First Transit Reviews | Glassdoor

First Transit Reviews

Updated Jan 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
46%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
First Transit President Brad Thomas
Brad Thomas
127 Ratings
  1. "Insurance should be better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Troy, OH
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Transit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love my job!!

    Cons

    Love my job everyday it’s good.

    First Transit2020-01-15
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Stable work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coach Operator in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Transit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    On the job paid training and bonuses. Opportunity to work overtime to make extra money. Union based, pension contributions after five years and 401k is available.

    Cons

    You pick your work schedule, but it changes every four months. You are only eligible one week off for the first 4/5 years of employment.

    Advice to Management

    Increase vacation time off earlier than 4/5 years because the drivers could use time to recuperate/ recover after working 40 plus hours every week.

    First Transit2019-05-05
  3. Helpful (15)

    "Positive Work Environment with Experienced Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Clackamas, OR
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Transit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Room for growth if you are interested and motivated. The leadership team has many years of experience and deeply cares about the services that they provide as well as their employees.

    Cons

    Health insurance is high-deductible and expensive

    First Transit2018-11-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at First Transit full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    People that you work with.

    Cons

    None that I can comment on.

    First Transit2018-06-08
  5. "First Transit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Transit full-time

    Pros

    Fun place to work. While exploring the city.

    Cons

    Poor management is the only problem there.

    Advice to Management

    Be more organized, and caring to your employees.

    First Transit2018-04-12
  6. "Accounting Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at First Transit full-time

    Pros

    Great people. Strong management networking. Exciting industry. Good experience.

    Cons

    Procedures company wide still being streamlined.

    Advice to Management

    Company needs to improve employee recognition and morale.

    First Transit2018-01-18
  7. "Great career growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at First Transit full-time

    Pros

    Opportunities to learn and grow.

    Cons

    Medical plan changed to a high deductible plan.

    First Transit2017-10-17
  8. "Mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Transit

    Pros

    Minimal supervision. Parts readily available. Late model equipment. Large selection of shop tools. Uniform service. Excellent benefits. Excellent training and ongoing support.

    Cons

    Working alone makes you extra careful. You have to check and double check everything you do. If you get injured, it could take some time for someone to stumble across you.

    Advice to Management

    Practical joking should be forbidden

    First Transit2017-10-14
  9. "Technician 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician I in Conshohocken, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Transit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Your work time is valued

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind now

    Advice to Management

    No advice to give

    First Transit2017-10-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Bus operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Coach Operator in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at First Transit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The opportunity. To enchance. My people person ability in transportation. For the company. Or any company i work for

    Cons

    Ive learned the business as being a professional. Driver and also working with management and the. Public

    Advice to Management

    Continue. To give back and lead by exemplifying. Your role of leadership to other and passenger

    First Transit2017-09-27
Found 359 reviews