First Internet Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

First Internet Bank Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
First Internet Bank CEO David B. Becker (no image)
David B. Becker
29 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Work/Life Balance + Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Internet Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I’ve been with First IB for a few years now and the people that work here make this place great! Everyone is always cheerful and willing to help out. Small perks like the on-site gym at HQ, free coffee, and the occasional free ticket raffles for pacer games and concerts don’t hurt! I enjoy the fact that we still have a holiday party and other events throughout the year to bring us all together outside of the... office.

    Show More

    Cons

    It’s very fast-paced at First IB which I think is great since I enjoy being busy and having something to do at all times, but it may be a turn off for some. Things can also change very quickly, so being adaptable and thinking on your feet is a must; I think that’s what makes it exciting and fresh. Clearer definition of roles and clearer career paths would be nice, but is not a detriment.

    Advice to Management

    All managers are accessible and treat people like people. Managers are understanding of the fact that we all have lives outside of work and I don’t feel guilty using my PTO time. Management is also very transparent, which I like.

    First Internet Bank2016-05-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fishers, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Internet Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The management team at First Internet Bank is outstanding. The work environment and facilities are outstanding. The opportunities for advancement and professional development have been better than I have seen at any other company I worked for. Compensation and benefits are also very outstanding. First Internet Bank is also very active in the local community.

    Cons

    I can think of very few (if any) "cons" to working at First Internet Bank. Being a smaller company there hasn't been as much name recognition as I have experienced when working for larger companies, but for me that is a welcome change.

    Advice to Management

    Management has been outstanding since I have been with First Internet Bank. My best advice is to keep up the good work.

    First Internet Bank2016-05-04
  3. "Fledgling Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at First Internet Bank

    Pros

    Great people who are willing to help

    Cons

    Unorganized; Too young to have any real culture

    First Internet Bank2015-11-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Operations Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Operations Specialist in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Internet Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    none, if you call being able to wear jeans as a benefit for a professional office.

    Cons

    Do not apply for a job in this department of the bank. They pour more work on you then you can handle. If you don't catch on quickly they will terminate your position fast without letting you there was a problem. Your pay does not match the amount of work you do.

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to be patient with employees, and stop talking down to employees.

    First Internet Bank2015-08-20

    First Internet Bank Response

    October 7, 2015Human Resources Representative

    Your comments have been reviewed by the Human Resources department. While we have received honors for being a Top Workplace in Indianapolis and a Best Bank to Work For across the country, based primarily on employee satisfaction surveys, we recognize that not everyone may find our fast-paced, innovative culture appealing. It is important that our employees participate in topic discussions and employee surveys regarding work/life balance and compensation so that we may continue to inspire our employees and help you meet your personal goals for career growth. We encourage current and former employees to express concerns directly with a supervisor or HR so we can clarify your statements and follow-up with a personalized approach, but we understand that it may be more comfortable to express your views anonymously. All input – positive or negative – helps us in our effort to be an employer of choice for top performers, and we thank you for your feedback.

    Show Less
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great company and great people. Good work-life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collateral Underwriter in Fishers, IN

    I have been working at First Internet Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customer focused, customer experience driven and good supervisors. Management has an open door policy.

    Cons

    No major cons but would like more of an opportunity to grow within the company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and keep innovating.

    First Internet Bank2014-07-12
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Unethical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at First Internet Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If someone is hired into your department, you training them, get ready to be fired, especially in the marketing area.

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive. The pathetic HSA amount contributed by the bank and the high deductible has anyone with even a little bit of maintenance medical needs in debt, eating savings, or broke. Only the fit and healthy need apply here. The premiums on the HDP are not competitive. I know employers or equal size with non-HD plans covering more, and sharing more premiums with employees. The 401K stinks. The fees are... high and selection of investments are bad.

    Show More
    First Internet Bank2014-05-25

    First Internet Bank Response

    June 3, 2014Human Resources Representative

    We value our employees’ input. Your comments have been reviewed by the Human Resources department. Although we encourage employees to speak directly with their supervisors or Human Resources so we can address specific concerns, we understand that anonymous outlets may be more appealing as a forum for expressing opinions. We strive to offer a compensation and benefits package that is competitive with other employers, promotes wellness and professional growth, and supports balance between personal and professional lives. In the past year, First Internet Bank has been recognized as a Best Bank to Work For (American Banker) and as a Top Workplace (Indianapolis Star). Both awards were based on employee surveys that took into consideration benefits and pay, the comfort and safety of the work environment, training, and opportunities for professional growth. We evaluate the feedback we received through those surveys as well as comments we receive from individual employees like you. Your input helps us improve, and we thank you for your feedback. Again, we invite you to discuss your concerns further with Human Resources or your direct supervisor so we can more personally speak to your specific situation.

    Show Less
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Officer in Fishers, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at First Internet Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Company with good people. Good Training program. They care very much about customer service and how they treat the customer

    Cons

    Pay is a little low but I guess that is typical of all banking these days. Can't really think of anything else negative at all. Good place to work

    First Internet Bank2013-10-24
Found 37 reviews