First Home Mortgage Reviews | Glassdoor

First Home Mortgage Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
David Waters
13 Ratings
  1. "Great company and place to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Residential Mortgage/Loan Officer in Bethesda, MD

    I have been working at First Home Mortgage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Support, training, technology & environment is just great!

    Cons

    The compensation plan is good but could be a little bit better & supportive.

    First Home Mortgage2018-12-07
  2. "Be very careful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at First Home Mortgage full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    support staff, great benefits.

    Cons

    Upper Management, company culture, Toxic environment, Entire board of directors is filled with yes man that follow the CEO's bad decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Grow up!!

    First Home Mortgage2019-05-05
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Verification Specialist 

      I have been working at First Home Mortgage full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Genuinely care about employees, holidays and vacation time.

      Cons

      Benefits could be better & more incentives for non sales positions.

      First Home Mortgage2018-12-28
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at First Home Mortgage full-time

        Pros

        Very friendly staff. Great managers.

        Cons

        None I can think off. If you’re willing to work hard, you can succeed

        Advice to Management

        Keep it up!

        First Home Mortgage2018-11-29
      • "Great place for working parents"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at First Home Mortgage full-time

        Pros

        Family friendly and flexible with hours when needed. Management understanding of importance of work/life balance. Smooth internal processes and friendly co-workers.

        Cons

        Expectations were changed without warning. Some LO's lacked training in the internal processes of the company and it's was sometimes difficult to deal with the ego of others.

        Advice to Management

        Give more incentives to employees to meet expectations. Remind LO's of the importance of their processors.

        First Home Mortgage2018-10-18
      • "Mortgage Branch Experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at First Home Mortgage full-time

        Pros

        I had a fun work environment and the opportunity to wear many hats and learn a lot, I can't speak to the corporate experience.

        Cons

        Too many shifts in responsibility. Compensation and commission structure for my position was changed without proper warning and resulted in a large, unexpected pay cut.

        Advice to Management

        Keep an eye on long term goals within the branches. There was some nepotism in the office, positions were given to family members who were unqualified and entitled.

        First Home Mortgage2018-06-12
      • "Happy Employee"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Administrative 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at First Home Mortgage full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        First Home Mortgage is a great company to work for where you truly feel appreciated as an employee. The staff is friendly and the senior management team is trustworthy and respectable.

        Cons

        I have no cons regarding the company.

        First Home Mortgage2018-01-04
      • "Loan Officer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at First Home Mortgage full-time

        Pros

        Atmosphere is great, Pay, management

        Cons

        Commission, stress, dont sell you do't eat

        First Home Mortgage2017-09-11
      • "Great Company!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nottingham, MD
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at First Home Mortgage full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Great morale. The company does nice things for the employees. I work out of our corporate office and even though there are approximately two hundred people here, it still has a family feel.

        Cons

        I haven't seen a downside.

        Advice to Management

        Thank you!

        First Home Mortgage2017-08-02
      • "Great Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Loan Officer in Bethesda, MD
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at First Home Mortgage full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Everyone here is very down to earth. Everyone is willing to help whenever they can. The company is very dedicated to educating their employees and making sure you understand the whole business, not just your job. Excellent commission for sales. Don't make you go to a bunch of networking and happy hours if you dont want to.

        Cons

        Long hours but that is standard in this field. Low starting salary.

        Advice to Management

        Keep on keepin on

        First Home Mortgage2017-02-24
      Found 21 reviews