Ferris State University Reviews | Glassdoor

Ferris State University Reviews

Updated Jun 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
David L. Eisler
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours allowed me to create my own schedule in order to allow time for my classes and study schedule(in 10 reviews)

  • "flexible schedule and great experience(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's a such small town; if you would like to stay in a quiet area, then you would be fine(in 4 reviews)

  • "Unsupported work place by upper management(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Committed to Employee Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Specialist in Big Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ferris State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My particular program is committed to employee growth and development so that we can become better leaders and change agents during tough economic times in higher education.

    Cons

    Some resistance to change and clinging to an organizational structure that will not serve us much longer. However, there are some incredible thought leaders and they are working toward long term sustainability.

    Advice to Management

    Mine has been excellent and I have learned more than I could have ever imagined.

    Ferris State University2019-05-06
  2. "Decent Salary and Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Technician in Big Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ferris State University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent Salary and Benefits at FSU

    Cons

    it's in Big Rapids, not much to do.

    Ferris State University2019-06-12
  3. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Big Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ferris State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are nice and I enjoyed the free food

    Cons

    Management sucks, can be stressful at times

    Advice to Management

    Care more

    Ferris State University2019-06-16
  4. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Equipment Manager in Big Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ferris State University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, works with class schedule.

    Cons

    Has to have work study on financial aid.

    Ferris State University2019-04-05
  5. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Security Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ferris State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers and flexible hours

    Cons

    A little disorganized at times

    Ferris State University2019-03-13
  6. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions 

    I have been working at Ferris State University full-time

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues Light travel for fairs/recruitment events Mostly computer work and fielding questions from applicants

    Cons

    Seasonal fluctuations in workload Not on the cutting edge, more status quo in most aspects of college

    Ferris State University2019-02-24
  7. "Alright for a student part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ferris State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked as a crew member at The Rock Made a good chunk of change Flexible hours

    Cons

    Got a knife pulled on me by management

    Ferris State University2019-03-10
  8. "Ferris Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Big Rapids, MI

      I have been working at Ferris State University full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Friendly Inclusive work environment, great benefits

      Cons

      Low wages, small town not much to do

      Ferris State University2019-01-16
    • "Terrible students to go along with terrible policies"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Professor 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Ferris State University full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Acceptable pay for the work, and good retirement

      Cons

      The worst qualified students I’ve ever encountered. These students cannot comprehend basics, complain, cheat, just do not want to learn. There is a game at this university. It goes like this: faculty earn tenure purely on teaching and are held by the balls by the students. Faculty recognize that their balls are squeezed and placate to student demands of easy courses. Faculty give grades out like candy and have lost any...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Support your faculty and stop bending over backwards for students.

      Ferris State University2018-11-07
    • "Senior Systems Admin"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Ferris State University full-time

      Pros

      Great Work Schedule .. Lots of PTO

      Cons

      a bit boring behind the times

      Ferris State University2018-08-16
    Found 77 reviews