Favor Runner Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Runner

Favor Runner Reviews

Updated Dec 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
76%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Favor Chief Executive Officer, President Jag Bath (no image)
Jag Bath
44 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "It's a gamble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Runner in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Favor for less than a year

    Pros

    You can work whenever you want.

    Cons

    Doesn't pay enough. You get $2.10 per favor automatically and customers are allowed to tip as little as $2 no matter how long you took to do the favor, which can be an hour or more sometimes. $4.10 for an hour isn't fair at all. So you're just gambling and hoping people will be good tippers.

    Favor2018-05-14
  2. "Pass this company up, they only care about their bottom line"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Favor Runner in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Favor for more than a year

    Pros

    Running when ever you like

    Cons

    Runner Success takes forever to reply No feedback about complaints received Backend services go up and down in peak times unreceived calls/texts/alerts are REALLY common when you're running SUPER WIDE ZONES so you'll put the miles on no gas repayment no mileage reimbursement

    Continue reading
    Favor2018-04-23
  3. "Great opportunity for the college student looking to work part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Food Runner in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Favor for more than a year

    Pros

    Work when you want $9/hr minimum pay Work from the comfort of your own car Expanding company

    Cons

    Experience depends on location (city area will gather more tips, however much more assigned favors.) Pay for your own gas

    Favor2018-02-21
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Needs improvement for runners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Runner in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Favor for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible hours - Business model has potential

    Cons

    - Runners must rely too much on tips for income. - No compensation for miles driven or gas. No incentive to take runs further than 2-3 miles in totality. - Difficult to get on a schedule. - Average of $9/hr is gross and doesn’t take into consideration overhead operating costs. - Minimum tip is too low at $2. You could do a 1 hour run and make only $4.10 gross in that hour for your time and effort.

    Continue reading
    Favor2018-01-31
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Runner in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Favor

    Pros

    Making your own hours is definitely a plus only when on schedule

    Cons

    Please beware the following : 1. If you are not on the schedule you will likely make less than minimum wage, apprx. $4 an hour, see below: As of this morning I have 3 - 4 'unfunded' Favors, this happens when the users don't tip you. If they don't tip within 24 hours Favor auto bills the customer only $2 regardless of the time it took to complete the Favor or its difficulty. So literally 3 of my 4 Favors from this past Friday will be $2 plus the delivery fee of $2 meaning I will be making about $4 an hour. (Wondering if this is legal, even if I was 'on call'...) 2. The customers can review you, however you can't review the customers. This means the folks above that are the ones Favor forces to tip can continue to abuse Runners. I live in Houston, and we are not a generous people here. Wouldn't it be nice if Runners could review those tipping them to watch out for the abusers? 3. Lastly, the zones need a lot of work in the Houston metro. This is the largest city, so far as city limits go, geographically in the U.S. The average Favor here takes about 45 minutes and uses up gas and the aforementioned time of the Runner. Those zones must be shrunk or I am confident, Favor will lose out here in Houston, TX. Why, because it appears that the app is set up disproportionately in favor (no pun here) of the customer and this is at the literal expense of the Runners.

    Continue reading
    Favor2018-02-12
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Runner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Runner in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Favor part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a lot of perks such as making your own schedule, getting to be your own boss, and getting to know the city you're driving in. There is also a $9/hour guarantee when you get on the schedule in time to select your hours in advance.

    Cons

    In my experience, you really have to stack up hours with favor in order to truly make a profit with how much money you lose in gas and occasional parking fees. Runners are often looked down upon at restaurants because we can't tip the people serving our customers. In addition, the orders from customers are often vague, and you're left having to ask several questions on their preferences, and I often have instances where they are slow to answer. This serves a challenge when I'm at a busy restaurant with a line out the door behind me. Hours can also be hard to claim in smaller towns like San Marcos, because there's such a large amount of runners. It can also be tricky when you have little information about the restaurant, sometimes I may get an order during rush hour downtown, and I'm stuck spending extra time searching for parking, and causing it to take a much longer time.

    Continue reading
    Favor2018-01-03
  7. "great company, but understand it has limits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Runner in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Favor for less than a year

    Pros

    flexibility of schedule, decent pay, 1099 contractor

    Cons

    runner support can be subpar,

    Favor2017-12-05
  8. "inconsistent but good for extra money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Runner in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Favor for more than a year

    Pros

    scheduled times are guaranteed nine dollars an hour. no direct boss. work on your own time. they are quick to help if you run into a problem.

    Cons

    hard to get consistent scheduled shifts. no minimum order amount.

    Favor2017-11-14
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Great SIDE job for young people using beater cars."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Runner in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Favor for more than a year

    Pros

    You will earn the most when you are UPFRONT WITH RUNNER SUPPORT and let them know when you think another runner would perform the delivery more efficiently, and if you communicate with the customer in confusing situations. I have never officially scheduled myself but the service is always busy and I have orders usually in seconds. I've been able to maintain a 4.9+ star rating since the beginning because I make it a point to complete my deliveries in a very timely fashion, and I enjoy it because I organize my trip and complete the procedural steps when there is free time in the delivery. You should also have a fuel efficient vehicle. I generate about 15-25 dollars an hour and my deliveries usually take about half an hour and a quarter mile of gas.

    Cons

    Overlapping orders may be stressful and communicating reassignments is hard during a drive. Lack of tipping creates a serious tension between runners and restaurants. Traffic is terrible and college kids usually give you the most time consuming orders in the most complicated complexes with the cheapest tip. Sorry not sorry but wealthier areas are generally the smarter starter points.

    Continue reading
    Favor2017-09-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Favor Runner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Runner in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Favor for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company and I liked the ops people who I reported to

    Cons

    Weird hours, sometimes the delivery time was unrealistic

    Continue reading
    Favor2017-09-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 124 reviews