KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

FinancialForce

Engaged Employer

FinancialForce

Add a Review

FinancialForce Employee Reviews about "salesforce"

Updated Jul 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 304 reviews

4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
FinancialForce CEO Scott Brown
Scott Brown
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "FinancialForce is as close as it gets(in 39 reviews)

  • "Work/Life Balance (They understand people have families)(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Growing pains as a company as we scale to the next level(in 32 reviews)

  • "Salesforce limitations as Apex isn't the best language to work with(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "salesforce"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      New vision and processes for next level of growth

      Sep 27, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Shaping a start up into a proper big brand, sales and marketing machine is a tremendous opportunity. We get to adopt the best practices of both the startup and big company world's. New leadership is passionate and strategically focused on driving impact. As an aside, they are constantly looking at culture and better transparency. Everything from regular all-hands meetings to office design to off-sites is being looked at to further drive new team and existing team unification under a time of tremendous change.

      Cons

      All new leadership always comes with benefits and minuses, meaning, not everyone is up to speed how these big company players from Microsoft and Salesforce are looking to operate operating. So there can be an adoption curve pain as the company is developing a new message, processes and market focus. These are always extremely challenging to go through but they are ultimately the drivers of biggest impact. Nevertheless, it's challenging to go through, but that's always the most satisfying work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company that should be more transparent

      Jul 17, 2020 - Anononymous 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My favorite part of working at FF is the culture - The company's Diversity & Inclusion committee is phenomenal and have the support of the executives to discuss and educate people on topics like the BLM movement and the LGBTQ community which is far beyond what any other company is doing. The PSA product is amazing, we are 100% the leader in this space by a long shot.

      Cons

      There hasn't been a lot of clarity on what the exit strategy is nor is there any mention of what the plan is - my fear is that there isn't one. It looks like we are in a waiting game with Salesforce rather than gearing up for an IPO. If an IPO is not on the table, why not? What needs to be fixed or changed in order for us to get there? The lack of expectations and vigor to get there is what is missing here.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Mid Market AE

      May 14, 2018 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture that allows you, as a sales professional, to go and do as you need in order to generate business. The SE's are an awesome group that works really really hard to help you win a deal. Comp plan is very very competitive vs the rest of the market.

      Cons

      Way too many leadership changes. New leadership comes in with their vision and usually their "crew" from previous companies - yet their 'all in' strategies do not end up working, which leaves them without a job and AE's like myself - very frustrated. Of our 2 product lines, 1 is far weaker than the competition and it's not hard for prospects to see this, and the 2nd which used to be the best solution on the market has now been surpassed by the competition which leaves to very hard selling situations. Lastly, the reliance on Salesforce can prove to be very difficult as not many leads come from SF and you often find yourself competing with the SF AE over budget and project priority. This has ultimately left the sales core at FF without much of a pipeline and it's getting worse by the month.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful

      FinancialForce Response

      Sr Director, Global TA

      As with many companies, leadership changes are required at times in order to move the business to the next level. As a company, we have taken an intentional and thoughtful approach to building out a strong executive team, and our new sales leadership is here now for just a few weeks. Driving change takes time! We've got a lot of great things ahead of us. If you've got any ideas or suggestions, please come forward to your management team with them!

    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Account Executive

      Nov 4, 2015 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pros I will mention, are essentially smoke & mirrors: Selling cloud technology Mac computer What seems to be a fun culture for those working in San Francisco

      Cons

      Management: They have no idea how to develop their employees. They manage to details that do not develop talent, or increase performance. They take a negative view on all aspects of their business and are more worried about maintaining salesforce hygiene than they are making their people better. The company has little support for remote employees. The company has no training and development. The company operates like it has 25 employees , not 700 The technology isn't as mature as I was lead to believe in the interview process The sales quotas are unrealistic and not proportioned to the territory. Dramatically understaffed with sales engineers which makes running an effective sales cycle almost impossible. Need an answer to something? good luck. Employees are either over worked, or simply don't care. I'm not sure which. Over 90% of the sales team is under 100% of plan, therefore your quotas are way off.

      Continue reading
      22 people found this review helpful

      FinancialForce Response

      Senior Vice President, Employee Success

      Thank you for your feedback. It is unfortunate to see this sort of feedback from anyone, but it can only help us improve in areas where people feel frustrated and in need to training. Luckily we have a plan that includes a deeper level of training and development for our employees. Additionally, I would love to have the opportunity to discuss your concerns in person if you are so inclined. All feedback, positive and constructive, helps us be a better organization.

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Account Executive- Remote

      Jun 20, 2016 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good group of people. Territories were at one time large enough to be able to make money.

      Cons

      Internal promotion based on being at right place at right time or friendships vs. experience. Hired too many AE's such that less than 10% hit quota in 2015. Salaries not competitive with the marketplace. Micromanagement through Salesforce. AE's have to have incredible detail in CRM and are expected to spend their evenings doing account maintenance. Accounting product was supposed to be on par with competition 2 yrs ago, and is still lacking. PSA solution is top tier, however many territories have no PSA opportunity and tough to make number without selling PSA.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Glad to be on a winning team!

      Mar 2, 2017 - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - not micromanaged - solid perks and benefits - realistic leadership vision is still a challenge we can rise to - positioned to win in major markets - you won't get here "too late" to make an impact

      Cons

      Growing pains are a given when you're building a rocketship. From what I've seen, a lot of the former fires are being put out, not with bandaids but with culture changing fixes. Keep this up! - as a lot of the salesforce is remote, encourage collaboration to keep us close.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      If You Are Not In Sales, You Don't Exist

      Apr 18, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salesforce Platform, Some people care

      Cons

      As other reviews state, over the last year 90% of the leadership team has been replaced. While change is inevitable as an organization grows, treating non-Sales employees like they don't exist cannot be the norm. Our President and Sales leadership like to tout the most minor sales accomplishment on our company wide chatter, but when someone from another department deserves recognition, it is only shared with their own team. For example, a new Account Executive joins the Sales team, it gets announced on the all company Chatter group, however when an non-Sales employee achieves Salesforce MVP (a really big deal), it isn't even mentioned. The Sales team gets rewarded with trips to Costa Rica, or prizes for attracting leads, while other teams who actually do "real work" get nothing. Furthermore, this company has no compensation policy outside of Sales - we don't know when we should expect an increase, and forget about career paths - they don't exist either. Our new leadership also thinks we are a lot "bigger" and "mature" then we are. The fact of the matter is our Products are not fully Enterprise ready yet, and we either are in denial or not smart enough to realize it. If you read the Chatter feed for our company's leaders you will see plenty of escalations to senior management from most of our enterprise customers (our CSMs do a great job though of using the limited resources they have to mitigate this). In order to grow at a rate that our new CEO would like us to, we need to invest more in our Products to get them truly ready for Enterprise (without major customizations). We are also charging an outrageous fee for our Customer Conference this year - we are not big enough to merit the high cost, and a result our registrations are way lower than expected. We also need the Sales team to understand the Product - more often than not they think the Product can do something (that it truly can't), and wrong expectations are set early. The Sales team is also not commissioned on Services work, so they will sell their souls to the devil to close services quickly, just so they can get their licensing commission check. Also, take a look at the other positive reviews here on Glassdoor - 90% of them are from Sales employees, while most non-Sales reviews are negative...notice a pattern?

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Employees forced to share hotel rooms

      Dec 19, 2016 - Enterprise Account Executive in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * HQ in San Fran * Macbook Pro

      Cons

      * Redundant Sales training * Unprofessional policies - employees are required to share hotel rooms with a roommate * Excessive amount of time spent on useless cold calling * Sales model is nothing more than being a 3rd party overlay for Salesforce. This no longer is working. * Overhired sales team with small territories * 90% of reps do not make quota * The company has enforced a very rigorous process to get Pre-Sales support * In order to control expenses Accounts Payable routinely denies expense reports in order to avoid payment in a timely manner * Repetitive deal reviews conducted on a constant basis * Impossible to qualify out of bad deals * Not a true ERP enterprise solution outside of a few exceptions. This solution is more targeted toward the SMB market.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful

      FinancialForce Response

      Senior Vice President, Employee Success

      Thank you for your feedback. We have been working hard this last year on tightening our sales processes, training, and creating a more disciplined sales organization. This has proven to be successful. Part of our culture also includes sharing hotel rooms at major conferences and large events. Employees always have the option to request their own room in specific circumstances.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to work and Grow

      Dec 20, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salesforce ecosystems Leadership that knows what they're doing. Flexibility Ability to impact culture

      Cons

      Offices look like an dull insurance office, not a multi-million dollar venture backed by Salesforce.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Work smarter, not harder

      Nov 13, 2019 - Senior User Experience Designer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company events, 401k, some really smart and nice people work here

      Cons

      A lot of busy work in the R&D organization - new product creation process starts with someone high up requesting a demo for some company event which then has to be immediately productized for the next release (there are 2-4 releases in a year depending on the product you're working on) in a rush without the feature crew properly understanding why they are working on something; what user problem they are trying to solve and if the demoed solution actually is the best solution to the problem at hand. There's a lot of UI debt converting old product layouts to the new Salesforce Lightning UI using their UI components so not a lot of space for creativity there either. Communication within and across departments could be better.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

    Popular Careers with FinancialForce Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at FinancialForce? Share Your Experiences

    FinancialForce logo
    or