Firmenich Reviews | Glassdoor

Firmenich Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 239 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Firmenich CEO Gilbert Ghostine
Gilbert Ghostine
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "very agile and flexible, good work life balance(in 11 reviews)

  • "Dynamic company, number 2 in the flavor and fragrance industry,(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hire freeze in Geneva - internal politics(in 10 reviews)

  • "Thick layer of excess fat aka middle management(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Firmenich full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great management team, incredible team atmosphere, strong performance culture within family owned business, high ethics and integrity

    Cons

    Continue to simplify processes - end to end

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on performance management as have been doing

    Firmenich2019-01-02

    Firmenich Response

    January 2, 2019The Firmenich Talent Team

    Many thanks for sharing your feedback. Your constructive comments are helpful for us and we will be sure to pass them along to our teams. Wishing you continued success in your current position.

  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Plainsboro, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Firmenich part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are great and a great company who wants work life balance. Great company for working moms.

    Cons

    management not prone to change.

    Firmenich2019-07-03

    Firmenich Response

    July 18, 2019The Firmenich Talent Team

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you sharing your positive experience and we will pass along your constructive advice to our teams.

  3. "Purchasing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Purchasing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Firmenich full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture and achieve greatness are embedded in Firmenich, this is a great company to work for

    Cons

    Too director heavy and not much focus to the people down the ladder.

    Firmenich2019-07-14

    Firmenich Response

    July 18, 2019The Firmenich Talent Team

    Thank you for your review! We will pass your feedback on to our senior management. We wish you much success in your current role.

  4. "Goods outweigh bads, but be careful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research and Development Manager in Plainsboro, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Firmenich full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    People are generally friendly and helpful on a daily basis. If you are reasonably hard working and if you are sociable with your managers, you can really climb up. They want to encourage a long career if you want it also.

    Cons

    Loads of politics determine if you have opportunities to grow or not at all levels. Advancement opportunities are easier to come by if we are white and young. Higher managers always support lower middle managers and never lower levels. Middle managers who get results have significant power. Retaliation is a reality in this private company if you cross the wrong manager. Be cautious. If you feel threatened by a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train middle managers how to avoid the politics, not just to portray a picture of such outwardly to upper managers. Otherwise, this company has great values and foundations in place.

    Firmenich2019-06-16

    Firmenich Response

    June 20, 2019The Firmenich Talent Team

    Thank you for your review on Glassdoor. Our people are the heart of everything that we do. As one of only seven globally-certified gender equal employers in the world by EDGE, we are committed to fostering a culture of inclusion where everyone can thrive. We aim for all our people ...

    Show More
  5. "Improvement is Needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Firmenich full-time

    Pros

    Summer Fridays, PTOs, Flex Hours

    Cons

    Too many to list now

    Advice to Management

    Change

    Firmenich2019-04-28

    Firmenich Response

    May 14, 2019The Firmenich Talent Team

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We take all reviews on Glassdoor very seriously and we will pass your comments on to our HR and management teams.

  6. "EHS & Sustainability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HSE Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Firmenich full-time

    Pros

    Firmenich is second to none as it relates to Sustainability and EHS performance. If you're an EHS professional and you get the chance to work for Firmenich I would recommend it.

    Cons

    Not many US locations so to move up within the company you may have to relocate.

    Firmenich2019-03-18

    Firmenich Response

    April 2, 2019The Firmenich Talent Team

    Thanks for sharing your review! It is nice to hear about your positive experience.

  7. "Depends on which dept you are working on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regulatory Affairs Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Firmenich full-time

    Pros

    Nice campus, some nice friendly employees

    Cons

    It really depends on which dept you are in. Some dept is very friendly and well managed, some are really nasty and you would be surprised that someone is controlling dept way back to 1900s

    Firmenich2019-03-13

    Firmenich Response

    April 2, 2019The Firmenich Talent Team

    Thanks for sharing your experience on Glassdoor. Your opinion matters to us and we will be sure to share your feedback with our leadership teams. We wish you much success in your career.

  8. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Firmenich full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ethical, strong valued company, client focused and great to employees.

    Cons

    Some groups lack disipline and strong leadership.

    Firmenich2019-02-13

    Firmenich Response

    April 2, 2019The Firmenich Talent Team

    Thanks for sharing your review! It is nice to hear about your positive experience.

  9. "Talented People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Firmenich full-time

    Pros

    Family Company. Friendly and Talented People

    Cons

    Many Levels make communication less effective

    Firmenich2019-02-01

    Firmenich Response

    April 2, 2019The Firmenich Talent Team

    Many thanks for sharing your comments. We appreciate your feedback and will pass it on to our teams. We wish you much success in your career.

  10. "I love working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Firmenich full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -My job is fairly easy -I have a great boss -Great pay -Paid days off -Great working environment -Friendly coworkers -Great potential for growth in the long term

    Cons

    -Takes a while to move up -Temps rarely get permanent position

    Firmenich2019-01-30

    Firmenich Response

    April 2, 2019The Firmenich Talent Team

    Thanks for sharing your review! It is nice to hear about your positive experience.

Found 239 reviews