Fasthosts Internet Reviews | Glassdoor

Fasthosts Internet Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Simon Yeoman
14 Ratings
  1. "A UK business trying to operate a mishmashed org in the US"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Engineer in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fasthosts Internet full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    They let us run the sales side as we needed to and plenty of vacation time.

    Cons

    UK management did not understand the US market and we're not agile enough to change.

    Fasthosts Internet2014-03-21
  2. "Gem of a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Gloucester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fasthosts Internet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work colleagues who are incredibly knowledgeable. There is a positive learning curve at Fasthosts for those willing to get stuck in, whilst maintaining a really friendly and professional atmosphere. - Cracking people - Free parking - Awesome coffee - Free fruit each day - Christmas Party and Summer party paid for (including hotels etc)

    Cons

    As part of an international company, some decision making is taken out of Fasthosts' hands, which means the company can on occasion be less agile than it wants to be. This is improving though and 2019 is set to be a very positive year.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going, keep doing what you do, the team is behind you

    Fasthosts Internet2019-04-30
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Still an exciting company to work for after 19 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Team Leader in Gloucester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fasthosts Internet full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Fasthosts employs very talented people and works on exciting and interesting technologies. Good benefits package, training given, nice people, a reasonable amount of out of work activities organised by employees.

    Cons

    There are no major cons for me. If I were pushed to give a con I would say the lack of coordination between various parts of the company in different geographical locations. This is changing however.

    Fasthosts Internet2018-08-13
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Some nice people, but if your face doesn't fit expect to be miserable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Gloucester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fasthosts Internet full-time

    Pros

    Mostly nice people. Could be fun sometimes.

    Cons

    Quite a few cliquey groups, know-it-all university types. Pressured environment. Working on old technology (Delphi XE4), bespoke systems. Not Agile, very waterfall driven. Zero training. Projects badly managed. Blame culture when things go wrong.

    Advice to Management

    When you interview a dev for a role in a particular language, maybe employ him/her to do that language and not antiquated technologies.

    Fasthosts Internet2018-07-03
  5. "It used to be good..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Gloucester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fasthosts Internet full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere. Talented, hard working employees. Good facilities. Good location with free parking.

    Cons

    Used to be a fun and fast paced place to work, I used to look forward to the working day. Unfortunately that all ended when the Germans sucked the soul out of the company. Pretty much zero investment in staff, with no incentive programs and management who treat appraisals with the contempt they deserve as they make absolutely zero difference to salary anyway and everyone knows it.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your staff! Some incentives would be a good start... bonus schemes?? Anything to increase moral and motivation really...

    Fasthosts Internet2017-10-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Working at MT_Nutri"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Gloucester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fasthosts Internet part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Nice place to work, with laptops and working from anywhere. We dropship alot of our own labels so nice feeling when people are using the products

    Cons

    Fast moving environment - management very focused on numbers.

    Advice to Management

    Have an office so everyone can contribute

    Fasthosts Internet2017-08-05
  7. "Fasthosts Is changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fasthosts Internet

    Pros

    Relatively relaxed environment, poor management although I believe most of this has now been replaced and is ran from Germany. Still a few old timers their reminiscing the good old days but more and more of them are moving on now!

    Cons

    The Germans have taken over and I actually feel sorry for the customers as the level of customer service is woeful at best!

    Fasthosts Internet2017-07-26
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Human Resources Officer in Gloucester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fasthosts Internet full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for, good ethos, good facilities and offices, most importantly are the GREAT people who work there. Fantastic HR team biased I know...

    Cons

    Benefits could be a little better, training for all

    Advice to Management

    Have a great bunch of people look after them and nurture them going forward

    Fasthosts Internet2017-06-15
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Not the worst place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gloucester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fasthosts Internet full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Reasonable work environment, friendly staff, free coffee and fruit

    Cons

    If you're dedicated they will overwork you - there is always more that needs done. Little opportunity for advancement and training. Pay is average in the field but expectations are high. Poor bonuses and monetary incentives. There has been a lot of people leaving recently (very experienced too) and they are struggling to recruit so everything is a bit more of a panic than usual.

    Advice to Management

    Improve pay and conditions. Expect less from your employees and hire more to cover staffing shortages.

    Fasthosts Internet2017-03-06
  10. "Overall a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Gloucester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fasthosts Internet

    Pros

    Good salary + reasonable training. Decent benefits package. Good team spirit. A fair amount of interesting technology. Not overly hierarchical. Strong investment in new infrastructure. Reasonably flexible working.

    Cons

    Horrible HR. Too much involvement from head office (Germany) resulting in confused strategy. Still a fair amount of legacy infrastructure, focus tents to be on new products (or whatever the current flavour of the month from germany is) rather than retiring the legacy crap.

    Advice to Management

    Logging/acknowledging risks isn't the same as fixing them. Spend a bit more engineering time on decommissioning legacy platforms. Tell Germany to ram it.

    Fasthosts Internet2016-10-10
Found 19 reviews