Feedzai Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Feedzai Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Feedzai CEO Nuno Sebastião
Nuno Sebastião
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Expand your horizons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Feedzai full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will be surrounded by motivated people, ready to help and full of knowledge to share. It is a great place if you want to learn new techniques, improve your coding skills and keep up with the latest technologies. The implemented solutions must fit high standards, as we are dealing with aggressive performance requirements. If you are looking for a challenge, then Feedzai is certainly an option to consider.

    Cons

    Things are changing really quickly, so it is hard to get a long-term detailed plan. Overall documentation of the product could also be improved, although the constant help of other team members help mitigating a bit this flaw.

    Feedzai2016-01-21
  2. Helpful (11)

    "my experience at Feedzai"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Coimbra, Coimbra
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Feedzai full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great onboarding Great work conditions Good ambiance All the members of the team really care with each other like a family felling. I made into the company through internship, that i feel like that I am doing something of value. After the internship the contract was proposed to me with good conditions. Very flexibility because we can come and go at the time that best fits our life and where we can work from... home whenever necessary.

    Show More

    Cons

    Better specification and explaining on all the components and teams of the company.

    Feedzai2019-07-11
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Feedzai, the new way of feeling Stockholm Syndrome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Feedzai full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you're on a product team you might have a good work-life balance. Otherwise, if you're working with a client, it's the real hell, because, you need to develop features in a short amount of time. Feedzai is remote-friendly, so working for home is not a problem. The technical challenges are Feedzai's greatest selling point for software engineers and data-scientist: at Feedzai you'll learn a lot and you will be... able to develop your soft skills as well. And if you're passionate about software development and you have the luck of being in the right team the environment created by some team members will challenge yourself in a positive way. Feedzai has very interesting technical challenges as machine learning, huge data sets, etc. Depending on the team, you'll have brilliant and hard-working colleagues.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Teams/Product To be fair, like all companies, you need to be lucky with your team/project. In my opinion, I was lucky because I always worked with some of the most hard-worker persons that I ever met in my entire career. But some teams at Feedzai are just lost in their duties and their tasks are accumulating during dozen of sprints. In those teams, the Technical Project Managers and Engineering Managers cannot do... anything because those teams just don't work together and they don't talk about the real team problems. About the product, the strategic direction is always changing and that vision is always sales-driven ("just do all those new features requested by the clients" -- under a minefield). - Managers Feedzai should start using the same standards used to hire Software Engineers in order to hire Managers. Don't get me wrong, because Feedzai also has good Managers (those that had grown at Feedzai, the ones that know the original products, those ones that know the people and the real difficulties that teams have). Some Technical Project Managers and Product Manager are just lost in their work and that isn't their fault, the fault is the poor onboarding process for those positions and the fact of Feedzai has a huge lack of mentoring in order to be possible for a software engineer grows to Manager or Team Lead positions. Is the typical Portuguese mentality "Is from outside? It's better". - Career It's very difficult to have a career growth at Feedzai and is a very slow compensation growth. Their performance standards are very high when compared to other companies. It's very unfair when your manager doesn't give you a promotion when you have great reviews and you do an extra mile in order to step up your career, but other managers give promotions to other guys that don't have the same impact as you had. The salary ranges are not public, but it's easier to figure it out. - Culture The culture is a very difficult thing to manage, but at Feedzai is ridiculous the disparity of culture in different offices. For example, the Porto office doesn't have the same engineering culture that there is in Coimbra or Lisbon. And the product team doesn't do anything to change that, because the product decisions and product management are centered in Lisbon. So it's normal the people from Lisbon have more influence in product decisions and have a better ramp-up in their career because they are closer to the product team. So you don't have the same careers opportunities that some people have in other offices but in the same company. This kind of situations is just ridiculous. But there are more problems in culture and they deserved the leadership's attention. Like misleading and masked pieces of information in all-hands meetings or the huge turn-over ratio.

    Show More
    Feedzai2019-08-15
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Top notch tech environment with a fast paced momentum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Lisbon
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Feedzai full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very high standards all around, from engineering to sales. Most of your colleagues will be better than you, meaning you can learn a lot quickly and effectively. Leaders lead by example. The company really tries to adapt over time, you can see the effort to re-shape over and over again as we move from 50, to 100, to 200, and so on until the 500 that we have today. That growth is sustained by a healthy business,... there's never been any real financial problems so far.

    Show More

    Cons

    Most times it feels that we grow too fast. The technical challenges are already huge, but become much harder when you pair it with a fast growing company. This is great for ambitious people who want to grow fast early in their career, but some times can be scary for other people.

    Feedzai2019-07-17
  5. Helpful (8)

    "It depends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Porto, Oporto
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Feedzai full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Above average compensation for graduates. Depending on the team, you might have a good work-life balance and the room to develop future-proof software (with the calm that requires) or the total opposite, if you are working directly with a client, or on a client-driven feature. I was lucky enough to be mostly on the first bucket. Work from home is not a problem, if it makes sense. Your managers usually care about... you, both as a person and employee. They'll push you for personal growth that you can leverage, even if you leave Feedzai, and try to make you happy while you're there (by changing processes or even having you switch teams or roles). VERY interesting technical challenges: machine learning, huge data sets, real time scenario, fault-tolerance, product-as-a-framework, etc. Depending on the team, you'll have brilliant and hard-working colleagues, from engineering, to IT, to data science (including managers). This coupled with the technical challenges is Feedzai's greatest selling point: it's really a place for learning (not only technology, but also critical thinking, curiosity, resilience, project management, etc) and challenging yourself in a positive way.

    Show More

    Cons

    Excruciatingly slow compensation growth. You're expected to perform in much more demanding conditions when compared to other companies (very complex product, hard technical challenges), but your compensation won't reflect that since it will be "just" average, even if you're not allowed to be. No equity. The 2 points above lead to a disconnection between the company's success and your own. You might have great... reviews and step up your game, but the only way you might get compensated is with a title (even if for obvious reasons this is not a tactic that can be used forever). Salary ranges are not public, but you'll eventually figure it out. Strategic direction is constantly changing. Sales-driven. Product direction feels like reactive rather than proactive. Worrisome turnover that someone (senior leadership? HR?) is trying to mask, instead of trying to understand the cause and doing something about it. The Porto office didn't manage to bootstrap the same level of engineering culture that there is in Coimbra or Lisbon, meaning that you won't feel the same level of technical excellence and commitment to the company as you do there. This is a really hard problem to solve, even though it has deserved the leadership's attention.

    Show More
    Feedzai2019-04-25
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Fast paced, challenging and exciting. Very talented people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Lisbon
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Feedzai full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Constant learning. The fast pace creates many opportunities to acquire skills you may not be used to and the company invests in your training, chosen by you (with managers approval of course); - Highly skilled people. This is a great plus in my opinion, as it contrasts with a lot of stories I hear from friends in some other companies; - Friendly environment, great team spirit; - The impact of your individual... contributions is visible and many transactions all over the world are processed by your code :) - If you suggest changes in processes, they can happen. Of course you will need to think well about the impact of the changes (gains and cost of implementing) and justify your position, but that is what should be expected every time, right? - There's openness for you to change positions if you wish to;

    Show More

    Cons

    - The work/life balance MAY be hard to achieve. In many cases I think it is one's "fault" that they end up working too much. I think this is natural in our countries' culture, sadly. People want to reach their ambitious goals or meet some deadline based on an estimative they themselves failed. Although, I think no one will "force you" to work extra time, except some very rare cases. So, if you have discipline you... can easily meet that work life balance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Keep listening to employees' feedback. I have seen huge improvements regarding employee recognition and communications lately (with some still on-going); - Be proactive reacting to drops in motivation or people working excessively. I can't really say if this is a reason for some people to leave, but it is clearly something that will hurt MAINLY in the long term. We already have some ways to measure these problems..., we just need more action on that. Of course the employees themselves could solve that problem and should be proactive as well :)

    Show More
    Feedzai2019-04-08
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Challenging and with rough edges, but meaningful, rewarding and super-charged technical learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Lisbon
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Feedzai full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Feedzai is transforming from start up to established company. That transition does not happen without some hiccups and tbh sometimes it shows. Some processes need to mature. One of the harder things to get right in such a context is communication. The balance between being fast-paced and totally clear on comms is something to improve. Nonetheless, the work we do here is almost always to solve technically complex... and large-scale problems. The technical community in Feedzai is full of really great engineers, and that provides a learning environment that pushes everyone to get better. Sometimes it can feel overwhelming, but it is a matter of adjusting to the pace and be up to the challenge. Flexibility is another good thing. You can make your own schedule and you will know how to adjust, if needed, to be as efficient and collaborative as possible considering also your coworkers and the results your team needs to achieve. The company mission - to fight fraud in finance and commerce - is meaningful and impacts society for the better. As an engineer I like to know our tech is solving something that matters.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Company-wide processes should mature (team-based, product development processes work great) - The company should do better when it comes to celebrating success

    Advice to Management

    Try to anticipate changes. We all know that priorities shift, and that is a good thing as a tool to react to changing circumstances, but some extra outlook would be good.

    Feedzai2019-01-28
  8. Helpful (15)

    "Great company with alot of problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Lisbon
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Feedzai full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company works hard to build a great environment. You work with the latest technologies. It's a great professional challenge.

    Cons

    Communication inside the company is terrible. Many people are emotionally underdeveloped. Feedzai is a good company but when things go bad, they go really bad. After leaving the company, HR stopped responding to me, even though they owed a large sum of money. They only transferred me the money 1.5 month later and without my written agreement (required by law in Portugal) and no receipt.

    Advice to Management

    Don't expect so much from your workers if you don't provide them with the best conditions. Improve the HR department, it still has miles to go.

    Feedzai2018-10-09
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Highly specialized, Good environment/opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Quality Assurance Engineer and Testers in Coimbra, Coimbra
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Feedzai full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome team mates that always try to improve the way things are done. Great technical challenges to be solved and a genuine interest in implementing the best solutions. Competitive salaries and perks. Reasonable opportunity of switching positions. Highly qualified personnel make up for interesting conversations.

    Cons

    High specialization of the personnel limits how much you can grow horizontally and creates some segregation (Teams and employees with different responsabilities talk with each other, but the trend is for your work to become ever more specialized in a certain area limiting the number of people you need to talk to and the topics you talk about, this may produce better results and improve your skills in that particular... area, in my personal view though I think it limits the growth of the employee to one area, especially me being in the beginning of my career). Company growth consumes most of HR and management thoughts. Sales and costumer satisfaction lead most of the development.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Cultivating a culture of position changing, encouraging people to propose position changes. Finding time in the calendar for improvements and features proposed by developers. Allowing time for "personal" projects, possibly in the zaikathon format that was once done. Team building events, including lunches, dinners, parties, activities. Even though people complaint that these events suck, everyone likes them... and we've been losing them lately.

    Show More
    Feedzai2018-06-03
  10. Helpful (31)

    "Great technical experts but micromanaging slave-driver upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Porto, Oporto
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Feedzai for more than a year

    Pros

    The technical teams are mostly made up of incredibly skilled and highly driven people. The product is interesting and uses modern technology. Provides complex technical challenges. Plenty of career growth opportunities as the company is growing. Great place to work if you're looking for a technical position, at least temporarily. You'll definitely learn a lot in multiple fields/technologies.

    Cons

    Top leadership feels unprepared to handle the increasing scale of the company. (e.g. lots of micromanaging rather than let departments self-organize) Lack of transparency regarding company policies and continuously changing processes. There was a particular instance where they promised to present results about certain findings (after a reasonable amount of complaints), kept postponing for months, then eventually... went back on their word due to having been advised not to share that information. Fixed scope AND fixed time. Planning often seems to be made with the assumption people will do overtime with 0 compensation for it. Critical issues and features to get new customers keep popping up and engineers aren't given the time to work on ice boxes or address the ever-growing technical debt. There's a focus on high standards for hiring and quality, as well as expectations of staff, but the policy regarding wages is the opposite due hypocritical-feeling ideals of "we don't want people to be driven by money so we'll only pay in the average levels for the region". Right away followed by stuff like "we want to be the next Google of Portugal". You're often expected to take on more responsibilities and work but won't see any compensation or promotion until at least 6 months after the fact and only during specific evaluation moments (even though the responsibility shifts occur way more often). Overall, it seems like upper management is trying to squeeze as much as they can out of you, and all-hands meetings/HR presentations often feel like an 'us vs them' scenario.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Trust your staff. You demand high hiring standards, let them do their work. Improve communication. Be transparent regarding policies.

    Feedzai2018-02-02
Found 12 reviews