Fein, Such & Crane Reviews | Glassdoor

Fein, Such & Crane Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

1.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
14%
Recommend to a Friend
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Laid Back Work Enviornment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fein, Such & Crane

    Pros

    -flexible work schedule. (if time off is ever need you just need to ask your supervisor for the time off, even if it is last minute, and the request is almost always granted.) Also if you do not want to use a paid time off day you are always able to make the time up in which you have request off so long as it is within that pay period. -the higher-ups (every one of the people who are considered the "higher ups" or supervisors...

    Show More

    Cons

    the only con i have been able to discover while working here is that since the offices are located in downtown Rochester you do have to pay for parking.

    Fein, Such & Crane2016-06-14
  2. "Abandon all hope, ye who enter here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Fein, Such & Crane full-time

    Pros

    -Free coffee -Management is so incompetent that you'll feel 10x smarter as a person -Just enough money to somewhat afford survival

    Cons

    -Prepare to work like a dog and receive zero appreciation -Morale is non-existent, a girl has mental breakdowns every 5 minutes in the back corner. Crying, yelling, you name it. -Everything needs to be done yesterday -Impossible workload -People gossip like little school girls (including if not mostly management)

    Advice to Management

    Since you aren't truly receptive to feedback, my only advice is to enjoy what finite time you have on this Earth in this failing law firm. Seriously, live it up! Because your reputation does follow you, and your former co-workers will squeeze you out of any respectable business you apply to once this place is run into the ground. Good luck!

    Fein, Such & Crane2018-09-07
  3. "Truly Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Fein, Such & Crane full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility with schedules for when you want to set up interviews elsewhere. Joke things like dress down days and childish coupons for leaving early.

    Cons

    Never present attorneys or if they are present they are overwhelmed Constant bickering from management and other employees

    Advice to Management

    Actually put effort into your staff... actually care for your people and don't just treat them like something that's disposable. Maybe have more than one attorney in the office that actually does something.

    Fein, Such & Crane2018-07-03
  4. "Horrible job experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Paralegal 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Fein, Such & Crane full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers are relatively friendly at first

    Cons

    Horrible training, complete lack of communication re: expectations and long term goals. Additionally, the office is completely mismanaged. I was told by my team lead to give executed notices to a more experienced member of the team for filing. That team-member neglected to follow through and I was blamed when a stack of over 40 notices was found in a random drawer. My supervisors refused to listen to my side of the story,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Completely rework training, fire middle management.

    Fein, Such & Crane2018-04-16
  5. "Could be worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Fein, Such & Crane full-time

    Pros

    They are much more flexible in terms of breaks and paid time off compared to other similar firms. It's a job that gets your foot in the door to the industry. They never refuse anyone who interviews, so easy in. Lots of opportunity for overtime, which can offset the low pay. You won't get offered OT though if you slack off during regular hours. The benefits are indulgently priced, but they're there.

    Cons

    Some (most) management is do as I say, not as I do. They can be found on extended breaks at the coffee shop downstairs, long lunches, Pokémon Go hunts, or coming in late (they're salaried so they don't care). The pay is adequate only for those who live at home and have no financial responsibilities, which is perfect for most employees there. If you're a good workhorse, you get all the work, but those who complain they're...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would suggest being a better example for employees.

    Fein, Such & Crane2017-06-28
  6. "Great place to start career after college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Fein, Such & Crane full-time

      Pros

      Bagel Monday and Friday Breakfast Pizza Thursday Predictable Schedule

      Cons

      Drama Unkind coworkers Poor Training Large turnover Poor Salary

      Advice to Management

      Train your employees better

      Fein, Such & Crane2017-03-02
    • "They will eat you alive if you're not careful"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales in Rochester, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Fein, Such & Crane full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      When I left college, no one was hiring except Fein, Such & Crane, so I'm thankful that they were able to give me a position when there was nothing else out there. If you show potential, they will try to teach you and foster your foreclosure knowledge. Everyone else working there was also fresh out of college, so your coworkers became your fast friends and you were able to commiserate with each other.

      Cons

      Lawyers are hard to work for. It is a cutthroat environment. Banks were constantly changing their minds on procedures and with zero training, it was so easy to screw up. There was no slap on the wrist, it was an automatic verbal assault. There was a huge backlog of files and there was no way to catch up. Sometimes you had to speak with debtors on the phone, which was emotionally rough. Coworkers who had been there a long...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Try to actually value and teach your employees. Don't pay the bare minimum, or at least offer to pay for the astronomical parking garage fees.

      Fein, Such & Crane2016-08-25
    • "You can do better if you look harder."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Legal Assistant in Rochester, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Fein, Such & Crane

      Pros

      The other legal assistants are all younger, which can be a good or a bad thing depending on how old you are. Breakfast pizza on Thursdays.

      Cons

      The pay is insulting. The workload is enormous. It is entirely deadline based and can be stressful at times. Didn't actually have training, it was a "figure it out as you go, but we will give you actual files to work on instead of dummy ones because that makes total sense right??"

      Advice to Management

      You demand a college degree to even apply and then give a pittance for compensation. Pay your workers better, and maybe they will care more.

      Fein, Such & Crane2016-06-17
    • "Paralegal"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Fein, Such & Crane

        Pros

        The office location is convenient.

        Cons

        Training is nonexistent. The whole staffing model relies on grabbing smart college graduates, and then not training and underpaying them until they leave. When I was there, it took three years to become eligible for benefits.

        Advice to Management

        Train people and provide advancement opportunities.

        Fein, Such & Crane2016-04-30
      • "Not the greatest place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Paralegal in Westbury, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Fein, Such & Crane full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        You have a lot of privacy, a huge desk, and a very comfortable chair

        Cons

        The pay was low, the management was horrible, low company morale, they expect way too much work from people, you're not allowed to talk about any topics that aren't work related

        Fein, Such & Crane2016-05-20
      Found 14 reviews