FastMed Urgent Care "lunch breaks" Reviews | Glassdoor

FastMed Urgent Care Employee Reviews about "lunch breaks"

Updated Sep 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
FastMed Urgent Care CEO Web Golinkin
Web Golinkin
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "The CEO’s newsletters really show me the future of FastMed(in 11 reviews)

  • "The management team is supportive, upbeat, and work right alongside you to create a successful lab(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "No break, staffing, bias, they favor the PA's and the other staff get treated like nobody's, low pay, poor management, long hours(in 8 reviews)

  • " lunch breaks (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "lunch breaks"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great People to work with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Assistant in Garner, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FastMed Urgent Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great hours. Ability to work at any location. Paid Holidays even PRN employees.

    Cons

    No lunch breaks but manager is always there to pitch in.

    FastMed Urgent Care2018-06-06

    FastMed Urgent Care Response

    June 11, 2018HR Director

    Thank you for the feedback. We are very happy to see that you would recommend others to work with our team.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "BEWARE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PSA 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FastMed Urgent Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved the PA and MA I worked with!

    Cons

    Absolutely zero work life balance. If you have children and one gets sick at school you better have a backup person to go pick them up, you will not get relieved. If you are at work and you get sick even to the point of a high fever or vomiting in front of patients you will not be relieved. You only work with two other people and you're the only one who can do your job so you will be stuck at the desk for twelve hours no lunch breaks and sometimes hours without a bathroom break. Management promotes friends and those friends don't do their job properly and some aren't qualified but still have the job. You will never see your managers unless you've done something wrong. I've seen other reviews where Fastmed responded that they strongly disagree that they don't care about their employees which is an amazing statement. They truly care only about the bottom line.

    Continue reading
    FastMed Urgent Care2019-09-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to get in, get some experience and get out. Not much room for growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CMA in Concord, NC

    I have been working at FastMed Urgent Care part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast pace. Something new every day.

    Cons

    Can be a bit disorganized. No scheduled lunch breaks.

    Continue reading
    FastMed Urgent Care2019-04-30
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Assistant in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FastMed Urgent Care part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having days off during the week since you work 12 hour days. Working with patients. Doing a variety of skills.

    Cons

    It’s overwhelming and stressful being responsible to do everything clinical by yourself. Working with a lot of different providers. No lunch breaks. No extra help.

    FastMed Urgent Care2017-11-03

    FastMed Urgent Care Response

    November 6, 2017HR Director

    Thank you for the feedback. We take all feedback very serious. We would like to hear more from you. Will you email us at humanresources@fastmed.com?

    Continue reading
  5. "Very conducive to burnout"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
     in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FastMed Urgent Care

    Pros

    Access to on-the-job training Some nice providers Typical full-time work week is 36 hours Can float between locations if desired

    Cons

    1-1-1 ration, meaning 1 provider, 1 clinical assistant, 1 front desk person (not enough for efficient patient flow) High turnover, even among providers Not enough thorough training for staff members No scheduled lunch break in 12 hours (which is illegal) Management is about the bottom line primarily, versus the patient and employee satisfaction If you have a genuine situation for which you need to call out (ie, sickness, family emergency, child care issues) you must come to work until you can find someone to cover you, IF anyone can cover you. Imagine working with patients while you have the flu-doesn't matter. Management requires you to be there or else. Equipment and supplies in some clinics are not kept in good repair and stocked Generally, just a high stress job

    Continue reading
    FastMed Urgent Care2017-07-27

    FastMed Urgent Care Response

    July 31, 2017HR Director

    We are sorry to hear your concerns about staffing and scheduling breaks during your work shifts. Our goal is to support the health of our employees as well as our patients. As you experienced, working in an urgent care comes with challenges in predicting the volume of patients in any given day. We do our best to staff appropriately based on the historical patient volumes in each clinic as well as seasonal illnesses. During unexpectedly exceptionally busy days, we recognize that the volume of patients may make it difficult to schedule team members for full breaks or lunch hours. Unfortunately, that can be the nature of a career in healthcare. We consistently review staffing models by region and clinic to make appropriate adjustments. We’d like to understand more about your specific experience and investigate. We know there’s always opportunities to learn and improve. Will you email us at HumanResources@FastMed.com and include the clinic location? Thank you.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Nurse practitioner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FastMed Urgent Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love what I do and the people that I help! Great variety and can spent time and educate folks. Supervising MD pool right now is a great group. Pay is descent but not worth the long hours.

    Cons

    Where do I start?? Long hours 12+, let people in last minute for things that can wait to the next business day meaning you don't get out til 9-10 if not later, no lunch break, no coverage for any of staff and only staffed with 3 people the whole shift. Management a joke they are truly cooperate. There is no climbing the ladder they refuse to let providers grow. There is no communication it is very poorly organized. No communication between medical and administrative staff.

    Continue reading
    FastMed Urgent Care2017-04-04

    FastMed Urgent Care Response

    April 10, 2017HR Director

    Thank you for the feedback. I appreciate hearing from all staff. We do have a great team at FastMed and promote from within as much as possible. We are consistently working on processes that will make FastMed even stronger than it already is concerning compensation and benefits. I would like to hear more from you. If you would so kindly reach out to me at humanresources@fastmed.com. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  7. "It's a corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Assistant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FastMed Urgent Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love my job and what I do. I love the variety of what comes through the door. From a cold to a finger hanging on by a breath

    Cons

    The hours can be long (usually 12 hour shifts) and if it's busy, forget about a lunch break. It's too "corporate". It kills me to turn some of these people away who are really sick that have money or insurance.

    Continue reading
    FastMed Urgent Care2017-01-31

    FastMed Urgent Care Response

    March 9, 2017HR Director

    Thank you for your dedication to FastMed and helping our patients especially during the busy times.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Provider in Asheville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FastMed Urgent Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy, decent pay, challenging, skill-enhancing

    Cons

    Very little orientation time. Be prepared to work alone and see approx. 50 patients in a 12-14 hr day...alone. No lunch break or break. You just eat as you go, if there is even time for that. Demanding, cocky patients. Poor management support. No on-site clinical support. High turn-over of MAs and other support-staff. Support staff primarily spends time on I-phones texting as they verbally and non-verbally express how they hate the patients and their jobs.

    Continue reading
    FastMed Urgent Care2015-03-05

    FastMed Urgent Care Response

    July 18, 2016HR Director

    Thank you for you feedback. We take all feedback very seriously. We would like to take the opportunity to learn more about what you have mentioned. Please feel free to email us directly at humanresources@fastmed.com.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews