First Data "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

First Data Reviews

Updated Aug 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
44%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
First Data Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Frank Bisignano
Frank Bisignano
1,224 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Alright if you don't mind call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Coral Springs, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at First Data

    Pros

    This is a good job to work if you don't mind starting out call center if you ok doing entry level job if you don't have much to offer; but great benefits; great people they are starting to do more company oriented events which i like.

    Cons

    The company is just slowly being picked up from the ground because it was in debt so there are still some changes such as jobs going to India most of them are ones that are not call center they are data entry or credit positions etc.

    Continue reading
    First Data2016-09-07
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Business Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Consultant in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at First Data for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people with great focus on training

    Cons

    Company changes direction and marketing quickly growing too fast management can not dedicate resources to every employee.

    Continue reading
    First Data2016-08-10
  3. "Finance Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern - Hourly in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Data for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, work load is what you expect for a position like this

    Cons

    Some projects might not have structure to them

    First Data2016-08-04
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Some Good...Some Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Director in Marietta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Data

    Pros

    Great people. What I enjoyed most as a Sales Director at First Data was the people that I worked with. Be it the Business Consultants I managed or the Leadership Team I was apart of they were the reason why I enjoyed my job. There is healthy competition among sales professionals and people genuinely want to see others succeed. Benefits are just ok.

    Cons

    Compensation: Compensation was an issue for the BSC in Marietta. Oftentimes compensation plans were not ready until months into the calendar year which is demotivating to Business Consultants. They want to help their merchants but they also want a clear understanding of how they will be compensated for doing so. Too often Sales Directors had to fall on the sword for Senior Leadership's inability to provide clear, timely direction to their sales team. This was not the case for Outside BC's at the Atlanta office, but was certainly the case for Inside BC's out of Marietta. Many good employees were lost as a result of this. Additionally the company has a tremendous amount of debt which has led to countless layoffs in order to save money. This results in not enough qualified employees to care for the needs of merchants which results in leakage in the customer base.

    Continue reading
    First Data2016-08-11
  5. Helpful (5)

    "First Data ... may not be capable of change."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Vice President Plastics and Internal Consulting in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at First Data

    Pros

    Company has great people who could provide outstanding leadership for a company needing new blood.

    Cons

    Management not decisive & weak. Limited resources provided to areas that generate greater returns. NYC execs have no interest in credit card or print/mail operations. NYC execs overpaid.

    Continue reading
    First Data2016-08-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Typical grunt work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Data for less than a year

    Pros

    -lots of video/teleconferences with executive management -great intern coordinator -$16 an hour -lots of great people -opportunities to shadow/switch departments if you're not enjoying your current one -nobody breathes down your neck -young professionals program -very accepting of just about everything -business causal -learn a lot about programs such as oracle and excel -lots of things learned in class are actually applied -will probably be offered a full time job at the end of the summer

    Cons

    -never really have anything to do -feel like an inconvenience to my manager -very doom and gloom large corporate company feel -trapped in a cubicle staring at a computer 8 hours a day and I count the hours until I get to leave -EXTREMELY slow at giving employees access to programs they NEED to do their work (it has been 3 weeks and I still don't have access) -"put in 8 hours and leave" attitude from everyone -hardly ever see other interns -this place is all about making money and it's 100% evident and I feel crappy sometimes knowing we are screwing people over (ex. price increases for what seems like no reason)

    Continue reading
    First Data2016-06-23
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Ok but out dated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Data for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people Decent holiday / sick time

    Cons

    Poor pay Outdated facilities Old boys club Technologically inferior Poor benefits

    Continue reading
    First Data2016-07-07
  8. "VP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Sales in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Data full-time

    Pros

    Great people who care about the client and creating a winning culture.

    Cons

    On a journey and moving into acceleration phase....some bumps but future is bright.

    Continue reading
    First Data2016-06-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "First Data Client Service Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Analyst in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at First Data full-time

    Pros

    Great People on team that I worked with Many different positions with in the company. There are not any more Pros that I can think of.

    Cons

    No flexibility working from home If promoted cannot get raise to level of position must keep current pay. Asked to work thru lunches often Many Road blocks to learning

    Continue reading
    First Data2016-06-15
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Not Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at First Data full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay, great people, good work/personal life balance, able to work from home

    Cons

    Upper Management doesn't care about people, benefits are awful compared to other Fortune 500 companies.

    Continue reading
    First Data2016-06-21
Found 132 reviews