First Transit Coach Operator Reviews | Glassdoor

First Transit Coach Operator Reviews

Updated 4 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
48%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
First Transit CEO Brad Thomas
Brad Thomas
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Stable work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coach Operator in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Transit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    On the job paid training and bonuses. Opportunity to work overtime to make extra money. Union based, pension contributions after five years and 401k is available.

    Cons

    You pick your work schedule, but it changes every four months. You are only eligible one week off for the first 4/5 years of employment.

    Advice to Management

    Increase vacation time off earlier than 4/5 years because the drivers could use time to recuperate/ recover after working 40 plus hours every week.

    First Transit2019-05-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great pay but long hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Motor Coach Operator in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Transit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent pay and excellent benefits .

    Cons

    The Management does not care about the employees.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees.

    First Transit2019-07-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    "review of jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coach Operator in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Transit full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good benefits, good salary co workers fun.

    Cons

    management needs more up beat people and more open minded on drivers reconditions about routes we drive every day.

    Advice to Management

    listen to the customers more but try to listen to the drivers even more they know the people on an personal level and the routes so when they give u options about route listen just don't blow them off.

    First Transit2018-10-12
  4. "Coach Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Coach Operator in Escondido, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Transit full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I liked meeting different people and having different routes.

    Cons

    I didn't enjoy working split shifts.

    Advice to Management

    better scheduling

    First Transit2017-10-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Bus operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Coach Operator in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at First Transit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The opportunity. To enchance. My people person ability in transportation. For the company. Or any company i work for

    Cons

    Ive learned the business as being a professional. Driver and also working with management and the. Public

    Advice to Management

    Continue. To give back and lead by exemplifying. Your role of leadership to other and passenger

    First Transit2017-09-27
  6. "Coach Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coach Operator in Oceanside, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at First Transit full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are no pros to First Transit. Just ask the drivers contracted out in 2010. Lost pay, benefits and many lost jobs due to wrongful terminations.

    Cons

    Hostile and unethical environment. Low pay or no pay on time. Cheats at every opportunity. Violates federal, state laws/regulations and the contract. Always a fight to get proper pay.

    Advice to Management

    Wake up and be honest. Treat your employees with respect and respect the contract to which you sign your names to. Pay employees a decent wage and pay the increases when contractually agreed to...not late.

    First Transit2017-04-22
  7. "Great entry level pay and training if you live close and can work splits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coach Operator in Mukilteo, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Transit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management and trainers are good people. Paid training to get your cdl class B and defensive driving certificates. Good pay/benefits.

    Cons

    Split shifts for coach operators.

    Advice to Management

    Allow new hires to do part time.

    First Transit2017-03-16
  8. "Coach Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coach Operator in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Transit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There was plenty of overtime

    Cons

    Lack of safety for employees

    Advice to Management

    Update the safety harnesses for employees

    First Transit2016-10-20
  9. "My year at First Transit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Motor Coach Operator in Altadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Transit for more than a year

    Pros

    Supervision was better than I expected. When I first started to work for First Transit, I had my doubts. But as time went on, I was pleasantly surprised as I built relationships.

    Cons

    You will find a very strong correlation between First Transit and the unions. Unions are great if you don't do your job. But if you are conscientious, you will find that all they seem to do is take your dues.

    Advice to Management

    Cut the times with the unions and deal justly with the employees.

    First Transit2016-04-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Motor Coach Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Motor Coach Operator in North Brunswick, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at First Transit full-time

    Pros

    Summers off w half the pay perks. ) Also, a month off before Christmas and a week off in the fall and spring. The time-off w pay are the perks.

    Cons

    No breaks! Which, is nuts! They, devalue the drivers and are too quick to hire anyone to be apart of the managerial team. Which, is most times extremely insulting to workers that have been there for years. There, is no set system. We come back from summer break to a slew of new supervisors..to basically, see who they'll over-work and underpay next! The pay, is insulting and they do not take care of their... drivers. There's controlled and micro-managed. It suffers, as a whole from micro-managed tendencies that sometimes simply unbearable. The buses, are suspect and they take safety concerns as complaints.?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remember, you were once a driver and how hard and trying it can be. Your dealing w adults; despite, how childish some may act! Do not, forget your dealing w adults who acquired said special endorsement prior to being there. So, to talk-down to anyone is absurd and very much unnecessary.

    First Transit2016-04-17
Found 14 reviews