First Horizon "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

First Horizon Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
63%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
First Horizon CEO     D. Bryan Jordan (no image)
D. Bryan Jordan
122 Ratings
Pros
  • "They practice what they preach when it comes to work/life balance(in 25 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and an excellent team working environment(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not enough training for employees and upper management doesn’t back you up(in 14 reviews)

  • "Low pay for handling a ton of money(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Upper Management that care about all levels of emoloyees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in Morrisville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at First Horizon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Upper management that supports all levels of employees

    Cons

    Actually, I didn't see any. Once I left the company, I felt like I should've stayed. Would definitely like to come back if I see some opportunity that interests me.

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to support your employees like you always did.

    First Horizon2018-12-22
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Cares more about the bottom line than the employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Horizon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, excellent schedule, vacation and benefits package is reasonable.

    Cons

    Not enough training for employees and upper management doesn’t back you up. People are let go regardless of tenure and performance in the name of “efficiency”. More concerned with buying other banks than with taking care of employees or advancing current technologies. Medical insurance is TERRIBLE...only offers high deductible plans.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your people. They are the legs your company stands on.

    First Horizon2019-06-21
  3. "First Tennessee Bank Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at First Horizon

    Pros

    The company culture here is fantastic, they really do try to make sure that their employees are valued. Interview process was relatively straightforward and easy. Easy ability to work with upper management. Intern work was meaningful and very interesting to me. They want their interns to come back as future employees if you are a high performer. Many speakers/programs for interns to be involved in.

    Cons

    I felt like I could have interacted with more people in different lines of the industry at times. Corporate training videos and on-boarding are pretty outdated.

    First Horizon2018-10-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Best Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President, Director in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Horizon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee focused, promotes work/life balance, supports leadership development, accessible upper management and executives, highly collaborative, strong culture, and highly competent executives

    Cons

    Not much by way of cons. Can be too collaborative at times resulting in too many meetings.

    First Horizon2018-04-09
  5. "First Horizon review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Horizon full-time

    Pros

    Good co-workers, good immediate manager, interesting work

    Cons

    Very unfair in treatment of employees, compensation is very much geared to upper management. Even people with excellent reviews receive little or no raise.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest and address problems instead of pretending they do not exist.

    First Horizon2018-04-09
  6. "Service Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Manager in Boone, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at First Horizon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I really can't think of any pros. These people just don't care.

    Cons

    Upper management has no key what's going on. HR is a lost cause and the benefits suck.

    Advice to Management

    Start caring, HR is no help.

    First Horizon2018-02-23
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN

    I have been working at First Horizon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The opportunity is there for growth, but only up to a certain point.

    Cons

    The opportunity for advancement and growth stops if you do not know the right upper management to pull you through. It is not based off of your degree but who you know.

    First Horizon2017-07-05
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to start, not a good place to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Services Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Horizon full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, incentive trips and contests, 6% 401k matching. Compensation is fair compared to other banks.

    Cons

    Upper management is very out of touch with there realities of working in the branch which is odd since most of them are promoted from the branch. Over the years it seems that they look for ways to stress more sales, but make product values less. You are essentially required to hit the same goal and be paid less for it.

    Advice to Management

    Less micromanaging and you will see better retention rates company wide. We've lost employees that have been with the company for years due to new "processes" that have been created.

    First Horizon2017-05-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great First Banking Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Horizon full-time

    Pros

    Work/life balance, Upper Management, Freedom

    Cons

    Pay for bankers and FSR's

    Advice to Management

    Pay bankers better, or they will leave

    First Horizon2017-03-28
  10. "Overall an excellent company with good long term prospects."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Horizon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment and co-workers. Enjoy going to work everyday. Pays for all licensing and encourages employees to obtain additional licensing and explore additional educational opportunities. Upper management is very accessible and genuinely listens and cares what you think.

    Cons

    Benefits are so-so, but that seems to be the trend today with expenses and deductibles going up. Be more generous with raises on performance.

    Advice to Management

    Utilize career planning to better mine for talent within current workforce. Positions come open and are filled without employees knowing about them.

    First Horizon2017-03-27
Found 21 reviews