Finger Lakes Community College Reviews | Glassdoor

Finger Lakes Community College Reviews

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
63%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Finger Lakes Community College President Robert Nye
Robert Nye
3 Ratings
  1. "Resident Assistant - Office of Housing and Residential Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Assistant in Canandaigua, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Finger Lakes Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Excellent opportunity to grow as a person while enjoying free housing. - The best team experience I have ever had - Excellent management - Personal attention as an employee - Learned many vital skills - Your team will become your family

    Cons

    - Very considerable competition - low pay, but as a student housing costs are huge, and housing is free. (If you can prove you can handle the workload, you will be able to work outside of the position) - Must be able to handle considerable emotional stress - Must be able to remain calm in emergency situations, you will deal with any possible situation from attempted suicide, fire, floods, crime, drug overdoses, shooting threats.

    Continue reading
    Finger Lakes Community College2016-01-21
  2. "Student first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Secretary 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Finger Lakes Community College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They put Students first but....

    Cons

    ....at the sacrafice of the staff.

    Continue reading
    Finger Lakes Community College2019-10-21
  3. "Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Micro-Economics Tutor in Newark, NY

    I worked at Finger Lakes Community College part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, independent work environment.

    Cons

    Temporary position. No long term work.

    Finger Lakes Community College2019-09-09
  4. "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Canandaigua, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Finger Lakes Community College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits and not much else.

    Cons

    Disappointing, I have been here 4 years, thought the new president will a positive change. Not at all. I agree with a previous post, if the tax payers only know how their money is spent.

    Continue reading
    Finger Lakes Community College2018-04-07
  5. "Office Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Finger Lakes Community College part-time

    Pros

    Great job, I was able to work and also work on homework at the same time.

    Cons

    Not all your co-workers had the same work ethic.

    Continue reading
    Finger Lakes Community College2017-07-26
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Canandaigua, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Finger Lakes Community College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great salary and benefits. Opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Some offices are very isolated from rest of the campus so there are very limited opportunities to meet faculty and other staff. There is not much diversity amongst faculty and staff.

    Finger Lakes Community College2017-06-15
  7. "Poorly run college with unqualified employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Finger Lakes Community College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One thing I have to give credit for is benefits, they really are top notch for full time people.

    Cons

    Everything else. This should be shut down. You walk into this place and are transported back to the 1990s with the way everything is done there. Systems are grossly outdated, paper forms are still the norm, IT is a bad joke. They are constantly complaining about declining enrollment every semester, yet their response is to hire more worthless people who accomplish nothing. This place has below industry pay, and everyone is unionized, meaning bad employees (and there are a lot of them) never get canned for being incompetent. Most if not all good employees leave, making the place slowly getting worse and worse. They hired a new president a year ago or so (Nye), and he was just a complete waste, talked a good game though. So glad I got out of here. If Ontario county taxpayers saw how poorly their money was being spent, there would be a revolt

    Continue reading
    Finger Lakes Community College2017-07-06
  8. "Good for Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Canandaigua, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Finger Lakes Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This was a good opportunity for me as a student to get a taste of what office work was like. I was given enough responsibilities to feel needed and to feel like a contributing part of the office. I was not given so much responsibility that I felt overwhelmed by what was expected of me. I would recommend working in the Student Accounts office for any student at FLCC who wants work place experience.

    Cons

    It can become a little stale at times. Very tedious work. You will have to be social with the other employees in the office if you want to enjoy your time working there.

    Continue reading
    Finger Lakes Community College2016-11-13
  9. "Work Study"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Finger Lakes Community College

    Pros

    Very friendly staff all around

    Cons

    Not many available departments to work in.

    Finger Lakes Community College2016-10-03
  10. "Full Time Faculty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Finger Lakes Community College

    Pros

    Great colleagues, good administration, good career track, stable-steady income

    Cons

    Teaching 5 courses- too high full time teaching load

    Continue reading
    Finger Lakes Community College2015-12-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 17 reviews