KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

First Tech Federal Credit Union

Engaged Employer

First Tech Federal Credit Union

Add a Review

First Tech Federal Credit Union Employee Reviews about "first tech"

Updated Nov 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 387 reviews

3.7
63%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
First Tech Federal Credit Union President and Chief Executive Officer	 Greg Mitchell
Greg Mitchell
285 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Benefits are great and First Tech really takes the feedback from employers and works to implement it.(in 47 reviews)
  • "Pay is competitive and good(in 26 reviews)
  • "First Tech is a company with a great culture.(in 20 reviews)
  • "good people to work with(in 18 reviews)
  • "Great CEO, non profit.(in 17 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of First Tech Federal Credit Union and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "first tech"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Awesome!

    Jul 8, 2016 - Compliance Officer in Beaverton, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Three weeks in and I am loving it. I have worked for credit unions for 17 years, large and small. FTFCU has a great culture and work life balance. Sure we have our growing pains but all CUS who are progressive have the same pains. You may read other websites blasting the bank mentality of management...not true. First tech culture weeded out the bankers. Politics...of course, politics are in every organization; large and small. Those who complain of change are not suited for business. If you are not willing to change, file for unemployment.

    Cons

    Growing really fast. Each day brings new projects and system changes. However I will say, management is very understanding of this.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    First Tech Federal Credit Union Response

    Thank you for taking the time to post this response. We’re certainly growing, and as you mention, change is inevitable. It’s great to hear you are having such a positive experience in your first month here.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Innovative and very smart coworkers

    Nov 13, 2015 - Analyst in Mountain View, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love the First Tech culture and especially working with intelligent and innovative folks. Personal growth and learning curve is steep. Work has less impediments and very supportive executives. Things move fast here with agile methodology. Completed 7 months here and still impressed.

    Cons

    None none none none none.. so far impressed..

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Intern, more than 5 years

    Contact Center Employee

    Jun 30, 2016 - Contact Center Employee in Rocklin, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I absolutely love working at First Tech. The CEO and Management team truly values the employees. We are encouraged to share our thoughts and ideas. I have great benefits and peace of mind being an employee of First Tech. Truly blessed!

    Cons

    I do not have any cons at all. All pros for me! Best place to work. I would highly recommend First Tech.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great culture and great credit Union

    Apr 27, 2022 - Senior Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    First Tech does well taking care of it's employees, recognizing your strengths, and helping you succeed in your career.

    Cons

    There are not any cons that come to mind, and feel that the executive and leadership teams do a good job.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    First Tech Federal Credit Union Response

    Communications Manager

    Thank you for all that you’ve done for our members over the last twenty years! We appreciate you and your review!

  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    First Tech review

    Sep 12, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    First Tech provided a great place to learn and grow. I learned a lot while I was there, and the co-workers made the job enjoyable.

    Cons

    First Tech was trying to grow too fast, and that kept the pace just too unmanageable. There were also lots of issues with management. Many people were leaving from my area, and it was a direct relation to the bad management of a few individuals. HR said they were aware of the issue, but failed to do anything about it. Very unfortunate.

    3 people found this review helpful

    First Tech Federal Credit Union Response

    Communications Manager

    It’s great to hear that your time at First Tech helped you learn and grow. We pride ourselves on providing employees new opportunities to grow personally and professionally. With any rapidly growing company, there will be growing pains in space, team size, workloads and management. We’re sorry to hear that you had a difficult time with your team’s upper management. We’re working to amend issues like this from occurring in the future. Thank you for taking the time to review First Tech and share your thoughts with us.

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Collections Agent

    Nov 15, 2015 - Member Service Representative in Beaverton, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    First Tech has a very friendly work environment and the company strives for success and loves to set goal and goes above and beyond to hit those goals. First tech have very good Health plans and incentives, overall a great place to work.

    Cons

    First Tech could use better management teams and a better internal advancement.

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company to work for!

    Oct 30, 2018 - Special Assets Management in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been with First Tech for a little under 6 months and I have had a great experience here and I really enjoy my job. We just moved to the new corporate building which is incredible and that adds to how the overall experience has been. I would recommend if you are looking to grow your career as they promote career growth through paid professional development hours and tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    No cons I can think of. Make sure to ask questions when you have them, they are really good with answering most questions.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    First Tech Federal Credit Union Response

    Communications Manager

    We’re so happy to hear about your new hire experience! We’re always looking to improve the employee onboarding experience so that new hires feel comfortable with the change of starting a new job. As you mention, we’ve recently moved to a new corporate location in Hillsboro, which has really improved our cross-collaboration across departments. We’re also very proud of our professional development opportunities, including an annual tuition reimbursement for employees to head back to school. Thank you for taking the time to review us!

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Culture - Slow to Move

    Jan 28, 2021 - Program Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    First Tech has a great culture. As a credit union is does not have the same profit at all costs focus of a bank. It is very focused on delighting its members. Also a strong community focus which includes many volunteer opportunities.

    Cons

    Changes take much longer than expected due to both the concerns of a financial institution and a limit on resources and staff.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    First Tech Federal Credit Union Response

    Communications Manager

    Thanks for your positive review. We do work hard to foster and cultivate our culture, which is built on the foundation of helping our members reach their dreams. We’ll send your comments along to the appropriate teams, but we’re so glad to hear that you enjoy working at First Tech!

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Good Company to work for

    Oct 23, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    First Tech is a company with a great culture. The majority of leadership is very supportive in career development in encouraging and pushing you to reach your goals. New corporate office in Hillsboro, Oregon is beautiful.

    Cons

    Always the feel that we are slightly understaffed across multiple support departments. While this makes efficiency numbers look good, it does create stress for staff members.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    First Tech Federal Credit Union Response

    Communications Manager

    Thank you for helping our members reach their dreams for over a decade! We’re glad to hear that you love our company culture. We really strive to foster a culture of belonging throughout our organization, where all employees can feel comfortable, open and accepted, no matter their work environment. As you mentioned, we do have a new Hillsboro Corporate office, which is lovely—and the largest cross laminated timber building in the nation! We’re proud of our new home and have already seen the impact of improved cross-functional collaboration with many of our departments now under the same roof. Thank you for your feedback on staffing constraints. We’ll send all of your comments to senior leadership.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    What an Amazing Culture!

    Nov 27, 2017 - Analyst in Beaverton, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is the first company I have worked for that truly lives and strives to practice what they preach when it comes to culture. It is a not for profit company who focuses on their members first and employees second. I personally love the flexibility of the work environment and the opportunity to advance internally. I work with smart competent teammates who like to have fun. Benefits are great and First Tech really takes the feedback from employers and works to implement it. I'm excited for the new headquarters in Hillsboro!

    Cons

    The IT systems and technology (VPN, helpdesk tickets, age of software is old) is not the best. Health insurance is okay, costs are getting pretty high even with employee's paid portion.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    First Tech Federal Credit Union Response

    Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review us! We’re so glad to hear that you love our culture as much as we do. We agree that there are improvements we can make with our technology to improve your employee experience, and we’re pleased to let you know that projects are in the works to improve the way you work, including updated company software and intranet systems. Our new Hillsboro campus will have bike storage, in addition to accessible trails where you can get some exercise in during the workday! We’re also piloting a work from home program in several departments. We’ll pass your comments along regarding health insurance to our benefits team in Human Resources.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

Popular Careers with First Tech Federal Credit Union Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at First Tech Federal Credit Union? Share Your Experiences

or

First Tech Federal Credit Union Photos

+ Add Photo
First Tech Federal Credit Union photo of: Hillsboro Corporate
First Tech Federal Credit Union photo of: Roseville Branch (Roseville, CA)
First Tech Federal Credit Union photo of: Nimbus Branch (Beaverton, OR)
First Tech Federal Credit Union photo of: Eating space with plenty of windows
First Tech Federal Credit Union photo of: food bank

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

First Tech Federal Credit Union
See all affiliated companies