First Data "no 401k match" Reviews | Glassdoor

First Data Reviews

Updated Mar 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
45%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
First Data Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Frank Bisignano
Frank Bisignano
1,221 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Ask a lot of questions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Data full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company looks bright and shiny from the outside

    Cons

    No compensation for promotions Extremely low budget for any type of merit increase No 401k match even though company is doing well Constant re-org and layoffs Top level heavy

    Continue reading
    First Data2018-02-28
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Implementation Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Implementation Analyst in Omaha, NE

    I have been working at First Data full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are lots of job opportunities. Company has taken steps to better the internal culture, but it is still a work in progress. Tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    Moving internally can be challenging Lake of employee support by HR No 401k match Company does not offer enough support to mid-level management. No internal organizational structure for career path development

    Continue reading
    First Data2018-01-22
  3. Helpful (17)

    "HORRIBLE HORRIBLE COMPANY!!!! Don’t work here!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at First Data full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get your paycheck twice a month as promised. You get paid vacation (when you can get approved time off)

    Cons

    - horrible management. - company is heavily driven by sales and making revenue only. Doesn’t take into account the ethical implications when dealing with their clients. - you buy your own supplies and equipment to use. Cell phone, laptops, office supplies etc. - micro managed by your badge swipes and instant message availability status - no real processes and if there is one, they skirt around them to get their own. Mainly it’s sales who does this. - sales constantly throws people under the bus to make their deals - NO WORK LIFE BALANCE - company riddled with debt from multiple acquisitions and isn’t knowledgeable about the products acquired - tons of red tape around internal processes which makes its difficult to perform job well - not setup to succeed - no opportunities for growth - crab in a barrel mentality - NO 401k match - HIGH HEALTH INSURANCE DEDUCTIBLES AND PREMIUMS -boys club mentality with senior management -call center working setup -high stress working conditions - NO EMPLOYEE APPRECIATION!!!! I can go on but you get the point

    Continue reading
    First Data2018-02-09
  4. Helpful (16)

    "Horrible Company, Don't Waste Your Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at First Data full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, but that is the only good thing about FD. I do not have any other pros to list.

    Cons

    - FD takes attendance at the Atlanta office. They use your badge scans to determine how often you're at the office (this was expected) and they send someone around with a clipboard to check off if you're at the office that day (ridiculous) - No working from home. Frank put in an 'in-office policy' for all employees. - No 401k match. On your offer letter it will say that you receive stock after one year instead of matching your 401k (they like to call you an Owner Associate because they give you stock) - except they don't give you stock until you've actually been there at least 1.5 years and you don't receive it until year 2. Complete lie on the offer letter - Multiple layoffs - Atlanta, Melville - Multiple office closures - Houston, Florida, Denver - Commute - if you don't live near the Atlanta office (285&400) you can expect your commute to be at least an hour each way. Terrible location! - Benefits - while they offered a cheap option, you could not see any doctors. After changing to their most expensive plan you could finally see a doctor, but the cost was not worth it. Overall, I regretted joining the FD team and found a new job elsewhere as soon as I realized how terrible of a company it really was. You have been warned.

    First Data2018-02-06
  5. Helpful (12)

    "QA Engeeneer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at First Data full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    laid back environment. helpful co workers.

    Cons

    no 401K, no raise, lay off frequently. Not a good place to work. No Job safety.

    Continue reading
    First Data2017-12-16
  6. Helpful (15)

    "CEO doesn't know how to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at First Data full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers and innovative solutions

    Cons

    CEO did well restructuring debt but has no idea how to grow the business. His solution is to cut expenses and eliminate jobs. Layoffs every 6 months, regardless of how long you've been there. Most departments senior employee has been there less than 3 years. Lots of in-fighting with leadership. No 401k match Health insurance is pitiful. Avoid like the plague!

    Continue reading
    First Data2017-12-15
  7. Helpful (19)

    "Don't Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at First Data

    Pros

    • Can't speak for others, but my position paid well. • Other than that, like in most corporations, you hope for the best when it comes to the people, specifically on your immediate team and your Supervisor. In my case, I had a fantastic Supervisor and great team.

    Cons

    • Employee growth and yearly raises are rare and minimal. • No 401k match and employee stocks are fairly useless since you have to be there at least three years and the stocks themselves are low and have been stagnant or declining. • Mediocre benefits for employees • Work/Life balance is questionable depending on your position • Little to no faith in upper management • High up leadership is really only concerned with stockholders and not truly focused on how they could effectively build the company correctly through intelligent means and incentivizing smart and loyal employees without having waves of layoffs in order to "skinny the books" temporarily and then try to hire them back or simply restructure new teams after they already had a good one in place. They're also basically a 'Good ole boys club' • Despite saying they are a tech company thats advanced and on the cutting edge, they are in reality behind the curve and basically look to their competitors like Square to get ideas on how to be relevant to no avail. • Clunky and seemingly unorganized • A lot of frantic 'check-the-box' and 'cover-yourself' mentality without thinking through the logic of the 'why, what, how, when' etc. • Due to the generally bad leadership throughout its lengthy history, there's been a steady decline in employee perks in order for the business to stay afloat and therefore there is low morale, zero culture, and their values are suspect when you don't see them reflected in actin within for the employees. • No official work from home options, which also reflects their lack of technological advancements and incentives for employees.

    Continue reading
    First Data2017-10-26
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Lack of Upward mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT OPS Tech II in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at First Data full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have had some great coworkers through my time at First Data. Other than the people my experience has been mostly mediocre to negative.

    Cons

    -Lack of upward mobility -Anchoring in salary -No 401K match (removed 1 year after I started) -Worse health plan -No support in upper level management First Data preaches "meritocracy" as a means to further your career within the company, but that hasn't been my experience. I have been at FD for nearly 5 years and have had exceeds expectations reviews for every annual review, yet it took 3 years to be promoted from a Tech 1 to a Tech 2, when I was quoted it was normally 1 year. I have also applied for several (5+) internal positions, but have turned all offers down due to anchoring the salary. I've been told numerous times that there is a cap they are allowed to offer even though the position are higher level than I am currently. In one case I also had a counter offer go all the way to the Executive Vice President to be declined. Shortly after I started the new management dropped our 401(K) match and made significant changes to other benefits such as health insurance. The health insurance also used to have just a small deductible, but now most plans are HDHPs. There is also a large culture problem. Most employees seem to fit into one of 2 groups. People that have been at FD less than 5 years and are trying to encourage change by promoting new values within FD. The second group are tenured employees who are resistant to any changes. A lot of middle management falls into the second category and although they claim they support change, their actions show they actually do not. One last note, no jobs are safe, First Data seems to add and cut jobs at the whim of some executives. I have been witness to 2 different layoff events and heard about a few others. Some teams will expand to get a few large projects done and as soon as they are finished the team will be reduced to fit the current workload. My current team has several open positions, but they aren't being filled due to an ongoing "globalization" project.

    Continue reading
    First Data2017-08-03
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Very Set in their ways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Coral Springs, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at First Data full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, in some departments is better than others.

    Cons

    No 401k match. Type of work, seating for long hours is bad for your health and you are constantly having to take the blame for other's errors. A frustrating environment where you have to fix others errors. The CEO is one of the top paid CEO in the country but offers no incentive to employees.

    Continue reading
    First Data2017-07-03
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Unsettled feeling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at First Data full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to work with colleagues around the world, Salary is fair, and I like my team members. The headquarters location has nice amenities.

    Cons

    unsettled feeling with too many changes, no 401k match, policies to promote good employees are unreasonable, senior management tries to communicate with employees, but feels out of touch with real concerns

    Continue reading
    First Data2017-06-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 115 reviews