First National Bank Texas Reviews | Glassdoor

First National Bank Texas Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 91 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Terry Tuggle
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "Consistent schedule and great people to work with(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great place to hone a very necessary sales skill(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Ruthless sales environment where the customers do not matter - do WHATEVER It takes to make sales goals(in 6 reviews)

  • "Pay is low for all that is expected(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best job ive ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bilingual Personal Banker in Killeen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First National Bank Texas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Management Structure Promotion is easy

    Cons

    Sales heavy A lot of work sometimes High expectations

    First National Bank Texas2019-03-17
  2. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Real Estate/Paid Loan Specialist 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at First National Bank Texas full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    8-5 Monday - Friday job cubicle

    Cons

    benefits are not worth it.

    First National Bank Texas2019-04-23
  3. "Pick another bank !!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker in Lubbock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at First National Bank Texas full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    If your full time you’ll get 40hrs

    Cons

    All they care about is sales !

    Advice to Management

    Stopping picking favorites

    First National Bank Texas2019-04-28
  4. "Great Starter Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Mesa, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First National Bank Texas full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Flexible Ability to move quickly internally

    Cons

    N/A great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Pay us better.

    First National Bank Texas2019-02-11
  5. "Company is great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker in Huntsville, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First National Bank Texas full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great incentive pay, great first start, and a great opportunity.

    Cons

    Some coworkers think they are better than everyone else and can go behind your back to get promoted faster.

    First National Bank Texas2019-01-30
  6. "If you like sales it's for you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at First National Bank Texas full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    401k and paid time off after becoming full time.

    Cons

    This company is so sales oriented that it has been blinded to the point where it has exhausted its staff, we get pushed so hard on sale this checking account, bo zero days or you have to explain yourself, its emotionally exhausting. People dont stay long because they dont realize how hard it is until they get into the mix of it, when your staff has to open 50 accounts with 50 debit cards and 50 direct deposits, not easy....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop pushing us so dang hard we are not robots we have a life and we have families, we understand that sales is how we make money but you have made it so unrealistic that we dont have the drive anymore to sale. Give us the reins because our product cant sell itself if it did we wouldn't have to sale as hard. And people are afraid to say anything because they get the response of " if you dont like it there's the door"...

    Show More
    First National Bank Texas2019-01-24
  7. "Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in Port Arthur, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at First National Bank Texas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There were not any pros

    Cons

    hours, pay, management, work life balance

    First National Bank Texas2018-08-13
  8. "Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First National Bank Texas full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Good pay and good benefits

    Cons

    Late hours, not enough time with family

    Advice to Management

    Hours are great for customers, but not so much for employees

    First National Bank Texas2018-07-04
  9. "Bank Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Teller in Huntsville, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First National Bank Texas part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Worked with my schedule Pay was decent for part time work

    Cons

    Weekend work was normal Pushed sales a little too aggressively on the lowest branch of employees

    Advice to Management

    Don't force bank teller employees into selling accounts if they aren't equipped for it, i.e. Why would you force a bank teller on their first month on the job to solely open accounts? If your job title was Sales, then it would be understandable. Give your new employees the tools for the job first (give your tellers a drawer first!), then enable them to sell accordingly.

    First National Bank Texas2018-05-25
  10. "Branch Supervisor/ Personal Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Supervisor in Conroe, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at First National Bank Texas full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Works with flexible schedule

    Cons

    The pay could be better Benefits aren’t the best

    First National Bank Texas2018-03-29
Found 91 reviews