FastMed Urgent Care "12 hour shifts" Reviews | Glassdoor

FastMed Urgent Care Employee Reviews about "12 hour shifts"

Updated Nov 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
FastMed Urgent Care CEO Web Golinkin
Web Golinkin
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "The CEO’s newsletters really show me the future of FastMed(in 11 reviews)

  • "The management team is supportive, upbeat, and work right alongside you to create a successful lab(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 8 reviews)

  • "Work 12 hour shifts without break, promising patient best experience(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "12 hour shifts"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN 

    I worked at FastMed Urgent Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    you work 3 12 hour shifts week

    Cons

    y=You have to rotate Weekends

    FastMed Urgent Care2019-11-09
  2. "Best reasons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Representative in Morehead City, NC

    I worked at FastMed Urgent Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    12 hour shifts which meant 3 days on 4 days off. Excellent physicians to work with.

    Cons

    Unable to take breaks, had to be at front desk at all times.

    Continue reading
    FastMed Urgent Care2019-01-19

    FastMed Urgent Care Response

    January 21, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for the feedback. I really enjoy the unique schedule that allows our team members time off during the week and weekends to spend with family, friends, run errands, etc. Working in the healthcare field you never know what may walk in the door or how busy you may be. Being busy is fun and sometimes exhausting. We are glad that you worked through it with us! We hope you have a fantastic day.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "State of the Art-Not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Physician Assistant in Hendersonville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FastMed Urgent Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    MAs eager to learn and cosmetically appealing clinic

    Cons

    Corporate altruism. Retail clinic medicine driven by dollar and patient centric ends. Work 12 hour shifts without break, promising patient best experience. Provider delivers healthcare, sometimes doing own RAD studies and labs, occasionally assisting in supervising front desk. HR vague in skirting personnel concerns.

    Continue reading
    FastMed Urgent Care2018-06-11

    FastMed Urgent Care Response

    June 18, 2018HR Director

    Thank you for the feedback. I am very sorry to read this feedback. This is not what we want to hear from any of our team members, past or current. At FastMed, we want those who are willing to have a corporate altruism. This is actually exactly how I try live my life. I do appreciate the feedback and will look into all concerns that you have noted. I would also like to hear more from you if you would email me at humanresources@fastmed.com. I take all concerns very seriously.

    Continue reading
  4. "Very conducive to burnout"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
     in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FastMed Urgent Care

    Pros

    Access to on-the-job training Some nice providers Typical full-time work week is 36 hours Can float between locations if desired

    Cons

    1-1-1 ration, meaning 1 provider, 1 clinical assistant, 1 front desk person (not enough for efficient patient flow) High turnover, even among providers Not enough thorough training for staff members No scheduled lunch break in 12 hours (which is illegal) Management is about the bottom line primarily, versus the patient and employee satisfaction If you have a genuine situation for which you need to call out (ie, sickness, family emergency, child care issues) you must come to work until you can find someone to cover you, IF anyone can cover you. Imagine working with patients while you have the flu-doesn't matter. Management requires you to be there or else. Equipment and supplies in some clinics are not kept in good repair and stocked Generally, just a high stress job

    Continue reading
    FastMed Urgent Care2017-07-27

    FastMed Urgent Care Response

    July 31, 2017HR Director

    We are sorry to hear your concerns about staffing and scheduling breaks during your work shifts. Our goal is to support the health of our employees as well as our patients. As you experienced, working in an urgent care comes with challenges in predicting the volume of patients in any given day. We do our best to staff appropriately based on the historical patient volumes in each clinic as well as seasonal illnesses. During unexpectedly exceptionally busy days, we recognize that the volume of patients may make it difficult to schedule team members for full breaks or lunch hours. Unfortunately, that can be the nature of a career in healthcare. We consistently review staffing models by region and clinic to make appropriate adjustments. We’d like to understand more about your specific experience and investigate. We know there’s always opportunities to learn and improve. Will you email us at HumanResources@FastMed.com and include the clinic location? Thank you.

    Continue reading
  5. "Clinic Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FastMed Urgent Care full-time

    Pros

    You get a paycheck that's about it.

    Cons

    Long horrible 12 hour shifts with no breaks or lunches. Terrible high deductible of 6k. Terrible upper management.

    Continue reading
    FastMed Urgent Care2017-07-24

    FastMed Urgent Care Response

    July 31, 2017HR Director

    Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry to hear that you feel this way. In the urgent care industry the days are not predicable. Our main job is to take care of our patients. I am going to encourage you to email Humanresources@fastmed.com so that we can speak about your concerns together as a team.

    Continue reading
  6. "The Grass is seldom greener"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Physician Assistant in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FastMed Urgent Care for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Variety of locations. Great Supervising MD. 12 hour shifts with 32 hours/week considered Full Time

    Cons

    Changing atmosphere. Corporate changes without possibility of individual input. For profit atmosphere. 12+ hour days

    Continue reading
    FastMed Urgent Care2017-06-01

    FastMed Urgent Care Response

    June 17, 2017HR Director

    Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate your dedication and input. IF you would like to discuss your concerns in more detail, please contact humanresources@fastmed.com.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "They don't value their employees!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Assistant in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FastMed Urgent Care part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, it's a very friendly atmosphere where everyone gets along and is able to have fun when time allows. Lots of opportunities for over time (if allowed), big pay checks when you get over time. You get a hands on experience, and get to use the skills you learned in school. I got to see lots of different things every day!

    Cons

    12 hour shifts, you're the ONLY MA front or back, so 2 people are working 12 hr shifts the whole day, with NO breaks to eat lunch or be able to sit. It gets overwhelming real quick. Say goodbye to your social life, because these people think your life revolves around their company and you making money for them. No communication from the higher management, no organization. There is favoritism, I worked at a clinic where their main RT was off Sat and Sun because SHE HAD TO, but yet I was a floater employee and I was scheduled every Sunday of the month which is unfair to the rest of the employees that have to work weekends, while others don't. There is just a lot of disorganization in the company, and the management should be handling things better. Also, I was considered a "part time" floater employee that worked 40 hrs, some days I had as many as 20 hrs of over time, but yet I wasn't allowed any insurance benefits, PTO days, vacation days, etc. I am not even sure if it's legal to do that.

    Continue reading
    FastMed Urgent Care2017-05-18

    FastMed Urgent Care Response

    May 31, 2017HR Director

    Thank you for the feedback. We take all feedback seriously and would like to have a more detailed conversation with you regarding the information you have listed here. If you feel comfortable please reach out to me directly at humanresources@fastmed.com, so that we can learn more details of your Cons and advice to management. Again, thank you for the feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. "It's a corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Assistant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FastMed Urgent Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love my job and what I do. I love the variety of what comes through the door. From a cold to a finger hanging on by a breath

    Cons

    The hours can be long (usually 12 hour shifts) and if it's busy, forget about a lunch break. It's too "corporate". It kills me to turn some of these people away who are really sick that have money or insurance.

    Continue reading
    FastMed Urgent Care2017-01-31

    FastMed Urgent Care Response

    March 9, 2017HR Director

    Thank you for your dedication to FastMed and helping our patients especially during the busy times.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Assistant in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FastMed Urgent Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great group of individuals you work with. You can get hours working at different clinics. Rotating weekends. 12 hour shifts available.

    Cons

    The pay sucks even when you have experience. No bonuses. A lot of changes within the company do to growth.

    Continue reading
    FastMed Urgent Care2016-08-27

    FastMed Urgent Care Response

    August 29, 2016HR Director

    Thank you for the feedback. We are happy that you enjoy working with the FastMed team. We are a growing company and review processes & policies often. We agree our fellow team members work very hard to take car of our patients and their fellow team members. Please feel free to email me directly at humanresources@fastmed.com to discuss your concerns. We have an open door policy.

    Continue reading
  10. "GSS(front desk)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    North Carolina in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FastMed Urgent Care

    Pros

    Great benefits, Great pay rate

    Cons

    Very long 12 hour shifts

    FastMed Urgent Care2016-03-03

    FastMed Urgent Care Response

    July 18, 2016HR Director

    Thank you for the review. FastMed's President & CEO, Kyle Bohannon, made a promise to all of the team members to improve the benefits at FastMed over a year ago. Positive changes were made and we are glad that you see that! Thank you!

    Continue reading
Found 12 reviews