First Steps Academy Reviews | Glassdoor

First Steps Academy Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I have been working at First Steps Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All around a great place to work

    Cons

    None none none none none

    First Steps Academy2018-08-06
  2. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at First Steps Academy full-time

    Pros

    The kids and (some) families are great. Its a nice and modern facility. Pay is a little better than other daycares in Northern VA.

    Cons

    A lot of drama with coworkers, which makes the work place dreadful at times. A LOT of staff turnover, so the current staff get burnt out quickly. There is no growth and no motivation to want to make the school better. Until they are ready to make significant changes, they will continue to be plagued by the same problems.

    First Steps Academy2018-02-08
  3. "• • Communicate necessary information to colleagues and parents regarding student progress."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hospital in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at First Steps Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My best time at First Steps is walking in the class room and seeing the smiles on the children faces.

    Cons

    The down sides is when I see other teachers not showing any interest into the children but waiting for the pay checks to come in.

    First Steps Academy2017-11-19
  4. "Lead Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at First Steps Academy

      Pros

      there is a family environment

      Cons

      they have no no benefits

      First Steps Academy2017-10-18
    • "Assistant Teacher"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at First Steps Academy

        Pros

        I liked working with other teachers. Loved the kids

        Cons

        Management was poor. A lot of staff turnover which hurts other teachers.

        First Steps Academy2016-09-06
      • "Teacher"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I worked at First Steps Academy

        Pros

        Great staff and open communication

        Cons

        Low pay/ room for growth

        First Steps Academy2016-02-21
      • "Pay is good, but your morals must take a back seat"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at First Steps Academy full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great students and families. Caring teachers.

        Cons

        Serious safety violations and concerns. Management does not care about staff or families. Lack of communication between management and parents.

        First Steps Academy2013-01-29
      Found 7 reviews