Financial Finesse Reviews

Updated Dec 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
83%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Financial Finesse Founder and CEO 	Liz Davidson (no image)
Liz Davidson
18 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Wow!

    Dec 14, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Chance to make a huge impact in a growing industry. Very supportive and talented team. Tons of purpose and meaning. You will grow here if you put in the effort.

    Cons

    Can get crazy. You have to be okay with the pace and the uncertainty that comes with a rapidly growing company paving new ground. Not for the faint of heart.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Rock Star Financial Planners Who Are Changing Financial Lives

    Feb 27, 2020 - Financial Planner 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked at Financial Finesse for a little more than 4 years as a financial planner and left to pursue entrepreneurship in 2019. Over that period the company experienced rapid growth and significant organizational changes. When I first joined, it was a flat organization where the CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNERS both delivered financial wellness benefit programs and worked with the El Segundo team to build out other areas of the business. I worked primarily in communications and press as well as Think Tank research. Other planners worked in consulting, helped manage client relationships, produced videos and blogs and leveraged technology. It was a magnificent time to be with the firm. Over the years, the company grew. Roles became more specialized and structured. Less fun -- but an understandable business decision. If you are lucky enough to join Financial Finesse, you'll work with some of the smartest, most creative people you've ever met. The planners are rock stars - relatable and friendly, great teachers, with oustanding coaching skills and financial planning knowledge. It's a unique combo. The Financial Finesse planner team - some of whom have been with the firm since the very beginning - has built out best practices for designing and delivering financial wellness benefits which (in the office vernacular) "change "f*** lives. Even though most of the planners work remotely, they are a tight-knit bunch and a high performance team. I learned so much from all of them. This is what I miss most. The multi-talented team in El Segundo, focused on client relationships, technology, marketing, administration and setting up the company to grow, is wicked smart, creative and effective. If you're lucky enough to work in headquarters, you'll work in a beautiful space, bring your dog to work, and benefit from 1 x 1 access to the CEO.

    Cons

    The transition from being an early stage "all hands on deck" business to a mid-stage company was pretty messy. Financial Finesse lost two top leaders in headquarters and about 25% of the planner team (including me). The firm seems to have weathered the changes and is developing a corporate culture which fits their new stage. They continue to do good work for clients and in the world.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing Company, Unstable CEO

    Oct 28, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great mission, great and unique opportunities, great people.

    Cons

    Just know how to interpret personal interactions with the CEO and set clear boundaries. If you find yourself working closely with her and questioning yourself, know its not you. She is smart and can pull you in with personal admiration and her own 'humility', but you may find yourself caught in a toxic cycle. Textbook narcissism. Not enough to not work there, but just essential to know going in. It’s sad because the company could be so much more if she didn’t get in her own way.

    7 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Yikes

    Nov 11, 2019 - CFP 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None, it really was that bad.

    Cons

    Business model relatively unstable, recent and constant turnover of CFPs due to chaotic work environment, management's ego is much larger than their talent, high decibel office noise with nonstop profanity. Do NOT be lured into "waiting on the bench" year after year, its a lie and you will be fired at a moments notice. Devoid of ethics.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Nice company

    Apr 5, 2019 - Systems Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture and nice people

    Cons

    None I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Best

    Jan 22, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in El Segundo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    working environment was good

    Cons

    Nothing to say about the previous job

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Brilliant people, big goals, and big hearts

    Jan 28, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in El Segundo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In my time working at Financial Finesse, I have discovered that the people here are incredibly dedicated; not just to growing the business, but also to helping each other grow and expanding our reach so that more people have access to life-changing financial education. They don't just pay lip service to the mission of helping people, but truly let that mission motivate what they do. The result of their dedication is substantial growth, leadership in the Financial Wellness industry, and impacting the lives of our clients' employees. FF has a culture of open, direct communication which is refreshing and enables people to achieve at high levels. The compensation structure is excellent and provides lots of opportunity to earn beyond one's base salary by completing quarterly and annual goals. They focus on what you achieve and how well you communicate rather than what hours you work or what you wear. The expectations are high, but that is offset by providing employees a lot of flexibility, opportunity, and ownership. FF is a great place to work for anyone who is willing to push themselves to work hard, think creatively, and rise to challenges.

    Cons

    The only con for me personally is that the person primarily responsible for my training works remotely a lot so I haven't always had easy access to him for quick questions, etc. I've had to learn a lot on my own, but I've also been given the space to do so.

    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Senior Director of Operations

    Dec 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in El Segundo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can make an immediate impact

    Cons

    Growing fast with a busy 2019

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A new model for Financial Planning

    Apr 20, 2015 - Resident Financial Planner in El Segundo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was amazed to discover that there was this group of highly intelligent, self-motivated, creative, ethical professionals that shared the same mission: to help ALL people be financially well. That made it any easy decision to join them. Financial Finesse is a pioneer in the financial wellness movement. The company leverages the skills of a committed, entrepreneurial team to accomplish big goals. Financial planners help employees of client companies every day to maximize their benefits and make wiser financial decisions. The work is fascinating and meaningful. You will make a true impact. This is a rapidly growing company in a new industry. There are unlimited opportunities to contribute to a wide range of initiatives and to use skills beyond traditional financial planning (writing, research, media, technology, etc). Resident Financial Planners work from home most of the time, which makes for an ideal commute and is very family-friendly.

    Cons

    The six weeks initial onsite training is valuable in understanding the business but is a challenge if you have young children at home. If you are on the East coast, be prepared to hop back on your computer after dinner to deal with end of the day issues from the CA based headquarters team.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    My dream position

    Apr 16, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Besides the ability to provide financial guidance to people who need it the most, I enjoy the flexibility, the accountability, the transparency and the camaraderie of working at Financial Finesse. Solid base salary with decent incentives to perform and meet goals. Everyone has a say in the company and is expected to speak up. The interview process does a great job of ensuring cultural fit, which is a benefit to both current employees as well as prospective.

    Cons

    During times of rapid growth, the work load can become heavy, but everyone is aware and works hard to balance it back out. The job requires a bit of travel, which can be tough at times especially if you have a young family and/or you're involved in your community. Working from home requires a tremendous amount of boundaries, both to ensure I can get my work done and also to ensure I don't work all the time.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

Popular Careers with Financial Finesse Job Seekers

Resident Financial Planner
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Financial Finesse? Share Your Experiences

Financial Finesse logo
or