First Hawaiian Bank Reviews

Updated Mar 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
First Hawaiian Bank  President and Chief Executive Officer Robert S. Harrison
Robert S. Harrison
50 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, no internal advancement support, no appreciation for loyalty & years of service(in 21 reviews)

  • "Technology lags behind the industry but recently FHB is working to catch up(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Hawaiian Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    it keeps winning the best place to work award for a reason. When you work here it's the closest thing to a work-family i know. people and management are under no assumptions that they are better than you or treat you unfairly in any way. They are simply passionate about the work that needs to be done and ready to get on with it.

    Cons

    I believe the pay is on the lower side and perhaps this is the benefit of having a more life-friendly work life that isn't going to stress you out or cause unwanted dramas etc.

    First Hawaiian Bank2020-03-03
  2. "Good Place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Hawaiian Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, good vacation and holidays. Company looks out for the employee

    Cons

    Pay isnt as high as other companies

    First Hawaiian Bank2020-01-24
  3. "Great people, great benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bank Teller in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Hawaiian Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    FHB really takes care of its employees. Company culture is centered around treating coworkers like family and they have been extremely welcoming and encouraging. The benefits are amazing with incredibly affordable health, dental, vision, group life insurance, etc. 401k match at 5% is definitely appealing.

    Cons

    Days can start to feel long and certain tasks can, of course, feel painfully repetitive on these days.

    First Hawaiian Bank2019-11-17
  4. "Computer Repair Service"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Owner Operator in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at First Hawaiian Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities and Excellent atmosphere

    Cons

    None that I am aware of.

    Continue reading
    First Hawaiian Bank2019-09-05
  5. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Teller 

    I worked at First Hawaiian Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good environment, experienced staff Welcoming Training Friendly customers

    Cons

    Had to know someone to get ahead

    First Hawaiian Bank2019-08-12
  6. "Relationship Banking in Honolulu"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Model Validation Manager in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at First Hawaiian Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stable company with long history in market

    Cons

    Conservative outlook on projects and technology

    Continue reading
    First Hawaiian Bank2019-07-22
  7. "Best workplace and employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unarmed Security Guard in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Hawaiian Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best work place and very good benefits

    Cons

    None that can be mentioned

    Continue reading
    First Hawaiian Bank2019-07-05
  8. "Business systems analyst"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Honolulu, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Hawaiian Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    401k matching I guess and bus

    Cons

    Management are close-minded and disses new graduates Pay is incredibly low

    First Hawaiian Bank2019-06-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Unwelcoming"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at First Hawaiian Bank

    Pros

    Strong Leadership That Values Employees. Great Amenities.

    Cons

    Management and Employees Lack Commitment to Change. Micromanagement culture. Unsupportive Management. Inability to Educate and Train Staff. Expensive Parking. Rigid Perfomance Evaluations That Management Fails to Communicate amd Educate Staff.

    Continue reading
    First Hawaiian Bank2019-05-04
  10. "A company that truly cares"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Hawaiian Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    FHB thoroughly lives their core values: Caring, Character and Collaboration. It's evident that this company cares about it's customers and it's employees.

    Cons

    The equipment is a hit antiquated. And the pay gap is evident in the lower ranks

    First Hawaiian Bank2019-03-28
Found 104 reviews