First Home Mortgage Reviews | Glassdoor

First Home Mortgage Reviews

Updated May 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
David Waters
13 Ratings
  1. "mortgage processor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at First Home Mortgage full-time

      Pros

      company that cared about both the borrower (s) and employee (s).

      Cons

      I have no negative comments for First Home.

      First Home Mortgage2017-02-06
    • "Extremely satisfying and rewarding"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greenbelt, MD
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at First Home Mortgage full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Very knowledgeable people in every department who are very helpful. Great compensation and benefits package as well as a good vibe amongst employees. The loan officers average more annual volume than any other company in the country. They seem very talented and educated.

      Cons

      Like any company, issues periodically arise but seem to be quickly extinguished with a solution. Not getting to see your coworkers sometimes as the offices are spread along the east coast.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you are doing, the company has grown tremendously and seems to do so many things right.

      First Home Mortgage2017-01-26
    • "Mortgage Loan Officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Loan Officer in Chesapeake, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at First Home Mortgage full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good loan products arelated offered

      Cons

      Bad management, no communication and no room for growth

      First Home Mortgage2017-01-20
    • "Great place to be!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Loan Officer in Bethesda, MD
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at First Home Mortgage for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great compensation, support staff, benefits and ability to grow within the company! I've never been happier at an employer.

      Cons

      The industry can be a stressful one, but I wouldn't call that a con of FHMC!

      Advice to Management

      Finding more Corporate staff that's willing to work past 5PM would be great, but you're doing an amazing job!

      First Home Mortgage2016-10-23
    • "Great place to be"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at First Home Mortgage

      Pros

      positive atmosphere. management wants to see you grow.

      Cons

      I currently have zero negative comments

      First Home Mortgage2016-07-16
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at First Home Mortgage

      Pros

      Co workers, Team Mentality, Pay

      Cons

      Maternity Leave bites, hardly matching 401K

      First Home Mortgage2016-02-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good place to work if you want to stay in the industry"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Washington, DC

      I worked at First Home Mortgage for more than a year

      Pros

      *I worked in the DC Branch, and only have exposure to the DC and Chevy Chase offices and employees* The environment was very much work hard/play hard. There were a lot of after work happy hours so you're able to get to know the coworkers that attend. A great place to work if you want to be in the industry, as there's the support and guidance needed to really learn the industry.

      Cons

      The pay is not great if you're an administrative assistant, so i wouldn't take the role unless you want to move on to being a loan officer or a processor. If so, it's a great place to start and learn, just be sure to make it known that you want to move to different role in the future. Hours can be long at times, but that's the nature of the beast.

      First Home Mortgage2015-07-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "Mostly ups few downs"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Corporate in Baltimore, MD
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at First Home Mortgage full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great co-workers, approachable management, high employee retention

      Cons

      No room for growth if you work at the corporate office. If you want move ahead you will be waiting a while.

      First Home Mortgage2014-11-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Mortgage company centered around bringing in purchase business"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at First Home Mortgage full-time

      Pros

      Provide top quality loan origination. You won't be treated much better anywhere else and the experienced employees really know what their doing. I'd recommend going here over any of the big national banks. Their service is top notch.

      Cons

      Not enough learning opportunities for people new in the business. If you don't want to be a salesman there is no upward mobility. Staff makes a very small portion compared to the loan officers.

      First Home Mortgage2014-08-07
    • "Not worth the effort"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Operations Manager in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at First Home Mortgage full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      great hours, very flexible, downtown city feel

      Cons

      bad pay, administrative work, lack of respect, acted like a frat house

      Advice to Management

      dont be so cliquey

      First Home Mortgage2013-10-30
    Found 21 reviews