First Transit Reviews | Glassdoor

First Transit Reviews

Updated Jan 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
46%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
First Transit President Brad Thomas
Brad Thomas
127 Ratings
  1. "Insurance should be better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Troy, OH
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Transit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love my job!!

    Cons

    Love my job everyday it’s good.

    First Transit2020-01-15
  2. "A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transit Options Service Coordinator 

    I have been working at First Transit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Remote work, free ORCA card

    Cons

    Old building. Poor working environment.

    First Transit2020-01-04
  3. "It's a job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dispatcher in Glen Ellyn, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Transit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a job, and it pays the bills.

    Cons

    They promote teamwork, but at the same time discourage communication between teams. Management doesn't listen nor care about any feedback employees have. High expectations of short-staffed teams.

    First Transit2019-12-30
  4. "Wouldn't recommend to anyone."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Diesel Technician in Eddystone, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Transit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, if you choose to get a bunch of ASE certifications.

    Cons

    Horrible benefits. Company is cheap, with broken down equipment and tools. You will be working on your hands and knees, on the concrete floor.

    Advice to Management

    Treat current employees better, and maybe the shop wouldn't be such a revolving door, with such a high turnover rate.

    First Transit2019-12-22
  5. "It’s better than working in a grocery store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transit Operator in Cal Poly SLO, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at First Transit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Great management Easy money Nice co workers You get to take breaks in between routes

    Cons

    Insurance is insanely expensive with high deductible The buses that go through the university get extremely packed with students Sitting for many hours can cause back aches Sometimes you work a lot of hours

    Advice to Management

    My manager is great but my advice to the company would be to offer their drivers more affordable health insurance. We don’t make enough money to pay a $6,500 deductible, it’s kind of ridiculous.

    First Transit2019-12-11
  6. "Discharged 2 weeks before Christmas 2019"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Para Transit Driver in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Transit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Meeting and dealing with a verity of wonderful disabled folks, that many others over look because they don't understand and can't handle reality.

    Cons

    Low pay, much too strict with vehicle incidences. Car drivers DISLIKE being behind buses and have no problem driving recklessly near, around and in spite of the bus or it's size.

    Advice to Management

    Do not discharge loyal employees just before the most expensive time of the year. Seriously rethink the ridiculous vehicle incident rules.

    First Transit2019-12-10
  7. "Driving Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Driver 

    I have been working at First Transit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    get to meet new people.

    Cons

    no room for advancement, poor management

    First Transit2019-12-06
  8. "Reviews are very encouraging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bus Driver in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Transit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love driving and helping people who cannot get around by themselves.

    Cons

    Starting time hours are not consistent from day today

    Advice to Management

    Need to have it fixed starting schedule

    First Transit2019-12-03
  9. "It All Depends...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanic in Elmwood Park, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Transit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -The pay is decent - The environment completely depends on the contract. My location went from supportive to extremely toxic in about 3 months.

    Cons

    -First Transit is a sub contractor, so if your location is not unionized and First transit looses the contract, you lose your job. -Every location is run differently based off who First Transit has contract with, so there is absolutely no consistency as far as transferring -First Transit highly values numbers and money over their employees. -First Transit's employee handbook is like 140 pages as of January 2019. So sneeze wrong about 3 times and you're fired. -As far as I have seen, first transit rarely promotes anyone to management from within. - I worked with a mechanic who had been with the contractor for 11 years since the company started. First Transit had the contract for 5 years and hired 3 people outside for the management position who worked off the street or under other contracts with completely different rules. Every time the other mechanic applied for the management position he was told he was unqualified. And then a new manager would stroll in without the exact qualifications the mechanic was turned down for.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Stop hiring your golf buddies for management positions, who have absolutely no fleet and management experience. -Promote the completely qualified hard working employees you already have. - Ask yourself why the contractor seems to care more about your employees than you do. -People are people, not numbers -Work on crea5ong

    First Transit2019-11-20
  10. "Stable Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Transit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You are able to enter the commercial driving sector with no experience. Paid training, overtime available, decent starting pay.

    Cons

    Not enough days off.

    First Transit2019-11-06
Found 359 reviews