Financial Finesse Reviews

Updated Feb 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
83%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Financial Finesse Founder and CEO 	Liz Davidson (no image)
Liz Davidson
18 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Rock Star Financial Planners Who Are Changing Financial Lives"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Planner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Financial Finesse full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at Financial Finesse for a little more than 4 years as a financial planner and left to pursue entrepreneurship in 2019. Over that period the company experienced rapid growth and significant organizational changes. When I first joined, it was a flat organization where the CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNERS both delivered financial wellness benefit programs and worked with the El Segundo team to build out other areas of the business. I worked primarily in communications and press as well as Think Tank research. Other planners worked in consulting, helped manage client relationships, produced videos and blogs and leveraged technology. It was a magnificent time to be with the firm. Over the years, the company grew. Roles became more specialized and structured. Less fun -- but an understandable business decision. If you are lucky enough to join Financial Finesse, you'll work with some of the smartest, most creative people you've ever met. The planners are rock stars - relatable and friendly, great teachers, with oustanding coaching skills and financial planning knowledge. It's a unique combo. The Financial Finesse planner team - some of whom have been with the firm since the very beginning - has built out best practices for designing and delivering financial wellness benefits which (in the office vernacular) "change "f*** lives. Even though most of the planners work remotely, they are a tight-knit bunch and a high performance team. I learned so much from all of them. This is what I miss most. The multi-talented team in El Segundo, focused on client relationships, technology, marketing, administration and setting up the company to grow, is wicked smart, creative and effective. If you're lucky enough to work in headquarters, you'll work in a beautiful space, bring your dog to work, and benefit from 1 x 1 access to the CEO.

    Cons

    The transition from being an early stage "all hands on deck" business to a mid-stage company was pretty messy. Financial Finesse lost two top leaders in headquarters and about 25% of the planner team (including me). The firm seems to have weathered the changes and is developing a corporate culture which fits their new stage. They continue to do good work for clients and in the world.

    Continue reading
    Financial Finesse2020-02-28
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Amazing Company, Unstable CEO"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Financial Finesse full-time

    Pros

    Great mission, great and unique opportunities, great people.

    Cons

    Just know how to interpret personal interactions with the CEO and set clear boundaries. If you find yourself working closely with her and questioning yourself, know its not you. She is smart and can pull you in with personal admiration and her own 'humility', but you may find yourself caught in a toxic cycle. Textbook narcissism. Not enough to not work there, but just essential to know going in. It’s sad because the company could be so much more if she didn’t get in her own way.

    Financial Finesse2019-10-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Yikes"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CFP 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Financial Finesse full-time

    Pros

    None, it really was that bad.

    Cons

    Business model relatively unstable, recent and constant turnover of CFPs due to chaotic work environment, management's ego is much larger than their talent, high decibel office noise with nonstop profanity. Do NOT be lured into "waiting on the bench" year after year, its a lie and you will be fired at a moments notice. Devoid of ethics.

    Continue reading
    Financial Finesse2019-11-11
  4. "Nice company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Financial Finesse full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and nice people

    Cons

    None I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Financial Finesse2019-04-05
  5. "Best"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in El Segundo, CA

    I worked at Financial Finesse full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    working environment was good

    Cons

    Nothing to say about the previous job

    Continue reading
    Financial Finesse2019-01-22
  6. "Senior Director of Operations"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in El Segundo, CA

    I have been working at Financial Finesse full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can make an immediate impact

    Cons

    Growing fast with a busy 2019

    Financial Finesse2018-12-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Help Desk"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Help Desk in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Financial Finesse full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great compensation - Flexible work hours - Able to work from home - No Micromanagement - Amazing people and work culture - Huge emphasis on communication and understanding each other - Sincere and genuine vision to help others through their financial struggles by financial coaching - Transparency - They reward excellent work through recognition and promotion - Work hard, play hard -Dog friendly Seriously, there are so many great things to say about this company and I can't express enough how happy and grateful I am to be working here.

    Cons

    Honestly, none that I can think of so far.

    Continue reading
    Financial Finesse2018-02-20
  8. "Resident Financial Planner"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Financial Finesse full-time

    Pros

    Company mission of changing lives trumps everything. Amazing corporate culture. Very empowering. If you're good at something and it benefits the company, you can probably work on it, even if it's not part of your "job description".

    Cons

    You may get pulled in a lot of different directions sometimes. Travel involved, so if you don't want to travel, it's probably not for you.

    Financial Finesse2017-08-16
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Impressions"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Financial Finesse full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The opportunity to work from home whenever possible is a huge positive as it allows for a work life balance that many Tier 1 companies claim but do not provide. Close proximity / accessibility to the CEO and Leadership Team. This affords you exposure that you would never typically have in a much larger company. You can express interests in very different fields than what you might have been hired for - you can explore and grow! Outside of just giving and doing your best, nothing is really set in stone. The people are genuinely nice and very approachable!

    Cons

    The culture can still be considered a bit "raw" and some portions of the interview process ( panel ) can seem very disjointed, - consider the impression being made on the mind of the candidate / new hire.

    Continue reading
    Financial Finesse2017-06-19
  10. Helpful (13)

    "bait and switch"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Financial Finesse

    Pros

    Great benefits and colleagues are nice for the most part

    Cons

    total chaos, a lot of people dont end up doing what theyre actually hired for. kind of a bait and switch situation. they're super demanding and expect you to work 12 hours a day everyday at a minimum. if you dont, it looks bad on you and people will talk. strangest part is that a lot of people are just winging it in their roles. they dont have any formal training on the additional responsibilities that get tacked onto their existing job role. if youre a financial advisor, you'll be stressed out but wont have to work in the office. also, the level of talent they require is pretty amateur (besides financial advisors), so if you stay there expect to fall behind on your skills compared to other companies and good luck finding another job if you stay there for a few years. the ceo is a nice woman but also riddled with stress and anxiety which trickles down to all her employees and makes them live in fear of losing their jobs at any moment

    Continue reading
    Financial Finesse2016-08-11

    Financial Finesse Response

    August 16, 2016Director of Talent Management

    On behalf of the team at Financial Finesse, I’m sorry that your time here left you with this perception and that it didn’t end up being the right fit for what you were seeking. Our extensive interview process is intended to ensure the best fit for both sides, but not always. This is one of the reasons we encourage candidates to ask tough questions during the process. We strive to be very up front about both our strengths and challenges, and we have a vested interest in NOT employing a “bait and switch” strategy – that is a waste of your time or ours, and it doesn’t make sense. As a quickly growing company, we have unique challenges, and working here is very different than more traditionally structured companies. We need to meet the demand for our services while growing in a way that is responsible and doesn’t lose the core of what has driven our success thus far. A natural part of that type of growth may also be perceived as chaos to those who prefer a more structured setting. Our team of less than 50 people works with hundreds of large organizations and reaches millions of individuals – pretty phenomenal results for such a small team. Sometimes that means the work is fast paced & crazy, and at other times, the pace is more relaxed -- just as you’d expect at any rapidly growing company. Our team’s agility, mixed with some grit, creative intelligence, heart, quirkiness and fun, is our own recipe for embracing the challenges and delivering results. There is no hand holding here, but there are substantial training resources (6 weeks of on-boarding training, quarterly week long company-wide training and strategy sessions, and department budgets for external training). We encourage employees to leverage resources in a way that works best for them and have open conversations with their team leaders & the management team. If you’re unhappy – we’re unhappy. Our CEO has an uncanny ability to see trends in the financial wellness industry well before they materialize in the market. Because of that, she often communicates opportunities and threats to our business well in advance of them appearing – that may come across as anxiety, but has proven constructive and kept us in business and growing for more than 17 years. Visionaries are tough to find and sometimes misunderstood – such as the more commonly known great CEOs like Musk, Jobs, and Bezos. Thank you for your feedback, as its helpful for us and for other candidates in exploring the best fit for their careers. The employees here sincerely wish you the best in your next endeavors, and we would have no qualms about hugging you and asking about how you’re doing if we ran into you down the road.

Found 25 reviews