First Community Credit Union (MO) Reviews | Glassdoor

First Community Credit Union (MO) Reviews

Updated Mar 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Financial Service Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Services Consultant in Chesterfield, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at First Community Credit Union (MO) full-time

    Pros

    Small company, family-like atmosphere, decent company, paid for benefits. This is a good company if you want to get your foot in the financial industry.

    Cons

    Low pay, bad management, no promotions in most departments every move is lateral.

    Continue reading
    First Community Credit Union (MO)2015-07-16
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Great benefits but do not recommend the call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at First Community Credit Union (MO) full-time

    Pros

    Great managers. Paid benefits. Hour lunches.

    Cons

    Non stop calls from members wanting you to hold their hand. They ask questions that do not pertain to banking and you are expected to help them. Understaffed by 20 employees. They fire you if you put in your two weeks.

    Continue reading
    First Community Credit Union (MO)2015-06-22
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Good Starter Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at First Community Credit Union (MO)

    Pros

    Good benefits, birthday is a paid day off. Good place to get experience.

    Cons

    All movement is lateral until you get to management. This means an accounting rep could make the same as a teller.

    Continue reading
    First Community Credit Union (MO)2015-06-27
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Great benefits, lousy management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    FSC in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at First Community Credit Union (MO)

    Pros

    Healthcare included as part of salary. Great 401k and pension. Your birthday is a paid day off.

    Cons

    This company takes their good employees for granted. Management has been around for 10+ years across the board. There are VERY few good ones. Most are so full of crap and are only concerned with covering each other's back. Rock the boat, and you walk the plank.

    Continue reading
    First Community Credit Union (MO)2015-04-30
  5. Helpful (2)

    "VERY Immature Management throughout the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at First Community Credit Union (MO) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great hours if you work in the corporate office and don't have to work Saturdays.

    Cons

    CRAPPY PAY. Management was terrible. They never dealt with issues and would throw you under the bus if a customer was unhappy just so they didn't have to deal with the actual problem. Management would sit in back while lines would form throughout the entire bank and just never come and help. Oh, and a "promotion" isn't a promotion. You get moved jobs, no pay increase at all and terrible training.

    Continue reading
    First Community Credit Union (MO)2015-03-30
  6. "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at First Community Credit Union (MO)

    Pros

    Great benefits that are paid for. Good stepping-stone company to gain experience.

    Cons

    Low pay. Small company.

    First Community Credit Union (MO)2015-03-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good for Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Clerk 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at First Community Credit Union (MO) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you're looking to get your foot in the Financial Industry, this is the place to start. Start being the key word. I loved all of the people I worked with there. People that are not only close friends of mine but are people that I worked very well with. FCCU pays for your benefits which is something that not very many companies do these days. It is the main perk that kept me with the company. They are very charity oriented. Every month they sponsor a charity & give a company wide chance to donate to the charity in exchange for wearing jeans to work one day. They also sponsor employees that want to participate int he Komen 5k every June. That is something I took advantage of every year.

    Cons

    Salary isn't great. They say they give you a raise according to performance & pride themselves on not giving $0.25-$0.50 raises like other companies. However, I did not receive such. Upon year 2 review my raise significantly dropped & continued to nose dive from then on out. This is something I discussed with upper management, however nothing was done about it. There is no room for advancement as told so in interviews. The only way to move up in the company is to work at a branch & if you enjoy working in back office such as myself there is no where to go. Even if you did move to a branch you would start at the bottom of the totem pole & have to wait for everyone above you to leave in order to move up. I was there for nearly 4 years, loved my position managers & coworkers.

    Continue reading
    First Community Credit Union (MO)2014-12-08
  8. "Decent Job for anyone looking to gain work experience or recent college grad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Service Consultant in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at First Community Credit Union (MO) full-time

    Pros

    since i worked in the walmart branch, i did not have the same experience as a typical bank would. 4 day work week with 3 days off. working at least 1 weekend every week. 1 hour lunch. laid back atmosphere, everyone is friendly and easy to get along with. company is starting to expand to more locations. free benefits- health, dental and vision. pay is decent but is a little lower compared to other main banks. plenty of chances to network with members. raises are decent every year, up to $2,000.

    Cons

    long shifts in the wlamrt branch, 10 hours. rude members. once you get hired in at a position, you're pretty much stuck there for at least 2 years before you can move up. not much room for advancement because people usually keep the job they're hired as.

    First Community Credit Union (MO)2013-02-22
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Depends on the Branch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Financial Service Consultant/Teller in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends

    I worked at First Community Credit Union (MO)

    Pros

    Worked at 2 different branches, one was terrible, one was great. Really great experience. Benefits package is fantastic Lots of room for upward and horizontal mobility as long as you are willing to switch locations to achieve. Great company culture as well. Lots of events to get involved in and a serious dedication to helping out charities.

    Cons

    Pay is a little on the low side but is made up for with the extensive benefits package. Don't work in Maplewood.

    Continue reading
    First Community Credit Union (MO)2011-11-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 39 reviews