Feedzai "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Feedzai Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 96 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Feedzai CEO Nuno Sebastião
Nuno Sebastião
73 Ratings
Pros
  • "Career opportunities - the company is growing so much that there is enough space for you to easily step up and gain more responsibilities(in 9 reviews)

  • "Flexibility to work from home or any office in Portugal as needed(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Growing company, lot's of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Feedzai full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I came from a company that was dealing with some severe problems in the development of our product, when I joined Feedzai they were dealing with an almost identical situation. However, one of the biggest differences I saw between my previous employer and Feedzai, and the main reason I joined, was that the leadership team here did not spend their time blaming others for the issues, they acknowledged the problems with... the specific project and the overall product, they worked and pushed to get the project resolved but also worked to improve the product as a whole. Since then they have been, changing from a startup mentality where everyone does multiple things, but they might not do all those things well, to scaling into a larger and more mature organization. Over the last three years the company has been growing at 300% year over year, with that type of growth there of course will be issues but each month I see new change and improvement. With the current and expected growth, there is great opportunity for anyone to advance quickly if they have the interest in it. I've only been here a short time but I see a great group of people, all working to develop a great company. The product is impressive in its technology and how we use it. Its a set of work you can feel good about, especially when your project goes live and you see the results the amount of money clients identify as captured fraud.

    Show More

    Cons

    The Cons are what I have seen at other companies, so I wouldn't say it's explicit to Feedzai, projects always have constrained budgets and timelines, clients always push for more which puts pressure on the teams to deliver. Managing the client expectations and time is a critical function that we could all do better to manage. that puts pressure on people to perform and sometimes that causes stress and issues. We... should work to make sure the work-life balance is being achieved.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to review and develop those in the company that have high potential. Understand that work-life balance is important and help spread that message. Help make implementation more efficient.

    Feedzai2019-07-15
  2. Helpful (15)

    "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Feedzai full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company is growing fast. Good place to start, bad place to stay.

    Cons

    Most people are miserable, company culture is a bit toxic, lot's of stress and complete disregard for work life balance. Management expects you to work late and on the weekends. Pay is below average with little to no raises.

    Advice to Management

    Talk to the employees and understand why everyone in all offices are so unhappy.

    Feedzai2019-08-15
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Technical Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Feedzai

    Pros

    I am empowered to create positive change at Feedzai. Feedzai has a great culture of working together and having fun.

    Cons

    Since Feedzai is still in start up mode there are times where you'll need to work outside of normal hours. It's never too much to overburden my work life balance.

    Feedzai2015-11-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting company for Builders and Doers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pre-Sales Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Feedzai full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Been working at Feedzai for two years and during that time, the pace and growth rate has been enormous - unlike many other companies, it empowers the people to make a difference. You're not just a plus one - you will be an individual who will have the opportunity to make a difference, which is a challenge few companies are willing to give to their employees. Feedzai has what I can consider the most talented group... of people I have ever seen in a single organization - that combined with the fast paced environment ensures you will not have boring days at all. The company vibe is awesome, environment is relaxed and easy going, which created the perfect conditions for the employees to give their best every single day. If you're a builder If you like to get things done If you're proactive and enjoy what you do If you want to be part of this unique journey - this is the perfect place to be.

    Show More

    Cons

    Such unique companies are not for everyone - however, if you never try, then you never know. Employee empowerment gives also responsibility - to get things done, to find creative solutions to handle the growing pains, put the extra mile when needed. Some people just don't like or adapt very well to it. Like all companies, challenges do exist - fast paced environments means work/life balance can be a sensitive... topic sometimes, processes may not be as matured as they are in other companies. It will all come down to what people do value more: security of being is a fully matured company, do what you're told and nothing else - or being in a place where your work is appreciated and is an invaluable asset to its success.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    People is the #1 asset of any company.

    Feedzai2019-08-12
  5. Helpful (3)

    "It has been great. Do not lose the momentum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Feedzai full-time

    Pros

    There are many different things I consider Feedzai is great at. To enumerate a few: 1. A true learning culture - this is something that not many companies can beat. each employee receives each year a training budget to spend according to their goals. The company is really interested in having people learn and grow and I couldn't see any other way to express that better than this. 2. Focus on continuous... improvement - from product, to processes, to people. The latter was not always true, but this has changed significantly lately - from local all hands, to spending time to properly train managers, to be open/spend time talking about the culture and how it's expected to see it happen every day (btw, the company even launched a code book that talks about all of these, which is very enlightening in this regard). All in all, the company recognizes that change is necessary and expected, specially in a fast-growing environment like this, but having in mind that the goal is always to be greater than yesterday, to raise the bar (not pushing for change just for the sake of it). 3. Career opportunities - the company is growing so much that there is enough space for you to easily step up and gain more responsibilities. Besides this, the company has such a great pool of talent that you feel challenged and pushed every day just by working with your peers (who, by the way, can be from very different backgrounds/locations / cultures which makes it even more special). 4. Open communication channels and collaboration all around - although the company is already +400 employees, collaboration and teamwork are in every corner. You feel part of a team and you feel you have a voice - the founders and most of the senior leaders are very approachable so you can easily have a chat with them when you feel like it.

    Show More

    Cons

    No company is perfect so, yes, there are some things that could be improved. 1. Taking care of people and culture was something that was set aside for a long period of time. We've seen some positive changes happening but it's important to not lose the momentum and build upon what is already in place (as an example - review the way people are recognized, salary bands). 2. Have the leaders be the example of the... principles - the code book provides an important guidance on what the culture should be, but if this is not reinforced by every single senior leader on a daily basis, then nothing will stick and the code book won't serve its purpose. I'm afraid that some of them, some times, are more worried about who to blame than actually stop and recognize that some actions of the people around them are a reflection on what the senior leader does. 3. Work Life balance can be hard specially when working with teams that are spread in multiple time zones. It would also depend on the team you happen to land. The company is getting better at recognizing this but there is still work to do here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't lose the momentum - there are good things happening right now that are having a real positive impact in the culture and people's engagement. I must also say that with this new mindset and strategy, and to make people realize how serious the company is with all these different initiatives, it would be the perfect moment to have HR be part of the senior leadership (as in, reporting to the CEO directly), instead... of being represented by Operations, a team mostly focused on processes and numbers. This would also allow the CEO to be better advised on what's really happening on the ground and how to better align the people and the business strategy.

    Show More
    Feedzai2019-07-21
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Fast paced, challenging and exciting. Very talented people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Lisbon
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Feedzai full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Constant learning. The fast pace creates many opportunities to acquire skills you may not be used to and the company invests in your training, chosen by you (with managers approval of course); - Highly skilled people. This is a great plus in my opinion, as it contrasts with a lot of stories I hear from friends in some other companies; - Friendly environment, great team spirit; - The impact of your individual... contributions is visible and many transactions all over the world are processed by your code :) - If you suggest changes in processes, they can happen. Of course you will need to think well about the impact of the changes (gains and cost of implementing) and justify your position, but that is what should be expected every time, right? - There's openness for you to change positions if you wish to;

    Show More

    Cons

    - The work/life balance MAY be hard to achieve. In many cases I think it is one's "fault" that they end up working too much. I think this is natural in our countries' culture, sadly. People want to reach their ambitious goals or meet some deadline based on an estimative they themselves failed. Although, I think no one will "force you" to work extra time, except some very rare cases. So, if you have discipline you... can easily meet that work life balance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Keep listening to employees' feedback. I have seen huge improvements regarding employee recognition and communications lately (with some still on-going); - Be proactive reacting to drops in motivation or people working excessively. I can't really say if this is a reason for some people to leave, but it is clearly something that will hurt MAINLY in the long term. We already have some ways to measure these problems..., we just need more action on that. Of course the employees themselves could solve that problem and should be proactive as well :)

    Show More
    Feedzai2019-04-08
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Software Developer Summer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Summer Intern in Lisbon
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Feedzai for less than a year

    Pros

    Inteligent people and healthy environment that makes you learn a lot.

    Cons

    From what I have seen, work/life balance can be difficult to achieve.

    Feedzai2018-07-31
  8. Helpful (23)

    "Fast Growth Company with toxic culture and flaky leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Feedzai full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Work with some exciting technology - Flexible schedule - Great people working here - Free fruit and coffee in the office - You’ll have career growth opportunities (but without salary raises)

    Cons

    - There is no culture in this company. HR kill any initiative to implement something to improve workers’ lives; - There is not transparency in this company; - Salary raises: they’ll promises you lots of things during the year but after annual performance reviews you won’t get a salary raise. Always ask to sign a document if they promise you any raise; - Work life balance is horrible. Expect a lot of overtime. -... Salary is lower than average. - The HR communication is awful! They don’t have people skills.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire a new HR team! You don’t have people skills! If you want to be the next Google you should: - Give value and respect your employees; - Give training to managers;

    Feedzai2018-08-23
  9. Helpful (24)

    "Don’t recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Porto, Oporto
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Feedzai full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work with some exciting technology

    Cons

    Work life balance is horrible. Expect a lot of overtime. No salary growth.

    Feedzai2018-06-04
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Flexible and lean startup with a lot of potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front-End Developer in Coimbra, Coimbra
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Feedzai full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible work schedule/location with a very lean hierarchical structure. There is a lot of space to grow both in technical and personal terms and the environment is, for the most part, quite friendly. Folks are very pragmatic and there is little bureaucracy of politics. At least the office where I work is nice and it doesn't make me feel like a robot in a box. The compensation is also very adequate.

    Cons

    I think sometimes the work/life balance is not respected as much as it should. There is not a lot of cohesion between employees working on different offices. If you like the outdoors, being stuck inside of an office for a day is a little tiresome.

    Advice to Management

    In order to reduce employee turnover I think it is important to promote a more healthier work/life balance. Also, I think there should be more group activities that involve getting out of the office.

    Feedzai2016-01-27
Found 96 reviews