First Republic Bank Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
63%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
First Republic Bank Chairman and CEO James H. Herbert II
James H. Herbert II
237 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The work/life balance is still a work in progress, but feels like it's on the horizon(in 30 reviews)

  • "They need FRB to be everything you live and breathe(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "One of the best companies I have had the pleasure to work for!"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Associate I in Century City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Republic Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company Cafe, lunches, quarterly bonuses

    Cons

    Company should provide advanced training for more complex issues.

    Continue reading
    First Republic Bank2019-09-10
  2. "Great Regional Bank"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Republic Bank full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and good work environment

    Cons

    Technology holds back the potential of growth

    First Republic Bank2020-05-13
  3. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Banker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at First Republic Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Endless growth opportunities, but you really have to be in the right team.

    Cons

    Lots of political games, too much walking on egg shells

    First Republic Bank2020-05-20
  4. "Good experience."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at First Republic Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation,benefits. Quality teams to work with.

    Cons

    Fragmented technology systems. Conflicted management at times.

    Continue reading
    First Republic Bank2020-05-18
  5. "Great Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Republic Bank full-time

    Pros

    People really care and buy in.

    Cons

    Sometimes it feels as though politics are ignored or not discussed to preserve the culture. I think recognizing things that need improvement publicly would be helpful

    Continue reading
    First Republic Bank2020-05-13
  6. "One of the most diverse companies and cultures!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Republic Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture is very diverse and my colleagues take their work seriously without wasting time People are very diverse and share about life when appropriate Leadership has a good feedback system where ideas are all considered from everybody on my team People are nice to me and it feels everybody on my team takes HR training seriously Leadership focuses on strengths, allowing an oddball like me to succeed and feel very welcome (they have a good mentor program too) Everybody works hard and everybody including leadership helps me out Nobody pressures me to agree or to do something I am not comfortable with They have gender-neutral restrooms, so everyone feels comfortable They have very clean facilities and kitchen areas for everybody to enjoy safely

    Cons

    The work/life balance is still a work in progress, but feels like it's on the horizon.

    Continue reading
    First Republic Bank2020-05-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company but your experience may vary significantly"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Staff in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Republic Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Money is good and benefits are outstanding. I really mean that. The benefits here are beyond any expectations I would have had. . The technology stack is really forward looking and you can directly influence that. That's not something you can say at most companies of this size. Working here is a chance to really affect outcomes at the ground floor. The building blocks are there for this to be the absolute best place to work period.

    Cons

    Highly siloed teams. Working cross team is more akin to working between unrelated companies. Decisions are made by managers many levels above and there are no thoughts for how it affects those below. The decision is made and the decree is sent. The banking lines of business (clients, money, investments) and lines of the business that are not directly client connected work very differently. Consider that when reading reviews. Your success here is highly dependent on your silo and your managers political pull. If you have the wrong manager you're not going anywhere. All titles are not equal. Just because they appear to be peers doesn't mean they have similar influence. Appearance matters over everything. You have to be a cheerleader at all times or your career is done. No one wants feedback that isn't how great they are doing.

    Continue reading
    First Republic Bank2020-05-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Don't believe the hype"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Republic Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    IT has a great team. Lot of amazing talent. So much so that impostor syndrome is really high. Budgets for top tier infrastructure are approved. Bonuses and pay are pretty good, as well as some generous quality of life benefits(fitness stipend, commute stipend, onsite cafe, etc)

    Cons

    All the pros about budgets for infrastructure are weighed down heavily by a bureacracy that is so focused on it's own tree it can't even conceive of a forest. Silos are impenetrable, with each team having it's own unique ecosystem. Career advancement is a unicorn. Those who put their blood, sweat and tears into the environment are overlooked and considered disposable, while their peers and managers who take credit for their work are promoted. In order to get any meaningful work done, one has to sit through a day full of pointless and redundant meetings and complete tasks after hours and on weekends, making work/life balance a sick joke.

    First Republic Bank2020-05-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "OK"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - California 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Republic Bank full-time

    Pros

    Lots of nice people work there.

    Cons

    Management often seems a bit unrealistic.

    First Republic Bank2020-05-16
  10. "Great Benefits, Zero Growth"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Auditor in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Republic Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -There are a lot of great benefits (subsidized cafeterias, errand service, student loan repayment assistance) -People are great to work with, very friendly -Connects you to a large network that values relationships -Commitment to quality and high standards

    Cons

    -Management burns out their teams with understaffed projects and short deadlines -Rarely promote from within or invest any amount of time or resources into their people -There are no opportunities to learn new skills or advance -Does not value retention of employees, everyone is replaceable -Due to the focus on upper management, any hard work or extra hours you put into any project is expected and never congratulated or made up. Management takes credit for all of the work from people below them -Difficult to move around due to heavy office politics -Management displays a cult-like mentality towards the greatness of the bank and executive management

    Continue reading
    First Republic Bank2020-05-07
Viewing 1 - 10 of 373 Reviews