up so this is my fault. Before you accept an offer from Fast, ask yourself if you'd be okay with being moved to the opposite coast while you accrue PTO so slowly that it will take 6 months before you can take a week off to go home. --Relatedly, PTO is far below industry standards.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 857 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Fast Enterprises Job Seekers

    Implementation Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Software Implementation Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    Data Warehousing and Analytics Consultant
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Fast Enterprises? Share Your Experiences

    or